We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not visit in October” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vail Valley

Vail Valley
Vail, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 55 things to do in Vail
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The heart of the city of Vail where most of the area's restaurants, shops and attractions are located.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Do not visit in October”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Vail Village looks like it would be a winter wonderland in December, but it was a dud in October. We stopped to ask one of the Information counters about the things to do for just a few hours in Vail. She rudely said, "Nothing." And she was right. It appears that October is the month to service everything. Workers were everywhere. Very few shops or restaurants were open. The gondolas were also closed. Even though it was a sunny day with temperatures in the upper 60's, no one was around. All of the plants and trees had already lost their leaves/color. The drive from Denver was long with many altitude changes, and I would think twice about making the drive during this time of year again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    24
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Vail, including Vail Village and environs is perfectly charming. There must be a competitive spirit to plant flowers and plants, as all of the public and private properties are adorned with every kind of blooming flower and plant. Restaurants galore to meet every taste satisfy the visitor, and walking trails provide ample opportunity to enjoy the outdoors. Fall is a great time to visit!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First trip to Vail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Incredible views at every turn. We took day trip from Vail to historic Leadville then over Independent Pass to Aspen and home through the awesome Glennwood Springs Canyon.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

You have to go there to experience all the beauty and incredible mountain views. It's fabulous all year long.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Zip line ripoff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We went to the suggested zip line spot at Glenwood Spgs which was about an hour drive. What a disappointment! We were a party of 8 and if we were on the zip line more than 3 minutes I'd be surprised. It was basically across the river and back. We were not allowed to have our cameras on the deck and at the end I understood why. The only choice to purchase photos taken by the company photographer would have cost $100.00. Ridiculous and a total waste of a precious vacation day

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vail Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vail Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.