We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced and overhyped” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vail Mountain

Vail Mountain
PO Box 7, Vail, CO 81658
970 476 3600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 55 things to do in Vail
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offering more than 5,289 acres of downhill and cross-country trails, Vail is considered one of the best all-around ski mountains in the world.
Paonia, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“overpriced and overhyped”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

skiing at Vail is better in the marketing brochure than in person. there is nothing special- the lines are long, the service lacking, the skiing overrated. ski school charges a fortune then crams twelve kids with one instructor. life tickets cost an arm and a leg, and you still wait in line endlessly. dont believe the brochures, this place is selling big time. the reality is a lot more mundane.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    688
    159
    33
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
AVON
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

What can I say......... as far as consistent quality and variety, this is the top of the line. They need better housekeeping in the mountain restrooms with the exception of their new restaurant called the 10th. On a blue bird day with fresh snow and a good snow pack, this mountain beats the best anywhere else in the world!! The local fave is the Blue Sky Basin area of Vail.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal, ny
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Everything you read about Vail is true. Great skiing, great ambience, the best ski school for kids and adults

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Some of the best skiing anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

In April, even though fighting a bit of ice in the morning and a bit of slush in the afternoon, I found some perfect slopes in the vast area of the backbowls where I could lay fresh track in a few inches of fresh snow. Did I say I was practically alone? And it's stunningly beautiful.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Love! Love! Love! Vail Mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Growing up in Colorado, we have always visited the different ski resorts and as an adult, we choose to ski Vail every weekend. The expanse of terrain on Vail Mountain allows for all types of skiers and abilities. With the amount of terrain, a skier is able to "get away" from the crowds.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vail Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vail Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.