We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bear Bistro

Big Bear Bistro
297 Hanson Ranch Rd, Top of Bridge Street, Vail, CO 81657
+1 970-445-1007
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 109 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Conveniently located at the top of Bridge Street, and featuring the BEST Gourmet Sandwiches in the Vail Valley, we offer Boar's Head meats, fresh veggies and organic bread baked fresh daily! We also offer Rudi's organic gluten-free bread, natural whole-wheat, or a variety of tortilla wraps. We also offer great quick breakfasts, as well as beer, wine, crepes and numerous apres selections.
Weston, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We ate there twice during our stay in Dec 2012 - located in Vail Village walking distance from Mountain Plaza ski slope gondola and from the Lodge at Vail. Small place with a nice selection of sandwiches and salads and soups. As a vegetarian i found the salads fresh satisfying and compared to other Vail eateries this one was reasonable. they did run out of teh soup i wanted early in teh day. we will return again in our next visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    32
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Terrible experience at the Big Bear. When manager was told there was a problem with food, response was in essence "too bad." Never seen such unresponsive arrogant treatment from restaurant staff and management. Bathroom was filthy: soap container was filled with water! Health department should investigate. Stay away!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our "go to" while staying in Vail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My family of 4 had several breakfasts and a couple of lunches during our stay in Vail. It was recommended by the front desk person at our hotel.
It was a solid option for us for quick, economical and delicious eats.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quick bite excellence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Small sandwich shop with really good unique sandwiches. A great find known by locals. Nothing fancy, but really good, custom made food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great fresh sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I was so excited to find this place. Their sandwiches are really fresh and delicious, the ciabatta bread was so yummy.
This is a perfect place to pick up a lunch and bring on picnic at one of the many nearby parks. The prices are affordable and they have a few great vegetarian options for those interested (the treehugger sandwich was really good!).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bear Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Big Bear Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bear Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.