We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay in a fantastic setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ski Free Package
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Vail
New Jersey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay in a fantastic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I spent a few nights there in May - the weather was beautiful and the hotel was even better! Four Seasons are great at styling themselves to local design and this one did it right. The place is beautiful inside and out, and the staff couldn't have been better - from the bellman who greeted me to the people in the lounge.

Special kudos to bartender Brad in the Fireside Lounge - the man knows his stuff! Made for a great group of hours chatting.

If you get a chance to stay here, be sure to wander all the corridors and check out the many glass sculptures they have on display - quite beautiful.

Be sure to factor it the "resort fee" though, its the first one I've encountered at a Four Seasons (although I hear Vegas has one in place now too maybe?). I'd have rather just been billed an extra $30 per night outright, the place is worth it. Resort fees just seem like they belong at places in Vegas like the Luxor so they can advertise lower rates on pop-ups than they actually charge LOL.

Regardless, the Four Seasons Vail was worth every penny I spent there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsColorado, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for your compliments on our resort's design, as it was created to fit right in with our mountain backdrop. We get many wonderful comments on our art displays. We will also make sure to recognize Brad at Fireside!

Thank you for mentioning the resort fee; it's a separate daily resort fee of $30 plus tax per room per day. The fee is not included in the room rate. The resort fee includes various amenities, such as, complimentary transportation within the Vail Village, health club access, standard in-room internet, local phone calls, newspapers, in-room coffee & tea service, morning lobby coffee & tea service, access to our Kids for All Seasons program, and use of our private lockers and refreshments at our off site Ski Concierge during the winter season.

We hope to have you as our guest again very soon!
Jim Guttau
Director, Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    62
    38
    11
    6
See reviews for
141
190
13
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My friend and I stayed here recently with our two 11 yr old children during a conference visit and it was amazing. Every detail was perfect. The rooms were spacious, however I was surprised that they had two double beds instead of two queens. This was a little uncomfortable, but the bed itself was delightful. The bathroom was huge and sparkled with granite everywhere, a huge tub for soaking, separate toilet area, and shower stall. The kids were treated like royalty with personalized chocolate chip cookies, a bathrobe with slippers, and hand made artwork waiting in the room upon arrival. The pool was amazing too. Just the perfect temperature for day or evening swimming. Heated bathrobes and towels poolside and a spectacular fireplace to take the evening chill away. The only detraction was that the kids club was NOT supervised as advertised during our stay since we discovered this was their off season and they were not fully staffed. Besides that, the kids club is awesome for kids of any age. They have a PS3, Xbox, foosball table, pool table, and three computer terminals for PC games. Overall our experience was very enjoyable and the property was beyond beautiful. It's conveniently located in the middle of Vail Village and within a short walk of everything.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsColorado, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. We do receive so many compliments on our bathrooms, especially the bathtubs! Sorry to hear that you were displeased with two double beds instead of two queens; however, it does state this arrangement on our website and should have been on your reservation confirmation.

We love our kids, so I am happy to hear they were treated like royalty! Regarding the kids' club: It is always staffed by our Spa attendants. On off peak hours, guests simply have to notify the Spa attendants if they would like to leave their children in Kids For All Seasons (KFAS) and an attendant is immediately brought in to staff the program. Hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. We apologize if you were unaware.

Our 75-foot pool is a showpiece for the entire property, so I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the ammenities there.

Thank you for this wonderful review and comments. We continually improve our property with comments like yours. We hope to have you back again soon.

Jim Guttau,
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is a beautiful property with exceptional service. There is a lovely pool area complete with fireplaces, hot tub and delicious food delvoered via poolside service.
The spa is just amazing.
The rooms are spacious and very, very comfortable. You never want to leave the room or the property. We ventured out for dinner and were very displeased. We wished we never left there. It was a great stay at a wonderful resort. There was enough to do for pre-teen kids too between the game room, hot tub and pool....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsColorado, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed our property, pool area, spa, service and rooms! Our teen center is a great getaway, so we are pleased to hear your pre-teens enjoyed the games, pool, computers, etc. We hope to have you back as our guest very soon.

Sincerely,
Jim Guttau
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

No doubt this is a beautiful hotel. Extravagant and luxurious. Heated floors to keep your toes warm on the bathroom floor. Separate shower and bath. Great location and views. But where it lost me was the insane prices. We had breakfast here and ordered one cup of coffee, eggs and bacon, french toast, milk. Normally a $30.00 max meal and we were charged $92.00!!! WHAT?!? I don't care how nice this place is DON'T take advantage of your customers! We may be able to afford your hotel but we don't want to be ripped off! At check out we were charged $40.00 a day for COMPLIMENTARY internet, coffee and access to their vehicle (which we never used). I'm sorry Four Seasons but if you look up complimentary in the dictionary it means "given free as a courtesy or a favor". That would mean you are false advertising. My guess is that most people don't look at what they are being charged. I think it's a scam. There are better hotels in Vail that are just as beautiful but treat their customers fairly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsColorado, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Hello,
Thanks so much for sharing your feedback about your stay with us. I will be sure to share your important feedback with the relevant management on our team. I just wanted to clarify the Resort Fee you reference, of $30 per day (not $40). The Resort Fee is a standard that the majority of Vail Valley resorts charge. Included in the fee is access to the fitness center and Spa (whirlpool, steam room, sauna, cold plunge, relaxation lounge-- complimentary access without the requirement of reserving a treatment), newspaper, Internet access, early morning coffee & tea service in the lobby, local phone calls, complimentary car service within the Village, access to Kids For All Seasons program and access to use the Resort's Mercedes Benz SUVs. We are sorry to hear that you were diappointed or surprised by this fee, as it is stated on each reservation confirmation that is e-mailed as soon as a reservation has been made. I hope we can welcome you back and have the opportunity to exceed your expectations. Thanks again,
Dana Berry
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Four Seasons Resort Vail in March. The hotel was beautiful! The service was exceptional. Anytime we needed something it was delivered within minutes. The ski concierge was excellent. It was so nice not to have to carry equipment and have everything stored and dried for the next day. When we were finished the first day, the ski concierge was waiting at the base of the mountain with a ski rack so we did not even have to drop off our equipment. The room was great - we especially enjoyed the fireplace. The humidifier was helpful - I was going to request one when we arrived but they already had it in our room. We appreciated the large bathroom with dual sinks. The outside pool/hot tub area was immaculate. The heated towels were a welcome touch after getting out of the hot tub into the cool air. We had an excellent experience and we hope to return!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsColorado, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the future!
Kind Regards,
Dana Berry
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I am not a ski resort town type of person, being from PA. So part of my experience on this trip was Vail in general. However, the Four Seasons could not have met my expectations any better. The service was FS all the way, the hotel was quaint and yet had all the amenities you could expect. Large rooms (who doesn't love a fireplace in their room??), beautiful spa, pool and hot tubs outside, and a ski concierge. The way they work the skiing here is really nice - they take everything for you to the mountain and have a nice lounge and place for all of your gear there. They really make things so easy. The food here was amazing, and the Fireside Lounge was our favorite place to hang out at nighttime!

I actually cannot wait to go back in the summer, when I hear there are so many things to do that it can be better than winter!

One suggestion - leave 3 hours to get to the Denver airport from Vail - we got stuck in snow on the way and it took us the full three hours.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsColorado, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with us! We are thrilled to hear your comments and appreciate you taking the time to share them with others. We'd love to welcome you back for summer! We have some great packages including golf with Red Sky Golf Club. In summer, our Ski Concierge transforms into an Adventure Concierge, and we can arrange any outdoor activity a guest would like, from hiking, to horseback riding, mountain biking, rafting and more. Can't wait to welcome you back! Thanks again,
Dana Berry
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monclova, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Could not have had a better time. The facilities, service, and people were top notch. Every detail was accounted for and everything at the facility is first rate. The location could not be better. Only negative was that the refrigerator in the room did not get cold enough (nothing the ice machine could not take care of). Would go back here in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsColorado, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Hi,
Thanks so much for sharing your feedback! We are so glad to hear that you had a nice stay with us. We'll be sure to share your comment about the refrigerator. Thanks again. We hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,
Jim Guttau
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail

Address: 1 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vail
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#7 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to Vail Village, Four Seasons Resort Vail presents a fresh interpretation of a grand alpine hotel. With 121 guestrooms, 19 Residence Club units and 16 Private Residences, the Resort features amazing mountain views, a signature restaurant, Flame, and full-service Spa with 13 treatment rooms. The heated pool, flanked by a fireplace, is open year-round. In winter, skiing is a breeze with the Four Seasons Ski Concierge at the base of the Vista Bahn chairlift. In summer, families discover dazzling outdoor enjoyment, with an abundance of activities including horseback riding, fly fishing, zip lining, rafting, biking and more. With the largest guestrooms in all of Vail Valley — each with a soaking tub and a stone fireplace — you may not want to leave the room! Yet the Resort is just steps away to Village nightlife, shopping, al fresco dining and the renowned Village "apres" lifestyle Vail is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, TIG Global, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Vail Hotel Vail
4 Seasons Resort Vail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.