We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Surrounded by Beautiful Scenery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vail Cascade Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Vail Cascade Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Vail Cascade Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 25% in Vail
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Surrounded by Beautiful Scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was my first time in Vail and the Vail Cascade only added to my fantastic visit. I chose the summertime (mid-August) for my visit to escape the heat and see the full beauty of Colorado during the summer.

From first approach, the beautiful green tree-lined hotel driveway with twinkling lights set the tone. The back of the resort leads to an infinity pool and hot tub all situated across from a flowing creek and stretches up into a magnificent looking mountain stretching high above and lined with tree after tree to its peak. During the evenings, gas fireplaces are lit to enjoy a moonlit evening by the pool or on the patio.

I've never been to a ski resort before, so I don't what "ski resort" is supposed to look like. The Vail Cascade had a lot of dark wood in the lobby and throughout. It had lots of plush leather chairs for seating. The grounds are meticulously maintained and flowers were blooming all around.

I spent extra for a nice mountain view in the room. It was very spacious, and the view was simply gorgeous looking out over the pool, creek and mountain. I don't put much weight into room decor, but I did like the addition of the comfortable leather reading chair and ottoman. The room had all the essentials, including a large desk next to the window. The bed was comfortable. The pieces in the room matched the dark wood of the lobby, and could use a little updating, though there was nothing wrong with anything in the room. I think they were going for rustic looking.

I always look for a full service hotel when I travel on vacation, so it was great to have an on-site spa (that was fantastic), on-site restaurant (delicious food), separate bar (tasty drinks) and pool-side service for food and drinks.

I'm not sure about the winter time, but the Vail Cascade was very family-oriented during the summer. If you are traveling alone and single, don't expect a high action nightlife or pool area. The pool area was active with families and pretty noisy. There are pool chairs up further away from the pool so you can distance yourself from all the activity. It did die down after lunch time.

While I didn't participate, the resort did offer a lot of excursions, activities, bike rentals, etc. There was a shuttle that also could take you into Vail Village.

This was just a fantastic trip and the Colorado summer temperatures made it even more enjoyable with temps going down into the 40s at night most nights I was there.

Vail Cascade met all my expectations, and then some. I would definitely stay there again if I were to return to Vail.

Room Tip: My room on the third floor (323) had an excellent view of the pool, creek and mountain. You do get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear adallasguy1972,
Thank you for your comprehensive review. We, as well as other guests, greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide a detailed review of your stay. From what it sounds like, you took full advantage of your time in Vail. If you think summer is amazing, you should come back and check out winter! With our ski-in/ski-out location and ski concierge services, it’s hard to beat. Upon your next stay, I would ask that you contact me directly to ensure your next stay is nothing short of spectacular.
Russ Craney
Assistant General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    262
    67
    28
    21
See reviews for
273
296
25
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Vail Cascade is a beautiful, relaxing resort and the staff went out of their way to make us feel at home and cater to our every need. My daughter and I stayed there in early August and one of our favorite memories was soaking in the hot top one night and then sitting by one of the crackling fires by the pool. The shuttle that takes hotel guests to Vail Village and Lionshead was a plus so we could avoid dealing with driving and parking. We would definitely stay at Vail Cascade again.

Room Tip: Our room was in the back overlooking the pool area and the creek. It was wonderful to sit out on ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Beth,
Glad to hear you felt at home during your getaway in Vail. Time and time again, families love to stay with us – we take service seriously and strive to make a meaningful difference for every guest we have the privilege of meeting. If you do return to Vail soon, we would love the opportunity to have you as our guests again.
Russ Craney
Assistant General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at the Vail Cascade in mid August for a weekend getaway. They were running a 2 for 1 special on rooms which is what brought the room into our price range. The hotel is gorgeous - the lobby has the feel of an old ski chalet. Our room was spacious, had an excellent view over the creek, and we even turned on the fireplace to complete the ambiance. The room and hotel itself are clean, quiet, and comfortable. If you're looking for a bit of luxury in Vail, this hotel will more than meet your expectations!

Room Tip: Ask for the optional upgrade. We paid an extra $20 upfront when making the reservations so that if a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie J, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Melissa,
Thank you for your review! We’re pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations. With the changing of the season, we’d love to see you again before the snow falls.
Russ Craney
Assistant General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is wonderful and the pool area is amazing!! Every weekend night, they offer smores and movies that play at the pool for children. Great, relaxing stay!

We also appreciated the free shuttle into Vail and Lionshead Villages. This was helpful as to avoid driving.

Room Tip: A room along the courtyard can be loud as other guests are returning from late nights out in Vail Vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Kayla,
Thank you for choosing Vail Cascade your August vacation. Vail is conveniently located to Denver and is a great place to rest, relax and renew. We’re thrilled to hear you had a great time and that you enjoyed the pool, kids’ activities and shuttle service. Fall is in the air, which means winter is coming soon! Hope to see you again.
Russ Craney
Assistant General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was greeted with sincere warmth and quickly checked in to a beautiful suite. The room was over sized and had a nice work area and separate sitting area and couch. Fireplace was nice. Really nice pool area and hot tub with great architectural fire features. Nice deck and patio areas. Fun bar. Gaby is a star! Great staff!

Room Tip: Gore Creek mountain view was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Jahmok,
Thank you for choosing Vail Cascade for your recent stay and for your 5-star review on TripAdvisor! We truly love this time of year and enjoy sharing the Colorado we love with our guests. We’re anxiously awaiting to celebrate winter and our annual Cascade Christmas that boasts family activities, games, performances and a special visit from Santa.

If you do return to Vail, we would like to opportunity to welcome you back and I encourage you to call me directly if I can make your next visit more enjoyable.
Russ Craney
Assistant General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Would recommend this cozy place to anyone, fireplace and all! The service is superior, all employees were always smiling and gracious, nothing was too hard for them. Very professional yet still homey- that's an unusual combination. I felt like i was coming home after each day spent on outdoor adventures. Free parking! Beautifully lit gardens at night. Greenery well-tended too. i could go on and on... Just go and see it for yourself!

Room Tip: There are some rooms with better views but honestly, the best of the view is to be enjoyed from outd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear BananasFromBrooklyn
Thank you for your recent visit and your review on TripAdvisor. Our staff strives to provide service from the heart so we appreciate the recognition. We’re thrilled to be referred your ‘home away from home’ and would love the opportunity to have you again.
Russ Craney
Assistant General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Got a great deal on a room (only $99) so my husband and I stayed for a night; it was a very good stay! The staff was exceptionally nice, everyone was friendly and helpful, we have to give them 5 stars based on that alone. Our thanks to them for making our stay special.

Our room faced the creek, it was lovely; everything was clean, bathroom was large, the bath products were great. Loved the light bedspread, versus the ones you usually get in hotel rooms (that are always bulky and when you take them off the bed to sleep, there's no where to put them). I even found a pillow that I liked, which is rare for me. Furnishings were tasteful, robes were heavy duty, and towels were fluffy (not hard and scratchy). Room seemed large, because of a step down area with a high ceiling, it was nice to have space. The doors opened up to a patio table and chairs that faced the creek, we enjoyed sitting out, and I was able to check out the stars at night. My only complaint was a very soft mattress (which many people might like). We both agreed we'd stay at this hotel again, and that doesn't happen often.

We loved the entire hotel, it had the feeling of an older Colorado lodge, but clean and in excellent condition, it is kept up well. My husband was thrilled to find they had gopro camera accessories in the girft shop, at the same price as the gopro website (he was expecting the resort markup). We thought the breakfast buffet was quite the step up from the usual buffet; he's vegetarian, and there was a huge selection of healthy food to choose from. And the bad for you croissants were really, really good too! We used the hot tub which was clean and fun, and walked the path along the river. I would definitely recommend staying here in summer, and will consider returning for ski season.

Room Tip: Everyone is right, get a room near the creek, it makes you feel like you're away from the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear ColoradoPetLover,
Thank you for sharing your Vail Cascade experience! We take great pride in the service we offer and are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our amenities, our access to biking trails and the views. Hope to see you again soon (or for the ski season).

Sincerely,
Russ Craney
Assistant General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vail Cascade Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Cascade Resort & Spa

Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#4 Spa Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#6 Family Hotel in Vail
#7 Business Hotel in Vail
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vail Cascade Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vail Cascade Resort and Spa features 280 comfortable hotel rooms and suites as well as condos and private homes. This Vail hotel has an outdoor pool and hot tubs, restaurants, room service, concierge services, spa, gym and a gift shop. Vail Cascade Resort is the perfect ski-in/ ski-out location with an on-site chairlift. Combine this with equipment rental and ski storage, skiing and snowboarding have never been more convenient. Other amenities include a 78,000 square foot spa and fitness center, complete with an indoor running track, tennis courts, yoga, pilates and fitness classes. If you need more space than a hotel room, consider staying at a Vail Cascade condo or private home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Groupon, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Vail Cascade Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Cascade Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.