We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel, Great Location, Good Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lionshead Inn

Save Saved
You added Lionshead Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lionshead Inn
705 West Lionshead Circle, Vail, CO 81657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 33 hotels in Vail
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel, Great Location, Good Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were looking for a hotel 3-4 blocks from the lifts that was as close to reasonable as you can get in Vail, and the Lionshead Inn fit the bill. Next time I'd probably stay in the main building since it's a lot nicer than the Annex and only costs about $40 more per night. Our room in the Annex was ordinary but clean, and since we only spent nights there, did the job. The location can't be beat. There are some good restaurants blocks away and if you want to go to the main part of Vail you can hop on a free shuttle that runs every 5-10 minutes. There are plenty of ski shops to rent equipment and there's a ski school right by the gondola, which is 5 blocks away. The staff were great - Really friendly and helpful.

We were told that the hotel will only be around one more year and then will be torn down to build a fancier resort. If I go back to Vail in the next year I'll probably stay there again, but this time will pay a bit more for the main building.

Also, as a side note, I reserved the hotel room through Orbitz because they have a "best price guarantee". So a couple of days after making the reservation I checked the Lionshead Inn's website and was surprised to see that I would have saved $110 over three nights if I'd used their site instead of Orbitz. I immediately contacted Orbitz but was told that their guarantee was only valid if I'd contacted them the same day I made the reservation. So, in summary, do NOT ever use Orbitz for hotel reservations. At best you'll get the same rate you could have gotten from the hotel directly; at worse you'll get ripped off, and Orbitz will send you many emails detailing how you should have read the "fine print" carefully.

Room Tip: If I go back I'll pay a bit extra to be in the main building. We saw one room there and it was d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    29
    22
    11
    12
See reviews for
23
34
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This place is not 5 star in amenities but it is 5 star in location and value. The room is big enough, is nice and light and has a basic kitchen. The lounge/lobby is a nice quiet place to relax and there is free coffe/tea and yummy choc cookies. The hot tub is close and big enough. Ben the manager and his staff are all very friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic only a couple of minutes walk to Eaglebahn Gondola, shops and restaurants. Vail is expensive but this is not and Lionshead has everything you need including a small grocery store. This is a nice, quiet relaxing place to stay and it is close to all that you need including the free shuttle around Vail. .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I love Lionshead. I know the Village gets all the good PR but if you are here to ski/ride Lionshead is where it is at! Hop on the Gondola and drop into Game Creek and you are skiing right away!

We stayed at the appropriately named Lionshead Inn. http://www.lionsheadinn.com It has been there for a long time but I had never stayed there. Our room was great. Large with a microwave and fridge. Nice big sitting area. We could have easily spent a week there. More of a studio condo feel than a hotel room. Nice views, great location. Awesome staff, apparently everyone’s name is Ben, which makes it easy. All the Bens made us feel welcome. It is clean, welcoming, great price for a great location.
I loved the fresh, complimentary, cookies in the afternoon and fresh fruit in the morning. Nice touch.

Thanks for a great end of season trip! See you next year.


If anyone is looking for a lower cost alternative, Lionshead and the Lionshead Inn works.

Room Tip: Try for a higher level floor facing the mountain, Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My second time at the Lionshead Inn in Vail. It was the end of the season, so Vail was not crowded and easy going. The hotel is one of the most affordable in Lionshead, large double bed room, smallish bathroom but good enough, small balcony. We paid extra to be on the mountain side, which gives a great view and a lot of sun. You can also get a single queen bed, and then the room has a small kitchen area.
I do not give five circles and an excellent rating because they have stopped their breakfast service which was included in the price.It was simple but convenient and enough food to get started. Now they only offer coffee, fruits and health bars.

Room Tip: The hotel is 300 yards form the gondola, you can make the commute easier by renting from SkiTech whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I visit this nice hotel with my family in February 2013
the room was clean and nice.
we had a room with balcony and the the mountain view was just perfect
everyone at the hotel is very accommodating and nice
walking distance to the Gondola.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Lionshead Inn isn't the fanciest place but it serves its purpose. Vail certainly lives up to its slogan of being "like no place on Earth." Great staff especially Benjamin the manager. Very helpful and quite a nice guy - knew all the best places to eat, how to get to the slopes and took care of any issues we had during our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Lionshead Inn based on price and location. The place is old, and slated as part of Vail's expansion/remodel. The room was clean, but not spotless. The bed was comfortable. If the place is still around take advantage of the value as it is located steps away from the Lionshead village portion, and the Intown Bus.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lionshead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lionshead Inn

Address: 705 West Lionshead Circle, Vail, CO 81657
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 hotels in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Amex, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Lionshead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lionshead Hotel Vail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lionshead Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.