We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fireworks in Vail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vail Cascade Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Vail Cascade Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Vail Cascade Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 25% in Vail
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence 2014
US/EU
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fireworks in Vail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked a family vacation online at the Vail Cascade Resort and Spa over the 4th of July, supposedly the busiest day of the year in Vail. From the moment we checked in, to our departure, we had an outstanding visit at the resort and in the town of Vail. This is a beautiful property in a remarkable setting.

Rooms - We managed to get two rooms on the ground level on Gore Creek, which provided easy access to the hot tubs, the salt water pool and the outdoor fireplaces. Vail Path was right outside our door and follows Gore Creek to Vail Square in Lionshead, which was an easy walk of .7 miles. The rooms are spacious, well-appointed and clean.

Amenities – The main hotel has a saltwater pool, two hot tubs and two outdoor fireplaces, all of which are on the Gore Creek. The Aria Spa and Club is a connected building. Aria has full spa services, an outstanding exercise equipment setup, a full-size basketball court, a second outdoor pool and 3 indoor tennis courts.

Transportation - The resort is located just west of Lionshead and Vail Village. There is a city bus that runs regularly to Lionshead and Vail Village. In addition, the resort also provided a shuttle service to Lionshead that ran every 15 minutes. Parking is limited in Vail so walking, shuttles and buses are important for enjoying all that the town of Vail has to offer.

Dining – Atwater is the full-service restaurant and the food was outstanding albeit somewhat expensive, like most restaurants in the area. They also have a small market/café and gift shop with breakfast sandwiches and decent coffee, which worked well for us. That’s it for onsite dining.
Staff – The staff was extraordinary. The front desk was able to accommodate a room change to the ground level; the concierge knew everything that was happening in Vail over the 4th of July; the valet was remarkably fast.

Activities – The ski resorts in Colorado are becoming a summer destination. Hiking has always been the favorite past time in the mountains but now there are numerous biking trails and paths for riders of any skill level from family-friendly rides to highly technical descents on the mountain. We took the gondola up the mountain to have lunch, visit the children’s activity center and take a short hike. They also feature horseback riding and are in the process of building zip lines this year. Some people were fly fishing on the Gore Creek and others went out on ATVs on trails. Rafting is an option but will require a bit of a drive.

Some tips:
- Look for deals online, especially during the summer
- Book your room on the Gore Creek and enjoy the sound of the water
- Try to get a room on the ground level if you can for easy access to the amenities
- Take advantage of the Aria Spa and Club – 2nd pool, basketball, indoor tennis, weights
- There is a ski lift right on the property, it does not run in the summer
- Pets are allowed at the property, for a fee

I would recommend the Vail Cascade Resort and Spa if you are looking for a first-class property that has a bit more privacy than the other hotels in Vail. The setting on the Gore Creek is somewhat unique and provides a more tranquil setting than the hotels in Lionshead or Vail Village. If you want more dining choices, nightlife and such then I would recommend a hotel in the Village or Lionshead.

Room Tip: Get a room on the Gore Creek side of the building. If possible, a room on the ground level means n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie J, Guest Relations Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Biztravelmark,
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Vail Cascade and experienced many of the things that make Vail Cascade so unique. Thorough reviews such as yours are very valuable to our team and we appreciate comprehensive feedback, as do other potential guests. It sounds like you had a very enjoyable time while visiting, which is music to our ears! If you decide to return to Vail, please let us know if there’s anything we can do to make your next visit even more memorable.
Katie Johnson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    263
    67
    29
    21
See reviews for
275
296
25
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Had a great stay. Suggest a water view so that you can fall asleep every night to the relaxing sound of the water. Staff were wonderful at check-in and out. Brought us a rollaway bed when we upgraded out room at no additional expense. Walking and biking trail along back of resort with reasonable bike rental on-site. Great advice received for dining. Recommend Tavern on the Gorge in Vail Village!

Cons: limited menu at on-sight restaurant and rude bartenders. Very pretentious. Rest of staff were so friendly and courteous so this isn't needed. Was on more than occasion so it wasn't just a bad night!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear milldigg
Thank you for your recent review and feedback. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your room overlooking Gore Creek and the great activities surrounding the resort. As for your experience with our staff in the restaurant, please accept my sincere apologies for the atypical experience you encountered. Taking good care of our guests is a top priority and I'm sorry that we did not exceed your expectations during this visit. I encourage you to call upon me next time you're in our restaurant or hotel if there's anything I can assist with to ensure your experience is nothing short of great.
Russ Craney
Assistant General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Had a great experience -- but not a 5 star experience. The pros are the fantastic ski concierge service, excellent and friendly staff, the super-frequent shuttle to town, and the lift literally outside the door. The cons are that the resort feels old and sometimes rough. Unfortunately, there are wall marks and blemishes in elevators and halls and lounges that are quite unbecoming; I know ski equipment is awkward but it makes the resort feel neglected. The menu in the restaurant and lobby bar gets old quick. These are relatively minor complaints. The pool area outside is terrific, so are the paths along the creek. Neat touches like smores for the kids in the afternoon. Overall, value - a very good deal and we will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony - they are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie J, Guest Relations Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Christopher P,
Thank you for your recent review and sharing your experience. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed our service, location and amenities. We strive to provide memorable experiences and appreciate you expressing your feedback on the property. In mid-June, we completed a multi-million dollar room renewal. In addition to our guest rooms, we are continuously making improvements and investing in our property to provide a genuine, welcoming environment. We would love to have you back to experience the guest rooms and overall hotel improvements firsthand.

Thank you again for your business and your honesty,
Katie Johnson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Excellent time! I found a great deal on aol.com local for a one night stay. Upon arrival I got an upgraded room, a second floor balcony room facing a babbling stream with mountain views. We kept our balcony doors open at night so we could hear the soothing rushing stream. The beds and pillows are very comfy! We ate dinner and breakfast at the Atwater, the on site restaurant. Excellent meals and reasonably priced. We ate outside on the terrace overlooking the pool, stream and mountains. I had never been to Vail, I took my daughter for a girls night. We both enjoyed our brief stay and I am hoping to come back next year with my entire family. The summer seems to be their off season, so it is not so crowded and they have specials on their stays. We walked into town on the wooded trail, but also took the free shuttle into town and walked around the villages.We also rented bikes and rode around. Just had a wonderful relaxing time.I like the Cascade resort, because it is tucked away in it's own secluded area, not in town in near the hustle and bustle. I hope they continue with their summer specials!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie J, Guest Relations Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hello Barb C,
Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent girls getaway at Vail Cascade. We're very pleased to hear you and your daughter enjoyed our setting, amenities and rooms. We are finding more and more Colorado residents who are discovering us, like you did. Hope the word spreads, and thanks again for helping let others know to check us out. Hope to see you and your entire family again this summer. If you think our guest rooms are nice, you should check out our condos and vacation homes!
Katie Johnson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have stayed at the Vail Cascade many times and the experience gets better each time. The significant upgrades are noticeable throughout the property. The service is impeccable. Great amenities. Make sure you get a mountain view room.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms! Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie J, Guest Relations Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Travlynn,
Wow, what a great review! Thank you for your 5-star recognition. Coming from a loyal guest, we truly appreciate your feedback. Our associates truly provide service from the heart and want to make a meaningful difference in the lives of our guests. Your review is a testament to that. We hope to see you again this summer when the temps in Phoenix get too unbearable – the flowers are in bloom, the weather is perfect and the activities are limitless.
Katie Johnson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed from 6/26-6/28 for my daughters wedding. The entire staff was so nice and made sure everything was handled to perfection. I will highly recommend Vail Cascade to all my friends. I will definitely go back! I can't wait!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie J, Guest Relations Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Mamaseeta4,
First of all, let me take a minute to congratulate you on your daughter’s wedding! We are truly honored to have been a part of this special occasion. It is a privilege to hear the event was perfect and that you would recommend Vail Cascade. That’s music to our ears! Thank you for choosing Vail Cascade for such a memorable event – we would love to see you, your family and your daughter return again for another memory-making experience!
Katie Johnson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel has beautiful views of Gore creek and a great bike/walking path you can use to go into Vail. They also provide a shuttle to drop or pick you up for free. The room was well appointed, but the balcony railing paint was almost all chipped off.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the creek on an upper floor. The ones on the Vail side are away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie J, Guest Relations Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear C G,
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate hearing feedback from our guests and we’re pleased to hear you enjoyed our location, trails and rooms! Hope to see you again!
Katie Johnson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vail Cascade Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Cascade Resort & Spa

Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#5 Spa Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#7 Family Hotel in Vail
#7 Business Hotel in Vail
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vail Cascade Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vail Cascade Resort and Spa features 280 comfortable hotel rooms and suites as well as condos and private homes. This Vail hotel has an outdoor pool and hot tubs, restaurants, room service, concierge services, spa, gym and a gift shop. Vail Cascade Resort is the perfect ski-in/ ski-out location with an on-site chairlift. Combine this with equipment rental and ski storage, skiing and snowboarding have never been more convenient. Other amenities include a 78,000 square foot spa and fitness center, complete with an indoor running track, tennis courts, yoga, pilates and fitness classes. If you need more space than a hotel room, consider staying at a Vail Cascade condo or private home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Groupon, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Vail Cascade Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Cascade Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.