We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but a grunt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Booth Falls Trail

Booth Falls Trail
Vail, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 30 attractions in Vail
Type: Hiking Trails
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Six-mile hiking trail climbs 3,000 feet in elevation as it passes varied scenery including lakes, waterfalls and aspen forests.
Fort Collins
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but a grunt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Absolutely beautiful, but this is a 4 grunt hike out of 5. Lot of elevation gain,but worth every step. The wildfloweres are incredible. It is hard to see the falls when you are right at them,but still worth it

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    13
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth every step”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Challenging hike but very pretty with lots of different vistas along the way. Take plenty of water and wear solid shoes.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Plenty of parking at the trail head. Does get a bit busy during the Summer months. I hiked it a lot in May while there was still some snow along the trail. Decent views of the falls and beyond the falls there is plenty more trail to enjoy.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Whew! We made it to the top.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We made this trip on a cool sunny day and had to park in a nearby school lot (with permission) since the trailhead had no more spaces. We figured 2 hours up but it was demanding, always up, up, up, and we hadn't quite adjusted to the oxygen deprivation of the altitude. It took us longer, with rests, but only less than 2 coming down. We are over 70. We brought lots of water (you can't bring enough!), a snack, wore sunscreen, hiking boots, and I had hiking poles, which were a great help. We nearly lost the trail twice coming down. The waterfall at the top is a nice view, and if you are more hale than we, you could go on a few more miles to a lake. There were other hikers coming and going until later in the afternoon. Some hikers wore bear bells, since Vail has had sightings. There were a couple of wet spots, so maybe in the spring and not a drought year, it could be muddy in parts. There are some nice views and delightful colors as the aspens turn to gold.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Challenging hike with great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Very close to Vail. I drove over from the Marriott. There is a small parking lot that is free at the trail head. There are a few challenging stretches along the trail. I was hiking solo and I am in my mid-30's. Took about an hour to reach the falls. Nice views of the falls and looking back down the mountain once you reach the falls. Total length of hike was 4 miles (2.5 hrs). I can see how it would take longer with kids or if you weren't in shape. Take it easy and enjoy the scenery.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Booth Falls Trail also viewed

 

Been to Booth Falls Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Booth Falls Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Booth Falls Trail to your Saves list