We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Luxury but not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trail's End Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trail's End Motel
Save
You added Trail's End Motel to your Saves list
616 East Main Street, Trinidad, CO 81082   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Trinidad
tulsa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not Luxury but not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I would recommend this family-owned and reasonably priced hotel over somewhere like the Holiday Inn, where they charge more but offer little more than name recognition. Okay, and the rooms are nicer and bigger at a chain hotel, but if you're staying for just a night, this place is fine. It's right down the street from Rino's Italian restaurant, another decent place to visit in Trinidad. I would certainly not stay at the Trails End if you're traveling alone; the area is pretty sketchy and I'm not sure what kind of security there is. For an inexpensive, clean, and very comfortable night's sleep, though, this place fits the bill.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
16
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spicewood, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way north and found the price very affordable. The room was small, but clean, and looks as though it's been recently renovated. There were several drawbacks, however. The gal working the ofc didn't know the wifi key and it took about 20 min. for her to figure it out. There are lots of electrical cords plugged into just a few outlets and I'm glad we didn't have small children with us because it would have been easy to trip over them. Also, the motel ofc doesn't open until 10am and that's where the ice machine is located. It is conveniently located to Main St.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW MEXICO
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed in room One with my family nice big room with a deck for my family to enjoy. The flowers and birds were a plus..I will always stay in this CLEAN ROOM...very nice. The lady that helped me Marlene was a nice women. Good staff.. after all its family .

Room Tip: ask for room 1 or 14 nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This motel is the best kept secret in Trinidad. We called the motel before leaving Texas and knew from the conversation alone that this was the place for us to stay. The American owners who live on the premise are down to earth people and they are proud of their business and it shows. After a long drive we found their motel comfortable with a clean remodeled room, privacy, minimal noise, secure, close to attractions and resonably priced. All this adds up to a good night's sleep, that's what it's all about anyway! We were not disappointed. Give them a try, I believe you will not be disappointed.either

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a "mom & pop" owned motel. Good Value. rooms are small. With a queen sized bed, not much room to manuver. Many extension cords used throughout the room... probably won't pass code, but I had no problems. There is an electric oil-filled heater in the room that will heat the room, but not the bathroom. We were promised that boiler heat strips would be turned on at dark, but if they were, we never got any heat. It was cold in the bathroom and it took a while to get hot water. I would probably stay there again to help out the locals, but my Uncle and Aunt who had a separate room said never again. too cold for them

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Clean, cozy, lots of character, nice people own/run it. Don't be fooled by the worn out street sign. The rooms have been updated and are small but very nice. I did not have a problem with the couple of extension cords that gave me lots of outlets for my laptop, shaver, and iPhone. I see someone else did but they must be whiners.

Room Tip: #4 was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guthrie,Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Had not been to Colorado for a couple of years.Looked for a place of of the interstate to stay.
Found this motel and good reviews so decided to try it. Price was right stayed two nights for
what the price of one would have been on the interstate chain motels. Big screen T.V- micowave-frig. Bathroom had been remodeled. It and the room was clean-bed was comfortable.
Sat on the front porch and watch the birds early in the morning-cool enough for a jacket.
We went on to Alamosa and took the steam train ride back to La Veta. Just enjoyed this stay
in Trinidad. Plan on doing it again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trail's End Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trail's End Motel

Address: 616 East Main Street, Trinidad, CO 81082
Location: United States > Colorado > Trinidad
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Trail`s End Hotel Trinidad
Trails End Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trail's End Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.