We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We just wanted a place to rest between skiing and fun. What we got was so much more!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vail Cascade Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Vail Cascade Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Vail Cascade Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10%-15%
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Vail
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We just wanted a place to rest between skiing and fun. What we got was so much more!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We just wanted a place to rest between skiing and fun. What we got was so much more!! It's not the newest place but I sort of like the older style that gives a sense of time passed. It was spotless and well cleaned every day. Everyone was friendly and extremely helpful. They'd help you pick places to go or best times to go. They had the 411 of how to get where and best roughs.
They gave us a room on the bottom floor, thinking we'd love being near the fire pits and Jacuzzi (it was an anniversary trip for us) but for me being from NY I don't like being that close to the central hub of things or on a ground floor with people passing by our room. I asked (expecting a hard time) to be moved but it was no problem and I was placed in a new room with an amazing view and awesome balcony!! The tub was so deep you could drown and the shower pressure was very good!!! Our sheets, pillows and bed itself felt great. They even have a humidifier in the room which we used each night and really helped us!
The resort has everything you want/need small store, ski shop right on sight (OMG they were AMAZING IN THERE!!! So helpful!!) restaurant and bar. It also, had heated pool ...LOVED IT, rocking chairs at two fire pits with someone who came out with the making of smores...more excited then we were about it too!! You couldn't help but have fun. The least loved was the bar as the wait staff left me feeling like they were doing me a favor by being their...but the wine and drinks were still good...not the best of the trip but when you're tired it will do for a night cap. They even have live music each night. You were no more than a 4 min. drive to the center of Vail. I looked into some of the other hotels during my stay, as I wanted to know if I was really missing out on anything...in my opinion all I missed out on was the bigger bill!!! I'd book it again in a second!!!

Room Tip: I got a room in the center above the fire pit and loved the veiw and location to night roaming of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    248
    63
    28
    21
See reviews for
265
285
23
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We intended to visit just one night. My husband and teen sons loved the convenient skiing -- equipment rentals, ski concierge and ticket booth on site, chair lift right outside the door. I loved the huge fitness center and spa -- great place to relax the day away. Resort shuttle to Vail Village was incredibly convenient. Breakfast buffet at the restaurant had enough variety that it seemed like a great value. Room was large enough, comfortable and updated; double sinks outside the bathroom are great. Live music in the packed bar area. All this right on site. We checked out after one night but spent the day and then planned to head home after dinner. When the highway was closed due to weather, the front desk was very gracious -- a great deal on a second night. We are Coloradans, and Vail Cascade is now our go-to spot in Vail.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Juja80301,
Thank you for your business and your endorsement of Vail Cascade Resort. We would be honored to be your ‘go-to spot in Vail’! We take great pride in providing superior service and are thrilled to hear about your stay. With Vail’s largest fitness center and spa, Aria Athletic Club is an amazing experience and we’re thrilled that you enjoy it. We hope to see you and your family again soon. The snow continues to fall and the skiing conditions can't be beat!
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This was very nice Xmas weekend, we rent a car from Denver and drove to Vail, booked the hotel through their website, cheaper from Expedia and similar sites.
Place is great, they have their own shuttle, and its very fast every 1/2h if I remember correctly. We had only one time breakfast at the hotel, and it was great, but the most of the time we dine in town.
Would definitely go again if we decide to go back to Vail.

Room Tip: Restaurants in hotel are closing early and hotel store doesn't offer a lot if you like your wine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear celsolph,
Thank you for your 5-star review; we are humbled by your generous comments. The holidays in Vail are truly a special place and we’re glad to hear that your stay was memorable. The snow continues to fall and we’re having a great winter – we’d love to see you again! If you do decide to return, I’d ask that you reach out to me so I can ensure your next visit is even more special.
Thanks again,
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I have been all over the world and I have to say this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. We had our wedding in Vail and had about 100 guests all staying at the Vail Cascade. The staff is VERY friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to fulfill all of our needs all week. Great bar, great pool, great rooms, excellent food. I really cant say enough good things about this hotel. They even remembered us when we came back the next year for our anniversary! They truly make you feel like a VIP. I look forward to going back every year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Jason,
First let me take a moment to say congratulations on your recent wedding and send you best wishes for a lifetime of happiness! We are truly honored that you selected Vail Cascade as your host hotel for your special celebration. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your experience and from what it sounds like, you had a memorable time, which is great to hear. We hope you make your anniversary a tradition by coming back to Vail Cascade year-after-year. We will go above and beyond to ensure your stays exceed your expectations.

John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

One of the best girl's trips we've had thus far. Even though we were booked in a private home, the hotel staff treated us the same as they would if we stayed on the hotel premises. They even found an iPod dock for us to use for the weekend! We definitely plan on coming back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Ania,
We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your girl’s getaway! Having the largest selection of condos and homes provides a great opportunity to connect with those you enjoy spending time with. Glad to hear you enjoyed our resort amenities as well. We do hope you return; we’d love to welcome you back. If there’s anything we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I have been to Vail before for the skiing but had stayed at a different resort in the past. The hotel is located west of the two main areas of Vail, the Vail Village and Lionshead Square. For any dining and shopping other than at the hotel itself you will need to take a bus, taxi, or car. The hotel itself provides shuttles that leave every fifteen or twenty minutes and take you to two locations: the Vail Transportation Center and Lionshead Square. The free Town of Vail bus system also stops at the hotel on a regular (contact the Town of Vail for details as the schedule changes by season). Not being in the center of Vail means that the pace is a little slower and it is definitely quieter.

The rooms, overall, are kept up very well. They are clean and comfortable and you can find a humidifier in the closet. The rooms are a tad loud and should have been built with a bit more sound insulation and a better fitting door to the hall. While the resort was built in sections over the years and thus not new, it is in quite good shape. The room came with a very small balcony that was just able to hold two chairs.

Charter Sports is located on site. They sell ski and snowboard gear as well as renting ski and snowboard gear. You can buy your lift ticket right outside the sports shop and a ski lift, lift #20, is also located just outside Charter Sports shop. The Vail Cascade appears to be the only resort with its own ski lift in Vail. Charter Sports also stores your skis and boots when you come down from the mountain at no cost. It is all very convenient.

The Atwater restaurant is very good. The quality of food and service is great. The only negative was the price. However, I rate prices for all food and drink in Vail as rather high when compared with other resort towns. With that said, the Vail Cascade is one of the better values in the town. There is also a bar just off the lobby that was packed during much of the afternoon and evening.

There are two heated pools and hot tubs. I enjoyed relaxing in the hot tubs after skiing with their lovely view of trees and mountains.

The staff is pleasant and helpful. The resort is big, so it can take awhile to get to your room from the lobby. The hotel also has a spa and indoor sports facility, including indoor tennis and basketball, which I did not use.

The only major negative of the Vail Cascade, in my mind, was the mandatory “resort fee” at the hotel. This fee, which covers such things as in room coffee and local telephone access, is due upon check-out and is charged at the rate of $27 per room per night. One should consider the “resort fee” to be part of the room rate as most of the "resort fee" covers items included in the price of a room at most hotels.

Overall it was a pleasant stay, and I would stay at the Vail Cascade again in the future

Room Tip: If you plan to ski ask a room near the ski lift but not on the first floor or directly above the Cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We love this resort. We stayed here for a few days this summer and knew we'd have to come back during ski season. When we checked in, I mentioned to Dilyana, the incredibly pleasant girl behind the desk, that the price for our room had gone down since we booked. She smiled and said, "Don't worry, I'll upgrade you and give you a really nice room to make you happy." We had a beautiful suite with a view of the ski mountain and the stream. I love all of the amenities here that are included such as wifi, fitness center, spa facilities (I used the hot tub and steam every day), and the station in the lobby with the various chargers for whatever cellphone you might have. The market is great when you want a snack or a quick meal. Charter Sports which is on site has great rentals and they are so nice. To rent skis, walk out the door, and have the ski ticket office twenty feet away and the chair lift ten feet away is just terrific. They store your skis when you come down. There are two heated pools and hot tubs. I love the comfortable bar area. The shuttles leave every fifteen minutes and take you all over Vail. There's also free self parking. This is a wonderful place to stay and it's very good value. The best deals can be found when you "like" it on facebook.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear MarcelleMiami,
Coming all the way from Florida, we’re delighted to hear that you returned to Vail Cascade for another visit. Summer is definitely beautiful in Vail, but winter is equally as rewarding. We are grinning from ear to ear after reading your review. It sounds like you took advantage of all the amenities and offerings that make Vail Cascade so unique. We greatly appreciate your feedback and would love to see you again….hopefully sooner than later! The snow has been great this season!
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vail Cascade Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Cascade Resort & Spa

Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#4 Spa Hotel in Vail
#6 Family Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#7 Business Hotel in Vail
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vail Cascade Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vail Cascade Resort and Spa features 280 comfortable hotel rooms and suites as well as condos and private homes. This Vail hotel has an outdoor pool and hot tubs, restaurants, room service, concierge services, spa, gym and a gift shop. Vail Cascade Resort is the perfect ski-in/ ski-out location with an on-site chairlift. Combine this with equipment rental and ski storage, skiing and snowboarding have never been more convenient. Other amenities include a 78,000 square foot spa and fitness center, complete with an indoor running track, tennis courts, yoga, pilates and fitness classes. If you need more space than a hotel room, consider staying at a Vail Cascade condo or private home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Vail Cascade Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Cascade Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.