We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Ski Area with Diverse Terrain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vail / Beaver Creek Resort

Vail / Beaver Creek Resort
Vail, CO 81658
970-496-4800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 Attractions in Vail
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the premier ski areas in the world, Vail and Beaver Creek offer excellent skiing and many other attractions.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Large Ski Area with Diverse Terrain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

From a skier's perspective, Beaver Creek is actually three areas: Beaver Creek, Bachelor Gulch, and Arrowhead. The latter two cater mostly to beginner and intermediate level riders. All have a fair number of trails which are kept groomed. One part of Beaver Creek, called Grouse Mountain, is exclusively for expert riders (black and double black diamond). The rest of Beaver Creek is a mix of all difficulty levels, with mostly beginner to intermediate terrain.

The resort itself is accessed either by shuttle from Avon, by lift from the Westin Resort in Avon, or by driving up for some very expensive parking. The parking is really for those lodging at the resort. The Beaver Creek Resort has numerous shops and some excellent fine art galleries. Most everything up there is quite pricy, especially the bars and restaurants.

This review is focused on our winter visit. We have also been here in the summer, when the number of different recreational activities is much greater. Overall, this is a great family oriented resort for those willing to pay the prices to be here.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    20
    7
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beaver Creek Blessing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

After a difficult winter in our home town, I thought my husband was crazy when he suggested a trip to Beaver Creek Colorado. Now, I think he's a genius. We stayed at the highlands, Slopeside in a beautiful condo that was perfect for our group. The condo was well equipped with 4 bedrooms, each with its own bath, a well- appointed kitchen, dining area and luxurious living room. We skied right out the door to the lifts and dried our wet boots with the built- in boot drying tubes in the condo. A washer, dryer, iron and ironing board was available right in the condo. Hot coffee was always available in the lobby and the skiing was by far amazing. The Beaver Creek shopping area provided a variety of shopping and restaurants and figure skating right in the middle of it all. The Beaver Creek gym and spa were a welcome treat and at night entertainment abounds. This is a place that adults,teens and kids will love. There is so much to do in this pristine piece of heaven!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
1 review
“"Great day on Vail"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

A perfect day on the slopes with fresh powder and great weather. I don't think I took the same lift more than twice all day. The bowls on the back were awesome and the kids had a blast at Ski School (thanks Lisa at school check in)!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A wasted day”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Vail is beautiful. However, for expert skiers on a day without fresh snow to ski the bowls, this is a waste of money. We skied for two hours and left. Too many novice skiers and very long lift lines. Pick another resort if you are a good skier.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ah Vail - nothing else like it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

As always, Vail mountain is Epic. Lift lines well managed, incredible snow, well worth the outrageous lift ticket price. Hey, you get what you pay for! Only negative was Tanner at Mid-Vail manning the Latin station - Dude, check your attitude!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vail / Beaver Creek Resort also viewed

 

Been to Vail / Beaver Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vail / Beaver Creek Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.