We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far better than what I expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3130 Santa Fe Trail Dr, Trinidad, CO 81082   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Trinidad
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Far better than what I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was the first of several Holiday Inn's we visited on our travels. It really is in the middle of nowhere, but just off the highway. Didn't really have great hopes, but was pleasantly surprised. The room had everything you needed except for a safe. It had a great little bar with very good staff, we had a nice 'pub meal' there with good beer.

For an overnight stop it was great. We also had breakfast which was fine.

Room Tip: You can have front or back view, do not expect a 'sea view', it's either highway or car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan A, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Tim-Jamie,
I would to thank you for your stay at our Holiday Inn & Suites in Trinidad, CO. We're glad to hear we went beyond your expectations in providing a great stay , as well as a "nice pub meal" and good breakfast from our Peaks Restaurant within our hotel. We're glad to always go above and beyond expectations for any stay to be fantastic! We hope to see you again sometime in your future travels.

Nathan A.
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    42
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
38
37
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We normally stay at La Quinta when driving back and forth between Denver and Santa Fe, but the La Quinta was full so we headed to the Holiday Inn and Suites. The first thing I noticed when stepping into the lobby was a faint foul smell. To me it smelled of dirty laundry. Otherwise we had no issues. The room was very clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear spazgirl,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

You expect a certain level of quality at a low price at the Holiday Inn and this hotel provided that. not fancy of new, but nice and clean and comfortable. Staff was nice and helpful. Food in the restaurant was not the best, but not any less than I expected. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan A, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Rebecca G,
Thank you for your stay with us at the Holiday Inn & Suites in Trinidad, CO. We're glad we can offer a reasonable priced, neat, and clean hotel. Having a restaurant is nice to have when you just want stay in, and relax. I'm sorry the food wasn't to your liking, but glad it wasn't down right awful. When and if you stay with again, if something from the hotel and/or restaurant is not right; please let us know so we can give our best to try and make it better.

Nathan A.
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Arkansas
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We had a wonderful experience here. The service was top notch and our room was very clean. We were very weary coming in from 14 hours of driving and this place hit the spot. The restaurant was very accommodating and had good food. Definitely a great stopping point on your trip!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan A, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Lfferg,
Thank you for taking the time to survey your recent stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites in Trinidad, Colorado. We're glad to hear that everything was to your satisfaction and liking in the hotel, as well as the on-site Peaks Restaurant. We look forward to your next stay with us, and being that home away from home.

Sincerely,

Nathan A.
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here passing through for a night. It was a typical Holiday Inn, nice and clean. The staff was friendly too. We didn't want to get out so we ate at the restaurant downstairs and it was good. No big deal, but decent. Our room was clean. We did have a problem where someone was smoking in their room next to us and the smell was real strong. The front desk handled it very nicely and took care of it. Also the walls seemed a little thin, as we could here the people above us and beside us, but it is bearable. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor so you don't have to listen to anybody above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan A, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Emyd123,
I want to express my appreciation for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites in Trinidad, CO. We're glad it was decent stay for you all in the hotel and restaurant, but sorry you had the one issue come up. I'm glad to hear my staff took care of it right away, and was friendly on the plus side as well. We look forward to your next stay with us, and going from decent to excellent!

Sincerely,

Nathan A.
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

They will charge you a fee of $150.00 for smoking in the room even though we didn't smoke in their room, it already smelled but I was tired so I didn't complain when I checked in at 2am! For 1 night I was charge over $300.00 for a crappy stinking room, the bed skirt was nasty with white stains on it which was easy to see since it was black, there isn't any water pressure so don't even think about trying to get the shampoo out of your hair! When I was leaving the hotel I almost cut my face on the strips of metal they have sticking out on the outside of the building walls! This hotel ruined my trip to Trinidad so I'm giving everyone a heads up before they ruin your trip too!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear HT1983,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered during your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

For the most part this hotel was just fine for a night. I would prefer to give it 3 1/2 stars but cannot. Clean beds and high ceilings in the room. Clean bathroom however there was a funny smell - we were not sure if it was the water itself?

Of course it would be much preferable if free breakfast was provided, but it is not.

We may or may not stay here if in the area again, but there was nothing particularity bad about this hotel.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan A, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Butterfly_n1,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at the Trinidad, CO Holiday Inn & Suites. Feedback of the room's cleanliness is good to hear, but I apologize for the issue you had with a smell from the bathroom. This will address with housekeeping to prevent it from being a bigger issue. Also apologize for no complimentary breakfast. Holiday Inn Express & Suites offer that kind of breakfast option, and Holiday Inn & Suites offer a full service restaurant on-site.

Once again thank you for the feedback, sorry for the issues you had, and ask that you give us another opportunity to accommodate to make it a wonderful stay.

Sincerely,

Nathan A.
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad

Address: 3130 Santa Fe Trail Dr, Trinidad, CO 81082
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Newest Hotel & Suites in Beautiful Trinidad, Colorado Ideally situated in the foothills of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains near Trinidad State Junior College and historic, downtown Trinidad, the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad offers deluxe accommodations near popular Trinidad attractions and leading southern Colorado businesses. While lodging in Trinidad, Colorado, hotel guests enjoy visiting the Trinidad History Museum and the historic El Corazon de Trinidad downtown district. Outdoor recreation at Trinidad Lake State Park, the Trinidad Riverwalk and Cougar Canyon Golf Course, designed by Jack Nicklaus, can also be found less than eight miles away. Business travelers appreciate our comfortable Trinidad, CO accommodations near Halliburton, Coca-Cola, Maverick and Comcast. Over 1,700 sq. ft. of meeting space, a 24-hour business center and free high-speed, wireless Internet access are also available to meet our guests' professional needs. During your stay, we hope you will visit our Trinidad Peaks Restaurant. In the evening, be sure to join us during happy hour in our full-service Trinidad Peaks Lounge. An indoor, heated pool and whirlpool, and a well-equipped fitness center are also provided for your enjoyment. Gorgeous views of the Sangre de Cristos are free. As you plan your trip to southern Colorado, we invite you to explore our excellent Trinidad, CO hotel rates and make your reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Trinidad
Holiday Inn Trinidad
Trinidad Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.