We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Family Run Motel - Small Rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trail's End Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trail's End Motel
Save
You added Trail's End Motel to your Saves list
616 East Main Street, Trinidad, CO 81082   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Trinidad
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice Family Run Motel - Small Rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a "mom & pop" owned motel. Good Value. rooms are small. With a queen sized bed, not much room to manuver. Many extension cords used throughout the room... probably won't pass code, but I had no problems. There is an electric oil-filled heater in the room that will heat the room, but not the bathroom. We were promised that boiler heat strips would be turned on at dark, but if they were, we never got any heat. It was cold in the bathroom and it took a while to get hot water. I would probably stay there again to help out the locals, but my Uncle and Aunt who had a separate room said never again. too cold for them

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
16
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Clean, cozy, lots of character, nice people own/run it. Don't be fooled by the worn out street sign. The rooms have been updated and are small but very nice. I did not have a problem with the couple of extension cords that gave me lots of outlets for my laptop, shaver, and iPhone. I see someone else did but they must be whiners.

Room Tip: #4 was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guthrie,Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Had not been to Colorado for a couple of years.Looked for a place of of the interstate to stay.
Found this motel and good reviews so decided to try it. Price was right stayed two nights for
what the price of one would have been on the interstate chain motels. Big screen T.V- micowave-frig. Bathroom had been remodeled. It and the room was clean-bed was comfortable.
Sat on the front porch and watch the birds early in the morning-cool enough for a jacket.
We went on to Alamosa and took the steam train ride back to La Veta. Just enjoyed this stay
in Trinidad. Plan on doing it again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in room 4 on 8/25/12. TINY! The queen bed was shoved into the corner so that we had to crawel over each other to get of it! The sheets were clean but so worn the elastic had lost its stretch so that the corners of the sheets came up, very irritating! The bed was hard and uncomfortable. No place to put your suit case except in the middle of the floor. Very long wait for hot water. The pillows were flat and useless. No place in the bathroom to set your stuff. The air conditioner was on all night and never was able to cool the room. No coffee or iron in the room. I will say the room was clean. It was such an awful nights sleep we got up and left @ 6:00 A.M. For $50, I guess we got what we paid for, not much.

Room Tip: If you are trying to save a buck its doable. If you have a choice I prefer Best Western.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Had read mixed reviews and decided to take the risk. It wad half the price of the best western took room one from previous review and what a winner clean renovated look out window and all u see is a pine tree with lots of birds. Some traffic noise but not bad. Nothing fancy. No pool. But family oriented clean price us right overall pleasant surprise it has made our choice to stay here insted of walsenberg on our travels

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovington, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband and I were on vacation and picked Trails End Motel from reviews on the net and because it was within walking distance to the downtown area where there are lots of great restaurants and bars. The folks that own the motel are so friendly, we felt like family when we left. The rooms are newly remodeled and the beds were really comfortable. We visited with the owners on the deck at the office in the afternoon, played guitar, sang songs and continued visiting into the night. It was wonderful!! This was the best place we stayed during our trip to Wyoming. We even stayed there on our return trip home. We will go back next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

we stayed there for a week in 2 different rooms. first room was really bad not worth the price of 65 a night. the wait for hot water was 10 minutes, and considering los animas county was in a drought really bad news. the room was undergoing "renovations" and nothing was working including the air conditioner which was unplugged and there was no plug the cord would reach to. everything in the room was on extension cords, very dangerous. was finally moved into the "best room" newly renovated, same thing, extension cords everywhere. could not park in front of room because of nonworking truck parked in that space. the kicker was the last day while packing noticed items missing from luggage. was told by renee that money value of items would be returned and staff member was fired over this. RIGHT! no money back, and family member saw same "fired" employee still working there. so good news nice comfortable beds, bad news, traffic noises, no hot water, no parking spaces, overcharged for rooms, ripped off by staff, oh and renee and jim have been trying to sell motel for several years with no buyers? wonder why.

Room Tip: go to the chain motels for a better experience. for same per night price you get a pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trail's End Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trail's End Motel

Address: 616 East Main Street, Trinidad, CO 81082
Location: United States > Colorado > Trinidad
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Trail`s End Hotel Trinidad
Trails End Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trail's End Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.