We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay but Hidden Costs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peaks Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Peaks Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peaks Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   136 Country Club Dr., PO Box 2702, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice Stay but Hidden Costs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We wanted to experience one of the towns on the San Juan Skyway, and we chose Telluride because the historic district sounded like a fun place to spend a few hours. I wanted to stay in a ski resort just to see what it was like and so we wound up at The Peaks. Everyone was super nice, but it was pricey for an overnight. Parking and other fees added up. That being said, our room was comfy, with a ginormous bathroom! It was indeed a spa bath. NOTE: The hotel has no air conditioning. We were comfortable enough, but we didn't have much cross breeze in our location in the hotel. It was a little stuffy, even with the ceiling fan. It did enjoy the stay, though. I'm sure it is a great place to be during ski season too. It is in Mountain Village, not Telluride itself, but it is easy to catch the gondola to town.

Room Tip: Probably choose a room with a mountain view for summer. Better ventilation I suspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    87
    38
    13
    19
See reviews for
87
92
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telluride, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I'm so thrilled I experienced the Crave Dining Series event, Sutcliffe Summer Social. I had never tasted the wine collection by Sutcliffe Vineyards (though I have always heard wonderful things about it!) The wine pairings were perfect with the stunning dinner presented by Chef Patrick. Patrick is a youthful & very experienced Chef who sources local ingredients whenever possible. We had a sommelier present the wine pairings & Chef Patrick present each dish. There was a lively group to dine with which made it all the more fun! Palmyra is one of my all time favorite restaurants in Telluride for it's wonderful food, drink, atmosphere & service. The view of the San Juan Mountains makes it all the more fabulous! I will be certainly attending more of these Crave Summer Socials as they come up.

Room Tip: Try to get a mountain view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Let me start by saying this hotel has NO air conditioning in the rooms-- The evenings were very hot despite having screen door and windows open.The meeting room was very hot.Woodwork is beat up--the hotel is just not kept up well.
Service was fine,staff was friendly and the views/ location are outstanding! The hotel is directly connected to the golf/pro shop so it is very easy for golfers.
Easy walk to Mountain Village and the Gondola to go to Telluride.

Room Tip: Rooms facing golf course have best view.A balcony is a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here for business in town - usually like to stay in town but had my dog with me. The hotel staff was extremely accommodating and pleasant. Had a really good time. The spa fee daily is a little pricey and I hate extras but the facilities were really amazing. Very dog friendly but not at the expense of people or cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stayed here over a weekend in July. The front desk people were super friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the beds were luxurious! The view at the hotel was breathtaking. The burger and fries special was a great choice when you're hungry for something good and fast. The gondola was easy to find and convenient to get to town. Valet was very accommodating as well. I would recommend this hotel for the overall great experience I had.

Room Tip: The side with the view would be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed at The Peaks for a wedding over the 4th of July. Overall, we had a great time. The rooms were spacious and the beds were super comfy! I stay in hotels a lot (as I'm in the travel industry) and these beds were the best! I did upgrade my room to a room with a balcony, but I would have preferred to be on the west side, which had amazing views.

We dined in the restaurant and loved the cafe - a great place to pick up a coffee and a quick bite to eat (and reasonably priced). The patio was stunning. We enjoyed having cocktails and watching the sun set every night.

The location of the hotel is good, but it seemed a lot of the shops were closed in the village (kind of surprising since it's the busiest weekend in the summer). Using the gondola was tough at times (two hour wait on Saturday morning due to the crowds trying to get to the parade).

The wedding was great - food was okay. Definitely would go back, although it's a far drive from Denver. Telluride is just spectacular - one of my absolute favorite places in Colorado.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room on the west side - the views are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We booked this room at the visitor center of the town and they recommended this hotel over many of the others. We were told that parking was included and no resort fee. At check in we learned there is a $24 valet parking and that is the only option and a $25 resort fee. The hotel is generally nice but important details are glanced over. I wish we had known that this hotel is extremely dog friendly and we didn't realize till we checked in and there are dog treats sitting on the counter. Another thing to watch out for is that there is no A/C fine for the winter don't come in the summer. For a 4 star hotel it didn't meet my expectations seeing as that is the same rating the fairmont had. I will not be returning and suggest you don't come there are much better places for the same price.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peaks Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peaks Resort & Spa

Address: 136 Country Club Dr., PO Box 2702, Telluride, CO 81435
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Telluride
#6 Business Hotel in Telluride
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#7 Luxury Hotel in Telluride
#9 Family Hotel in Telluride
#10 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peaks Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offers a children's day spa as well as an indoor pool with water slide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Peaks Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peaks Resort And Spa
Peaks Hotel Telluride
The Peaks Hotel Golden Door
The Peaks Resort Golden Door
Telluride Peaks Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peaks Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.