We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for ski season” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vail Cascade Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vail Cascade Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Vail Cascade Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy up to 30% off
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great location for ski season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We love the Cascade during ski season. There is literally a lift at the hotel - this alone makes the hotel incredible. We've also stayed here during the summer, and we love lounging by the pool, taking in the scenery and listening to the creek roaring by. We love walking into Lionshead and Vail Village, but if you're not up for a a walk, it is easy to drive and park. There isn't much directly around the hotel, but the ski lift definitely makes up for it. Overall, we love the Cascade and will return in the summer and winter!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    271
    68
    30
    24
See reviews for
287
304
25
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I recently spent 4 nights at this hotel. We got a great rate online which was a very good value for what it was. However, the hotel is not worth the rack rates. The best thing about the hotel is that it has its own chair lift right out the door and also a great gym. The rooms on the other hand are very tired and in need of a face lift esp the bathrooms. The room also never felt very clean. There was an almond sitting under the table for the 4 days that we were there (need I say more)? The service was fair and the hotel had more of a convention center feel as opposed to a resort. The buffet breakfast was very average and missing the more expensive for items. The hotel is a good value at $250 a night but I would stay elsewhere for anything over that.

Room Tip: A creek facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear nyer_9,
Coming all the way from New York, we recognize the importance of providing a relaxing and enriching experience. We appreciate hearing your feedback and will use your comments as a learning opportunity. We are excited to announce that we are in the process of a multi-million dollar room renewal, which will debut in early summer. If your travels should bring you back to Vail, we would be honored to have you as our guests again.

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Vail Cascade is our favorite place to stay! Location is perfect for those who prefer to avoid lift lines and crowds. Easy ski-in, ski-out and storage could not be any closer to lift. Superior rooms are large enough for family of 4, but the Suites with separate sitting room provided a much more relaxing environment for all. Bathroom is very spacious and luxurious. Staff is very friendly and attentive to any request. The market cafe offers a nice variety of options. Vail Cascade is a great value when you can take advantage of specials and promotions!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Allison,
Thank you for selecting Vail Cascade for your spring break destination. Glad to hear you enjoyed our location, amenities, staff and promotions! We take great provide providing a Four-Diamond experience at a valuable price. Keep an eye out for our next email offer – you won’t be disappointed! We hope to see you again.
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Vail Cascade several times in the past. The hotel is rated 4 stars and it lives up to this rating. The rooms and services are excellent but pricey. We were at a convention in February and got a reduced rate of $450/night Plus resort fee for a room with a fireplace. Nice room but no balcony. The hotel restaurant was only good but again, pricey. Ski services always tried to be helpful and basically did a good job. If I had my choice, I would stay in Vail Village or Lionshead.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fireplace and balcony if possible. Slope side is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Scott - Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We’re pleased to review your feedback and would love to opportunity to have your business again.

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have stayed at the Cascade on two occasions. The staff is great and what makes this hotel excellent in my opinion. Although the hotel is located away from the main areas of Vail the shuttle service to Lionshead and Vail Village is efficient and makes it a non issue for me. If you do not want to ride a shuttle to get to Vail Village then you should consider another hotel. As far as the amenities my wife loves the Aria Spa and fitness center and the food is good. There is a heated pool and a couple different hot tubs. The setting on Gore Creek is beautiful. We will stay at the Cascade again if fortunate enough to return to Vail.

Room Tip: Rooms in the terrace wing are closer to the ski lift but are much further from all the amenities. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear wheels13,
We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your March visit and are a returning guest. We appreciate having your business and hope to see you again soon. Spring is here and the mountain will be blossoming into summer soon.
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed at Vail Cascade last month with some friends from Denver. In addition to being a place where the "locals" stay (which made it feel like a find), I really liked the following:
- Great, cozy lounge bar for apres ski
- Restuarant and casual store/cafe are both great onsight food options
- Very friendly/accomodating staff
- Fitness center is excellent
- Great Location
- Great price

The room was very nice, but not over the top. They were clean, had good products and nice bathrooms. We did not have a view.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the top floor with dormer windows. It was quaint, but had an attic feel and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear PJDNY,
Coming all the way from New York, we recognize the importance of providing a relaxing and enriching experience for you and your friends. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for the great review. As for your feedback on our guest rooms, we are in the process of a multi-million dollar renewal, which will debut in spring. If your travels should bring you back to Vail, we would be honored to have you as our guests again.

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Vail Cascade has reworked the rooms. We had a quiet -- clean -- up-to-date room for this stay. The stay was an excellent value at 250$ per night. The buffet breakfast is convenient, but pricey. The market store has a better priced breakfast with good selection.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear appnmike,
Thank you for your recent stay at Vail Cascade and your 5 star review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your positive comments on the rooms, breakfast and dining offerings. We hope to see you again!

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vail Cascade Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Cascade Resort & Spa

Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#3 Spa Hotel in Vail
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#8 Family Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vail Cascade Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vail Cascade Resort and Spa features 280 comfortable hotel rooms and suites as well as condos and private homes. This Vail hotel has an outdoor pool and hot tubs, restaurants, room service, concierge services, spa, gym and a gift shop. Vail Cascade Resort is the perfect ski-in/ ski-out location with an on-site chairlift. Combine this with equipment rental and ski storage, skiing and snowboarding have never been more convenient. Other amenities include a 78,000 square foot spa and fitness center, complete with an indoor running track, tennis courts, yoga, pilates and fitness classes. If you need more space than a hotel room, consider staying at a Vail Cascade condo or private home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Vail Cascade Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Cascade Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.