We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trail's End Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trail's End Motel
Save
You added Trail's End Motel to your Saves list
616 East Main Street, Trinidad, CO 81082   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Trinidad
Glendale, Arizona
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Small but enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Particularly since I was traveling solo, the room was fine size, but I could see for more then that, pretty tight. If you want basic and reasonable, it's fine and I'd still prefer this over chains that offer "amenities" and charge it too. Host did have to come and plug in the fridge. To me, those things should be set up and ready to roll. It was clean. I liked all the wood in their lobby. I was a bit cautious traveling here alone. A great thrift store across the street.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
16
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were driving from Durango to Dodge City and went via Trinidad. What an interesting town. We wished we could have spent more time there. Trails End Motel was cheap, the room was clean as was the bathroom but the room was quite small and there were no coffee making facilities which we have had in most other motels we have stayed in. For one night it is a good option. There is a great diner about 50 yards from the motel which served great cheap food. It is a nice walk from the motel into the main part of town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The owners Jim and Renee were excellent to work with. I housed my crew for some fieldwork and this place was perfect. The rooms are updated, contain fridges, and we each had a queen sized bed to sleep in. They also have a grill, so we were able to save a lot of money by cooking our own dinner instead of going out every night. They were very accommodating and are just good people. The location was perfect, because it is within walking distance to the downtown restaurants, shops, and museums. The rooms were clean and perfect for what we needed. Anytime I need to do work in Trinidad, I'll stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I would recommend this family-owned and reasonably priced hotel over somewhere like the Holiday Inn, where they charge more but offer little more than name recognition. Okay, and the rooms are nicer and bigger at a chain hotel, but if you're staying for just a night, this place is fine. It's right down the street from Rino's Italian restaurant, another decent place to visit in Trinidad. I would certainly not stay at the Trails End if you're traveling alone; the area is pretty sketchy and I'm not sure what kind of security there is. For an inexpensive, clean, and very comfortable night's sleep, though, this place fits the bill.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spicewood, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way north and found the price very affordable. The room was small, but clean, and looks as though it's been recently renovated. There were several drawbacks, however. The gal working the ofc didn't know the wifi key and it took about 20 min. for her to figure it out. There are lots of electrical cords plugged into just a few outlets and I'm glad we didn't have small children with us because it would have been easy to trip over them. Also, the motel ofc doesn't open until 10am and that's where the ice machine is located. It is conveniently located to Main St.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW MEXICO
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed in room One with my family nice big room with a deck for my family to enjoy. The flowers and birds were a plus..I will always stay in this CLEAN ROOM...very nice. The lady that helped me Marlene was a nice women. Good staff.. after all its family .

Room Tip: ask for room 1 or 14 nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This motel is the best kept secret in Trinidad. We called the motel before leaving Texas and knew from the conversation alone that this was the place for us to stay. The American owners who live on the premise are down to earth people and they are proud of their business and it shows. After a long drive we found their motel comfortable with a clean remodeled room, privacy, minimal noise, secure, close to attractions and resonably priced. All this adds up to a good night's sleep, that's what it's all about anyway! We were not disappointed. Give them a try, I believe you will not be disappointed.either

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trail's End Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trail's End Motel

Address: 616 East Main Street, Trinidad, CO 81082
Location: United States > Colorado > Trinidad
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Trail`s End Hotel Trinidad
Trails End Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trail's End Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.