We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at the top of Eagle Bahn!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro 14

Bistro 14
675 Lionshead Place, Vail, CO 81657
970 479-4530
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 100 Restaurants in Vail
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
LITTLETON
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food at the top of Eagle Bahn!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

If you can sit outside and enjoy the views of the Holy Cross Wilderness, you will have the best of experiences. The food was fresh and well prepared -- a welcome step up from the "pub food" offered at most of the restaurants. Dining room is small, but food is worth sampling.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, casual dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The name and the menu of Bistro 14 gave us the impression that it would have a lot nicer of an ambiance than it had. It was a very casual atmosphere. I guess this should have been a given since it is next to a ski lift, but nonetheless. The food was fantastic. We both ordered burgers and I would definitely recommend that (our cheese plate never came, so I guess the waitress just forgot to put the order in). The entrees around us, salads, and soups all looked delicious as well. I wish I could have tried them!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Check your Tab”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The food was tasty but overpriced. I ordered Beet Salad which was a regular size bowl $11. We ordered the Crab Dip appetizer $14., it was very good. When our check came, we had been charged twice for every item on the tab. Plus they add in 18% gratuity on all checks without telling us

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Very disappointed by service!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Several of us went up the gondola in Lionshead to have lunch after visiting the Vail Arts Festival. It was 1:30 when we arrived. We decided it was too windy outside so went inside at Bistro 14. There were several tables full outside but no more than 5 out of 20+ tables were occupied inside. We received our drink order quickly and placed our lunch order. We received our lunch about 45 minutes later. The waitress apologized several times for the long wait and said that they were doing training in the kitchen. Who trains at lunch on a weekend at a resort?? When our food arrived my spouse's $17 burger was good and there were lots of fries. I had ordered a roasted beet salad with grilled chicken that was very small and arrived in a boat shaped dish so you couldn't cut up the chicken - I asked the waitress to bring it back to me on a plate so I could cut up the chicken - for a $16 salad it was tiny. Our friend had a crab dip appetizer that was good. No one from management made an appearance or apology. Save your money and eat lunch in Lionshead where you can sit outside and receive much better service!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochdale
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Food choice limited. And ok, not terrible,but not worth the expensive price tag.
Service extremely slow. Took far too long to have lunch.
Glad I'm not visiting this place again.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 14 also viewed

 

Been to Bistro 14? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro 14, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.