We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The roost is the worst” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Roost Lodge

Roost Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Roost Lodge to your Saves list
Roost Lodge
1783 North Frontage Road, Vail, CO 81657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Vail
A TripAdvisor Member
“The roost is the worst”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2006

when we arrived at the roost it was at night so the hotel looked ok since it was snowing and all we cared about was getting some sleep. when we woke up i thought we were at the wrong place. the room was a dump, smelled like lysol and the carpet felt slimey. My girlfriend and I have been telemark skiing all over the world and we have stayed in questionable places in europe and new zealand. This place for the price was a total ripoff. the outdoor pool was ice cold and it was disgusting. the whirlpool was a floating cesspool with two guys in there that looked as if they were being eaten alive by the chlorine. Vail is a decent place to ski. the roost should be knocked down and never remembered.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    17
    10
    19
See reviews for
5
19
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2006

This hotel is horrible they over charge and dont keep their word. They have kids in the lobby and employees that you cant even under stand! Juan The manager is a horrible manager he is very rude and lacks in customer service! Dont consider this hotel! They are a scam!

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2006

If you love to visit Vail for skiing or any thing outdoors, you may enjoy saving money by staying at The Roost Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2005

we went to the roost lodge twice before when the previous owners run it. It was brilliant. Went back a year later, sooo dirty left the first night, dirty sheets, dirty floor, dirty drawings on the windows(which could be seen because of the cold condensation on the windows)dirty floors, didn,'t bother to check out the bathroom, scared what we might find!!!!
do your self a favour if youv've hired a car go and stay in an appartment in the avon lodge or the comfort inn at avon 10 minutes down the 1-70 by beaver creek!

  • Stayed February 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2005

Where to start. The thermostat would not turn down. It was sweltering. The door and windows had to be open to keep from melting. but you couldnt do that for long because 30 yards away is I-70 which sounded like a freight train and an airport runway together all night long. the (ahem, cough) food in the morning is nothing but juice and or coffee with crappy little danishes. It was also dirty and needed a paint job badly AND dont even think about having 3 or 4 people in the rooms-no matter what they say. this place was terrible and i will never go back. please do yourself a favor and drive a little further to eagle or backtrack to silverthorne/frisco. BUT, it is the cheapest place to stay in the vail valley-so if you are cheap here, it sucks to be you.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2005

The Roost was by far the cheapest place to stay within a reasonable distance to Vail and the village (which is to say that it's still WAY too expensive for the quality). It's old and kind of decrepit - -the mini hot tub outside had hair and funk floating in it and the pool (encased in a falling-apart greenhouse-like structure with fake flowers all over) was pretty gross as well. The room had mold crawling all along the ceiling and nothing looked or felt particularly clean. The girls in the front office were downright rude, at check in and check out, and the "continental breakfast" isn't worth waking up for. However, it was a cheap place to stay, the people we met in the hot tub were awesome and there's a free shuttle to the mountain. It's a relatively affordable place to lay your head after (or before) a great day on the slopes, just remember to bring your own pillow!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2004

This place rocked. I was 17 (Back in winter 98) and a bus picked a buddy and me up from the Denver airport. Man we didn't know what we were in for. We stopped at the Marriot, then the Ritz, then the Hyatt and so on. The Roost was the last stop, and man we're we in for a treat. The Roost is where you want to be if you're an underage aspiring ski bum. If you don't have a problem walking a mile on I-70 in a blizzard to rock a fake ID in a mini mart only to take back a case of Natural Light to your cozy room and put it in the bathtub full of snow - Then the roost is your place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roost Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roost Lodge

Address: 1783 North Frontage Road, Vail, CO 81657
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roost Lodge has been Vail's most affordable lodging alternative for over 30 years. Free Continental Breakfast. Free Wireless Internet. Located just 1.5 miles from Vail Village on the Town of Vail's Free Bus Route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Tingo so you can book your Roost Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roost Hotel Vail
Roost Motel Vail
Roost Lodge Vail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roost Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.