We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9800 Santa Fe Trail Dr, Trinidad, CO 81082 (Formerly Budget Summit Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Trinidad
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I'm not sure I would stay here again. Checkin took at least 30-40 minutes and I was the only person checking in. At first she acted like I didn't have reservation and attempted to charge me a different price than what I had booked online. The room was large and roomy, good shower and nice TV. Internet was NOT. I tried it when I arrived and the next morning also. Very frustrating. Breakfast was very sparing although they did offer hot waffles, bagels juice and coffee. The coffee tasted very good. The owner was very courteous and friendly, a big plus.

But for me with the WIFI not working and not getting the mountain view room promised when booking and acting like they could not find reservation. I'd probably drive into town, first exit there is a hotel that is comparable for $42.00 a night plus its right in the middle of Trinidad.

Room Tip: If you book a mountain view be sure you get one, the view is awesome if you can see out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
5
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

My lady is a traveling therapist, from experience in many other states, even places that are about run into the ground are charging approx $200-300 more for a monthly rate...Usually employing people that don't belong in a customer service position. The staff at the Derrick was great, very helpful in any way they could.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

staff was helpful you can get one bed or two beds at the same price . rooms are clean comfortable and affordable . guest laundry available worked for us.

Room Tip: non smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

the exterior sign on this motel says "yes" but everything about our stay was a "no" - uncomfortable PLASTIC COVERED bed, grumpy staff, nasty warning signs everywhere, minimal breakfast. We felt tolerated, not welcome. "Lobby" was cluttered. Stinky horse corral next door! Nearby Mexican restaurant was great, so the evening wasn't a total bust. Would not stay there again or recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

Stayed here for a family wedding. The rooms were clean & worked well for our family. The rate was good, rooms were clean & staff was helpfull. Everything I need in a place to stay the night.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

we shopped around on a fixed income for a vacation we were passing thru and tired.
tried a few other motel prices were out of budget need something clean and we just wanted to sleep get up in morning and leave. there view of the mountains in the morning were awsome,as we set in there lobby all open glass and just enjoyed the view as we had raisin bread toasted and a fresh cup of coffee before we hit the road.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, CO
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

We booked 6 rooms for a family event. Several of us arived a day earlier than others checking into 3 rooms. All 3 rooms had BED BUGS. The manager refused to aknowledge the bed bugs. My cousin took pictures of the bed bugs on the bed. All of the rooms were cancelled. The following day, My aunt and uncle tried to check in and were told all rooms were cancelled because the some people complained about bugs. He told them, "We don't have bugs", just as my cousins were walking in the lobby door to show them were we got other rooms. My cousin showed my aunt and uncle the pictures he took of the bed bugs. We couldn't get out of there quick enough.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 9800 Santa Fe Trail Dr, Trinidad, CO 81082 (Formerly Budget Summit Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Trinidad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodeway Inn in Trinidad, Colorado is an economy motel with a great view of the Spanish Peaks and Sangre de Cristo mountain range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Summit Hotel
Summit Trinidad
Trinidad Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.