We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Quintessential Christmas Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vail Cascade Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Vail Cascade Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Vail Cascade Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More!
Ranked #9 of 33 hotels in Vail
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Quintessential Christmas Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have stayed at the Cascade in the past and have always been thrilled with the attentive staff and variety of amenities, especially the ski shop and chair lift right on property! However, we were a little apprehensive about traveling with our three children over Christmas, for fear we might miss out on some of the "Santa traditions". Little did we know that the Cascade had a ton of great activities planned for the holiday. One night we made gingerbread houses...and not with little graham crackers and some icing. These were real, good sized houses which gave us all plenty of room to be creative with all of the goodies the hotel provided. Another night the kids decorated stockings but the best part was that the hotel FILLED the stockings the three nights prior to Christmas with all kinds of great gifts and treats. The kids were THRILLED!! There were also movie nights planned, smores around the fire pit, an incredible magician, contests...the list goes on. We had asked the kids if they wanted to do some of the activities in Vail Village after skiing and every night they wanted to go back to the hotel and take part in their activities. We could not have scripted a better Christmas away from home!! The Cascade staff truly made it a special occasion for all of us! The Cascade will continue to be our resort of choice in Vail!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Kati from Atlanta,
Thank you for your 5-star review! What a privilege to read about your experience. The holidays are truly a magical time of year in Vail and from what it sounds like, your children were delighted with all the special events, activities and amenities that make Vail Cascade so unique. We take great pride in our annual Cascade Christmas celebration and are thrilled your family was a part of it. We hope your travels bring you back again this winter (or any time of year for that matter).
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    412
    205
    53
    26
    19
See reviews for
220
249
21
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conway, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

From the time you enter the property and see the roaring flames in the stone fireplace, you know it's something special. Spent three nights there in a king suite - very roomy with all the amenities. The parking was a reasonable walking distance and I was able to find a parking space near the entrance every time. The staff was very helpful, although the concierge did not have the updated information on the tube sledding (yes, you CAN make an advanced reservation now). The only improvements I would note are 1) improved signage (it's a very confusing property layout, with many twists and turns to the elevator for our wing - can't get to some rooms on the same floor without going through lobby, etc.) and 2) improved lighting for the outdoor hot tub entrances - it was hard to see where to put your key into the gate, it was so dark.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear SuePete,
Coming all the way from Arkansas, we greatly appreciate your business! Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed all the great amenities that make Vail Cascade so special. Thank you for sharing your feedback and recommendations. If it wasn’t for our guests, we would not be the hotel we are today. We are always looking for ways to make improvements so we appreciate your feedback. Thanks again for selecting Vail Cascade for you and your family’s visit to Colorado. We hope you return.
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Loved the lodge feel and charm of the place. My husband and I had always used the ski lift near the hotel when we came to vail. We then decided to book a family trip at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa and are going back a second time this winter. The food at their restaurant is also reasonable and tasted great! We also loved that their is a walking trail behind the hotel which follows the creek. We definitely recommend this hotel to our family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear JodesterF,
Thank you for your 5-star review! What a privilege to read about your experience. It sounds like you took advantage of all the amenities and offerings that we take great pride in. We’re delighted that you would recommend our hotel to your friends and family; that’s the best compliment we can receive. If you do decide to return this winter (or summer), please let me know how I can make your next Vail Cascade stay even more memorable.

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I visited the resort with my two children, ages 10 and 12 in Dec-Jan. This was our fifth time. Our experience keeps bringing us back. Some relevant facts:

1. Personnel: best asset. From arrival to departure; from the entry to the front desk; from the restaurant to the ski valet, everyone tries to help with a smile. Ask for anything and someone will make it happen.
2. Ski experience: the hotel has its own lift (#20). It is an 8 minute ride to a path connecting to chair #26 and on. Take the chair back or ski back to the hotel via a picturesque path.
There is a ticket office at the base of the lift. Ski instructors will meet you at the hotel if you ask.

Charter Sports will fit you with all the equipment. You will pick it up in the morning and the ski valet will return boots and skis/boards to the appropiate location, ready for the next morning.
Effortless.
3. Food/bar: there is a nice bar with fireplace and nice windows. Atawater restaurant serves B/L/D. Breakfast has a buffet choice ($24 adults/$10 children+tax). Pretty pricey overall.
There is a cafe with sodas, wine, beer, sandwiches, fruit, etc. Reasonable.
4. Pool/Hot tubs: one heated pool ad multiple tubs. Very nice and not crowded.
5. Kids entretainment: one WII console/TV. There was a larger center next to the Spa but it is not there any longer. They could do better considering that so many families come with their children.
6. Housekeeping: we had some minor issues: cups left, no tissues, time they came, etc. Rapidly corrected.

I already made reservations for December 2013.
Cascade remains our choice destination. You will not go wrong.

Room Tip: Away from elevators and high traffic hallways
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear MOKHouston,
Thank you for your comprehensive review on TripAdvisor. I am more than delighted to hear you’ll be returning to stay with us again in December! Until you personally visit Vail Cascade, you really don’t know how special it is. It sounds like you and your children enjoyed all the amenities that make Vail Cascade so unique. Thanks for sharing this great review! I had the honor of sharing it with my staff and they were all glowing with pride. If there’s anything I can do to make your next vacation more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

A great price for a great location. My family and I stayed at the Vail Cascade Resort for about a week over Christmas. The proximity to the chairlift was great, and made for hassle-free mornings. Ski concierge was also great, as we never had to worry about the logistics of skiing. A lift-ticket window, rental and storage was all located at the hotel. This is definitely a family-oriented hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello WhitneyJW,
We’re delighted to hear you and your family experienced all the amenities and services that Vail Cascade is recognized for. We realize skiing with children can be a challenge, but with our on-property chairlift and ski services, we do our best to ensure our guests get on the slopes hassle-free. If you enjoyed winter, your kids will love summer! Dive in movies, s’mores, boat racing, hiking….shall I say more?

Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. If your travels bring you back to Colorado, please let me know and I would be happy to make your next Vail visit even more memorable.

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The staff was very friendly. There were a lot of trainees because the next week was the week of Christmas Eve, however, this didn't really affect us. We rented skis and ski boots at Charter Sports, on site at the hotel, and the staff was really great. The wait staff at the Atwater were super friendly. The room had an amazing view of the mountains--it looked like it was straight out of a postcard. This was truly a memorable experience for both me and my fiancee and I will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 417. It was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Haydeej,
Thank you for sharing your Vail Cascade experience on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you selected Vail Cascade as your vacation destination, especially considering you came all the way out from Florida! We hope you return again soon and enjoy another memorable experience.

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Was there over holidays. Friendly staff, but management was disappointing. We had clothes stolen from our room and reported it to management, who said the wood "look into it and get back to us", thought they never did, even after we made a second inquiry. Also, dispensers in shower were all broken. We reported it, but they did nothing to fix them.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the ski shop which was very noisy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vail Cascade Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Cascade Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Vail Cascade Resort
Vail Cascade Hotel
Cascade Resort
Vail Cascade
Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#5 Family Hotel in Vail
#6 Business Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vail Cascade Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vail Cascade Resort and Spa features 280 comfortable hotel rooms and suites as well as condos and private homes. This Vail hotel has an outdoor pool and hot tubs, restaurants, room service, concierge services, spa, gym and a gift shop. Vail Cascade Resort is the perfect ski-in/ ski-out location with an on-site chairlift. Combine this with equipment rental and ski storage, skiing and snowboarding have never been more convenient. Other amenities include a 78,000 square foot spa and fitness center, complete with an indoor running track, tennis courts, yoga, pilates and fitness classes. If you need more space than a hotel room, consider staying at a Vail Cascade condo or private home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Expedia, Priceline, Amex, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Vail Cascade Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.