We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent family hotel and trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vail Cascade Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Vail Cascade Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Vail Cascade Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10%-15%
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Vail
Herndon, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Magnificent family hotel and trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

From the moment we arrived at Cascades, we felt welcomed and taken care of. Sharon Geankoplis, concierge, was so amazing. She planned out our 6 day stay with excitement, and enthusiasm. Sharon made reservations for us to Fly Fish, go ATV'ing, white water rafting, biking from the top of a mountain and zip lining. All we had to do was show up at the appropriate time in the lobby! One night we saw a concert at the Gerald Ford Amphitheater. Sharon had blankets for us to sit on and umbrellas delivered to our room!
The resort is so clean and beautiful - we would absolutely stay at Cascades again.
A few wonderful amenities include: bikes to rent on site, breatkfast buffet, smores by the fire, movies by the pool, and just minutes away from restaurants and concerts. Perfect location. Perfect vacation. We were traveling with our 14 year old twins who enjoyed the resort as much as we did. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Our room was in the newer section on the 3rd floor and overlooked the Gore River with an amazing vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Maxine,
Wow, what a great review of Vail Cascade! We’re are over-the-moon with pride. We’re are delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed your action-packed adventure to Vail, Colorado! What an itinerary! We couldn’t agree with you more about Sharon – she is truly wonderful! Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us! We hope that you do return to Vail sooner than later and we’d love to welcome you back.

Thanks again,
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    249
    63
    28
    21
See reviews for
266
285
23
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We chose his property because we got a great rate on AAA. It completely exceeded our expectations. We just relocated from Florida to Denver and wanted to take our girls for a weekend trip to the mountains. This was the perfect place! It is charming, elegant and cozy. The staff was over the top accommodating and super nice. We were upgraded to a room with a view of the stream running behind the property. It was amazing, we saw deer running along the stream and slept with our windows open at night to hear the water. Rick at the front desk and Mike our bellman were so gracious and took a lot of time to give us information about the area and things to do. The room was more spacious than your typical hotel room and it was well maintained. We had a yummy dinner at Atwater's and our waiter there was great too! They did free smores in the evening for the kids and then a movie at the pool, which was heated. My girls were in heaven! This hotel is not located in either of the main areas at Vail (Vail Village or Lionshead) so you have to take a shuttle or walk a bit to get to those areas. It was not a huge problem though because the shuttles ran pretty regularly and the lower cost of the room more than made up for it. This is our new favorite resort and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear mbr28,
We’re delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations for your family weekend escape! From the dive-in movies to the s’mores and the serenity of Gore Creek, it sounds like you had a very relaxing vacation. Reviews such as yours are so appreciated and will be shared with our team.

With our close proximity to Denver, we hope you come back soon!
Sincerely,
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I loved our stay at Vail Cascade. Everyone we encountered on staff was so friendly and accommodating. We stayed in July and got a great "buy one night/get one free" deal as it's off season. We were also upgraded from our riverfront room to a riverfront suite. Woo Hoo!! The view of the river was our favorite part of staying at Vail Cascade! We also liked that it was a bit away from Vail Valley, but just a short 1.5 mile beautiful walk; shorter distance to Lionshead. There is also a super handy shuttle that runs back and forth every 15 minutes or so if you don't feel like walking!
The food was delicious at the Atwater Restaurant on site. We had the breakfast buffet as well as dinner one evening.
There is a little cafe attached to the gift shop which scored major bonus points with us as they make almond milk lattes and have a bit of a "healthy" snack section.
We took advantage of the Aria gym on site and it had everything we needed to do a little crossfit workout; noteably: rowers and barbells. Beats most resort gyms.
The gift shop at the resort has a nice selection and fair prices compared to the other souvenir shops in town.
BONUS: Free parking across the street in a covered garage.
Everything we needed was right here. I wish I had endless funds to take advantage of the spa, but it's extremely pricey even with the specials that were being run and I was in Vail to play outside anyway!
Thank you Vail Cascade for an unforgettable couple of days!

Room Tip: River facing room!! The view is incredible by day and the sound of the river by night is priceless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Tara,
Thank you for your recent stay at Vail Cascade and your comprehensive review! As alpine guides to the very best experiences in Colorado, we agree that our location, food, amenities and onsite athletic club can’t be beat! And we appreciate your comment pertaining to parking. Many visitors to Vail do not realize that parking in Vail is at a premium and having a garage on-property is a huge advantage to our guests.

Should your travels bring you back to Vail, we’d love to welcome you again to Vail Cascade.
Sincerely,
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed 3 nights. Very nice place. The concierge are good and knowledgeable, very helpful. The rest of staff are so so average at best. Cant say we will stay here next time. Bartenders lack personality and the dude last night tending bar lack personality and skill did not know how to finish out a drink so he did nothing..the girl mixing.drinks the night before over powered the drinks with a lot of heat..I can not recommend the bar, so.......... .... drink else where. The resturamt menu was found wanting also.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Michael,
First of all, thank you for being honest and sharing your experience. From what it sounds like, your experience in our bar did not meet your expectations. I appreciate you providing us with feedback on some of the issues you encountered. Your review is important as we strive to continuously improve our processes and service standards as a AAA Four Diamond resort.
We hope you give us another chance to earn back your loyalty and I personally invite you to call me directly if I can assist in any manner.
Sincerely,
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Vail Cascade for a reunion. The package deal we received included breakfast, which was a great value. The location made it easy to walk to Lionshead and Vail Village. However, the hotel shuttle was efficient and all drivers were friendly and patient with out big group. The hotel staff was excellent and friendly. We even checked our bags at the concierge desk after checking out to enjoy a few more hours in the village. They were accommodating and offered us a key to the spa in case we wanted to shower and refresh ourselves. We highly recommend this scenic location. Upgrade to a room on the creek side is well worth it!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Darlene,
Glad to hear you enjoyed you visit to Vail Cascade for a reunion. After reading your review, it looks like you enjoyed your visit and appreciated the serenity of our location. We would love to see you again soon – there are so many great ways to enjoy summer in Vail! From dive-in movies to s’mores by the pool to a mountain full of adventure! If you do return, please let me know if there is anything I can do to make your next stay even more memorable.

Sincerely,
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I cannot say enough about Vail Cascade! The resort is gorgeous, warm, inviting. It is a short walk down the gorgeous Gore Creek Trail into the Village, but the resort feels set away. The staff is absolutely wonderful-have never encountered anyone who wasn't helpful, warm, and friendly. I cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a Creekside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Andrea,
Reading your review is why we take so much pride in what we do. Our team truly provides service from the heart and strives to make our guests feel at home when visiting Vail Cascade Resort. We appreciate your selecting to stay with us when traveling to Vail and we are grateful for your positive words. Your feedback is very valuable – not just to us, but to other travelers.

The sun continues to shine in Vail and the adventures are unlimited. If you decide to return, please don’t hesitate to let me know how we can make your next stay even more memorable.

Sincerely,
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This was the third time we had stayed at the resort and we stayed in a main-level suite facing Gore Creek. A huge part of the experience is hearing the rushing water through the open balcony doors. Our kids loved the pool. I have noticed that the resort is usually packed with families, so it may not be the best place for couples to visit if they are seeking peace and quiet.
The linens on the beds are very nice, as are the beds themselves. Some of the facility is starting to look a little tired (woodwork is looking rough in places, grout/caulk in shower probably needs a refresh). The concierge. bell staff, and front desk were all great.

Room Tip: Spend a little more for the mountain/creekside rooms--you will not regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear 44Heavy,
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor! We appreciate receiving feedback from our guests and it sounds like you had a memorable time, which is delightful to hear. We also agree that Gore Creek is a big part of the experience! It’s a great time to be in Vail – the summers are hard to beat! We hope you return soon – there’s still plenty of summer to soak in.

Sincerely,
John Garth
Managing Director
Vail Cascade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vail Cascade Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Cascade Resort & Spa

Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#4 Spa Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#6 Family Hotel in Vail
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#7 Business Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vail Cascade Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vail Cascade Resort and Spa features 280 comfortable hotel rooms and suites as well as condos and private homes. This Vail hotel has an outdoor pool and hot tubs, restaurants, room service, concierge services, spa, gym and a gift shop. Vail Cascade Resort is the perfect ski-in/ ski-out location with an on-site chairlift. Combine this with equipment rental and ski storage, skiing and snowboarding have never been more convenient. Other amenities include a 78,000 square foot spa and fitness center, complete with an indoor running track, tennis courts, yoga, pilates and fitness classes. If you need more space than a hotel room, consider staying at a Vail Cascade condo or private home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Vail Cascade Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Cascade Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.