We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find for mid-ski lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bear Bistro

Big Bear Bistro
297 Hanson Ranch Rd, Top of Bridge Street, Vail, CO 81657
+1 970-445-1007
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 109 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Conveniently located at the top of Bridge Street, and featuring the BEST Gourmet Sandwiches in the Vail Valley, we offer Boar's Head meats, fresh veggies and organic bread baked fresh daily! We also offer Rudi's organic gluten-free bread, natural whole-wheat, or a variety of tortilla wraps. We also offer great quick breakfasts, as well as beer, wine, crepes and numerous apres selections.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great find for mid-ski lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We were looking for a place to meet up as a group for lunch during a day of skiing. We wanted somewhere good but quick, and not too expensive--and this place was exactly that. It was delicious, and much more affordable than the options on the mountain.

Was a little concerned that a group of 6 wouldn't fit, but we there were plenty of tables despite the small restaurant. Also convenient to take a sandwich to go and eat outside.

The sandwiches we had were The Masterpiece, The Piglet, and The Phoenix. All were delicious, and we would order again.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    32
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gates Mills
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“nice find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

If I lived in Vail I would be a regular. Nice coffee, good real food at a fair price. Even a small selection of adult beverages

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing hole in the wall!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

You want a great sandwich to take up on the mountain with you? The Masterpiece was my absolute favorite. Also they serve breakfast ALL DAY! Their breakfast sandwich on a croissant was AMAZING. So light and flakey, but still hearty enough to not leave you hungry.

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krungthep Mahanakorn
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
752 helpful votes 752 helpful votes
“Good Raw Materials but Poor Final Products”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

After reading rave reviews, we decided to lunch at Big Bear and were somewhat disappointed by its sandwiches. The quality of the meat, for example roast beef and prosciutto, is good yet the final products (in this case Lumberjack and Masterpiece) are below expectation. I don’t know if they’re stingy or just amateur, but everything turns out dry and tasteless, leaving us wondering where the accompaniments like caramelised onions and horseradish aioli are. Only the salads satisfy us.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBBowner, Owner at Big Bear Bistro, responded to this review, March 26, 2015
Our apologies on the toppings - another customer had ordered the same sandwiches with the toppings deletions, and we delivered them to the wrong party. Please bring this to our attention next time - we'll correct it immediately!

We pride ourselves on offering both the best ingredients - fresh-baked breads and Boar's Head meats and cheeses - served warm along with creative sauce and topping combinations. If anything is not to your satisfaction, we'll bump it to the head of the queue and make it perfect.

Once again - sorry. Let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Quaint sandwich shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Had a quick lunch here. Great selection of sandwiches and salads. Food is fresh and the serving sizes good. Also serve nice selection of bottled and canned beer but can only drink inside due to regulations but this is supposed to change per owners in future. Friendly service and prices are fair by Vail standards. Highly recommend. They're open for breakfast and lunch but close early at 530pm so no dinner unless it's an early one. My only recommendation is that the side pickle slice be offered and included with the sandwich, not 25 cents extra. Also recommend the bonfire brewing mistress winter wheat beer (can).

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bear Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Big Bear Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bear Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.