We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solo Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort to your Saves list
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   174 E Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
HOLIDAY SAVINGS IN VAIL!
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Vail
New York City, New York
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Solo Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

What a great trip to Vail! Yes, the snow was incredible, but the team at The Lodge at Vail really made the trip great. I was supposed to be traveling with my wife, but she had to cancel at the last minute so I was on my own. Fortunately, the friendly team at the Lodge at Vail made me feel right at home.

The bellmen and front desk staff like (Rachel Sibley) were so helpful and friendly right from the start and really made me feel I'd made the right choice.

I'm from New York City and we have a lot of incredible restaurants, but I have to say that I was really pleased and impressed with the food and service in the restaurants which are conveniently located on the second floor of the hotel. Elways has wonderful food and a great staff that really knows the menu. Bryce was one of the bar tenders and he along with the rest of the team at Elway's took great care of me! It's a great place to go for food, drinks, and a great time.

My wife would have loved this trip and I feel a bit guilty for having such a great time without her, but we'll definitely go back together now that I've had a chance to check it out.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you Terrance M! I am thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay. It sounds like you need to plan another trip soon and bring your wife with you! All of the staff at the Lodge looks forward to welcoming you both back. Please reach out to me directly next time you plan a trip so I can ensure you have another flawless stay.

Kind Regards,

Shannon Best
Director of Rooms
sbest@vailresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    115
    39
    36
    32
See reviews for
127
180
21
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

If your prime reason to be here is to ski this is it. Round the corner a 2 minute walk is the main gondola, ski valet looks after your skis and poles overnight no lugging back to room. They don't have a shoe locker though so each day you walk to and thro with boots on. Out the door is a beautiful shopping village, restaurants and bars. My favourite being Mountain Standard, book though. Elways well worth visit too. The Lodge Staff always helpful and loved our omelette maker and the fresh berries of every kind at breakfast. Cheryl and Jill very helpful at conceige and Lala at front desk. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing this great review! I am so glad that the Lodge at Vail was a perfect fit for your recent ski trip! I wanted to let you know that we have a partnership with Vail Sports right at the base of the gondola and they offer all Lodge at Vail guests boot storage at a discounted rate of $7.50 per day if this is somthing you want to considder during your next stay. All of the staff here at the Lodge looks forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards,

Shannon Best
Director of Rooms
sbest@vailresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I just stayed at the Lodge at Vail for a week with my family. Absolutely perfect, from top to bottom. If you want to ski, rest or enjoy the town, there is no better place. The accomodations are perfect, service is great and you are a few meters from Gondola 1. A must stay in Vail.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you Mauro L! We do pride ourselves on our prime location in the heart of Vail Village and our elevated service. It is like nothing else in Vail. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. all of the staff at the Lodge looks forward to our next opportunity to welcome you back!

Kind Regards,

Shannon Best
Director of Rooms
sbest@vailresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Superb location, a short walk to Gondola One! The ski valet service was a big plus. The outdoor hot tubs were the perfect temperature. The condo was nicely furnished and had a beautiful view of the mountains. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. I am so pleased that the location, the staff, and our luxury hotel amenities were able to meet all of your vacation needs! I appreciate your loyalty to the Lodge at Vail and look forward to your next ski vacation. Please reach out to me directly so I can introduce myself to you during your next stay.

Kind Regards,

Shannon Best
Director of Rooms
sbest@vailresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The Lodge at Vail is well known for its awesome location. Front desk was very friendly but I was most impressed with the room cleanliness. Everything was spotless. It even smelled clean! I love the humidifier in the room also.

Room Tip: If you are willing to pay for mountain view request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We have added some new luxury amenities throughout the guest rooms and the building this year including new scented spa sticks. One of our main goals has been to ensure a clean and fresh smell in all of our guest rooms and public spaces. I am thrilled to see that our guests are enjoying it! I hope that you come back soon for another visit. Please reach out to me when you do so that I can ensure you have another flawless stay.

Kind Regards,

Shannon Best
Director of Rooms
sbest@vailresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

My wife and I just returned from a fantastic week at the Lodge at Vail! The location to Gondola 1 to start your ski day and positioning to the center of town is second to none at Vail! The customer service is amongst the best we have ever encountered. The breakfast buffet included with our reservation at Cucina was a veritable feast; from pickled herring & smoked salmon to a full cereal/oatmeal/toast/pastry offering to freshly made omelettes, scrambled eggs, sweet smoked bacon, sausages, home fries, incredible freshly squeezed juices - not just fruit juices but interesting/healthy combinations with cucumber or carrot blended with kiwi or grapefruit and orange or startfruit - simply amazing! My wife and I also experienced the spa with 1 hr massages from Suzanne and Carolina - again one of the top 3 massages in my life and my sore ski legs were fully restored! We loved the lodge at Vail and would return in a heartbeat! Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I have already shared your feedback with the spa, breakdast and front office staff and thanked them for providing you with such great service. Please reach out to me directly next time you plan a trip to the Lodge so I can ensure you have another great stay.

Kind Regards,

Shannon Best
970.754.7825
sbest@vailresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The Lodge at Vail is exceptional for many reasons, the first being its excellent location. It is just steps from the gondola in Vail Village with very convenient ski storage. Also, the staff is extraordinarily friendly and helpful! We highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. The Lodge is a special place and we take pride in our unbeatable location. That is one of the many benefits that came with being the first hotel in Vail Village! I believe our unique history and our assertive staff are what make our hotel so special. Thank you for sharing your experience. I look forward to our next opportunity to host you.

Kinds Regards,

Shannon Best
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

Address: 174 E Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Vail
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#11 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Vail to Undergo Significant Renovations - Summer/Fall 2014 We are very excited to announce that starting this summer The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort will undergo a transformation to make our hotel even more comfortable and inviting with a modern, mountain chic design. Our International Wing of hotel rooms underwent renovations in 2008, and now our 56 remaining alpine-inspired hotel rooms will be completely renovated, along with a refresh in the lobby, main stairways and corridors, to make your stay with us better than ever. As we complete the renovations from August through December 2014, the property will remain open with all hotel amenities accessible to guests including spa, restaurants and other public areas. We hope you'll come stay with us to enjoy the incredible summer experience Vail has to offer, and to return next winter to experience the newly renovated Lodge at Vail! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Vail, a Rock Hotel Vail
Hotel Vail a Rockresort
a Rockresort Hotel Vail
Lodge Vail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.