We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STUNNING VIEWS & GREAT COFFEE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Cat Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Twin Lakes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Cat Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Black Cat Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
250 Reva Ridge Road, Twin Lakes, CO 81251   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Twin Lakes B&B and Inns
Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“STUNNING VIEWS & GREAT COFFEE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I spent a night at the Black Cat B&B. I wish we could have stayed longer. Ric is a wonderful host and the B&B is in a spectacular location with straight on views across the lakes to the mountains. We stayed in Room 2 (there are only two so sign up early). It was very quiet and waking up in the morning to the view sent me running for my camera. It reminded us very much of New Zealand which we had visited earlier this year. And then there was the coffee and breakfast. Best coffee in any B&B we've visited - and we've visited quite a few.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
50
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent one night at the Black Cat B&B in June 2013 as we were on our way from the Winter Park area down to Colorado Springs. The Black Cat sits in a quiet area high on a wooded ridge with an incredible view of the lake. There are only two guest rooms, which may make it hard to get a reservation, but ensures that you won’t need to worry about noise or crowds. The rooms though not overly large are furnished nicely with everything you might need and are immaculate. Ric made a delicious breakfast that got us ready for a morning of hiking along the lake.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our favorite part of our stay was sitting out on the deck, staring at the incredible sky, mountains and the placid lake below them. Ahhh.... But there are many other features that make this gem of a place worth a look. The house is less than 2 miles off a main highway, and yet, it is secluded from other properties, high up on a hill. It gives the feeling of owning the whole hillside and the lake below. The two guest rooms are newly built or refurbished. Everything is beautiful, clean and first-rate. Ric is a great host and prepared magnificent breakfasts for us, with lovely classical/quasi-classical music playing in the background. The house is slightly over an hour's drive to Aspen (over Independence Pass--open only in summer) and we enjoyed going over to the Aspen Music Festival each day. The only drawback was that the room was quite warm when we arrived late in the evening and there seemed to be no way to cool down the room before we wanted to sleep. It made sleeping a bit difficult. The second night, we arrived "home" early enough to open the windows and door long enough to cool down the room. If we're ever back in this area, we will stay again. Thanks, Ric, for a lovely, relaxing, inspirational place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

if you're in the Leadvillle-Twin Lakes area, I highly recommend staying at this charming inn! The rooms are bright and sparkling clean, and afford exceptional views of the lakes and surrounding mountains, including a deck from which you can admire the sunset and occasional wildlife. There are only two guestrooms, so it's quiet and you have a feeling of privacy. Ric is a great host - friendly and helpful (and an inspired storyteller!). One of the pleasures of staying here is enjoying a leisurely breakfast and conversing with Ric and and the other guest(s) before heading out for the day. The inn is minutes from a number of hiking trails, a scenic 20-minute drive into Leadville, and less than an hour from Aspen. The room rate is great value for your money. Some of the other accommodations in the Leadville area can be "funky" to say the least, so if you want a guaranteed comfortable stay, I highly recommend the Black Cat B&B.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms with shared deck, each has gorgeous view and private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Black Cat for a night after hiking Mt. Elbert nearby. The accommodations were simple but adequate, and the room was very clean. The mini fridge was a nice touch.
The view from the rooms/porch was spectacular!
Ric and his wife made excellent hosts and the homemade waffles in the morning were incredible; also the coffee was great.
Ric gave us a couple options of what we could do to spend a little bit of time in the twin lakes area. We decided to do a little hike around the lake that ended near an old homestead and lake resort from the late 19th century. The trail was beautiful and not too difficult after having hiked a 14er the previous day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying with Ric at Black Cat during a short jaunt to Twin Lakes this week. We have property up there and like to try out the local BNBs each time we visit. This was our first visit to Black Cat and we will return. As with all of the other reviews, we would agree that the place is immaculate, the setting incomparable, the breakfast incredible and the host (Ric) wonderfully inviting and entertaining. Ric had fantastic stories of his life to share, and provided wonderful information about the area. Our one and only suggestion would be to include either ceiling fans or room fans for the rooms in the summer. Although the temperature dipped to the mid-fifties through the night, the rooms face west and were heated to nearly 79 degrees as the sun set through the evening. There didn't seem to be much breeze to cool the room prior to going to bed, so it was pretty hot. Other than that, it was awesome. We hope to connect with Ric and his wonderful BNB the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Both rooms are identical and offer the same wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Black Cat Bed and Breakfast was a splendid stay! After camping and hiking Mt. Elbert the day before my wife and I were ready for some relaxation at this wonderful B&B. Ric and his wife have a wonderful place nestled on the hillside that overlooks Twin Lakes. The bedroom we stayed in that overlooked the lake was very cozy. We were extremely satisfied after hiking the mountain to have such a wonderful bed and pillows to sleep on. The room was also supplied a little mini fridge and a TV with Direct TV with movie channels so we could enjoy a movie once we were all tucked in. The morning breakfast was fantastic. The coffee and french toast were alone worth the visit. Overall, we were extremely happy with the stay and will be staying again if were are in the area.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with either one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Cat Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Cat Bed and Breakfast

Address: 250 Reva Ridge Road, Twin Lakes, CO 81251
Location: United States > Colorado > Twin Lakes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Twin Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Cat is a new, small B&B in the prettiest spot in Colorado overlooking Twin Lakes and several mountains including Mt. Elbert. Private baths and private entrance for each room. High speed internet and wireless with HDTV and DVD player in each room with DirecTV satellite and HBO. We now take Visa, Mastercard, checks and Paypal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Cat Bed And Breakfast Twin Lakes, Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Cat Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.