We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peaks Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Peaks Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Peaks Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   136 Country Club Dr., PO Box 2702, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

A wonderful hotel whether it is summertime or ski-time... We visited in the summer and we truly enjoyed our escapade there... the activities are great, the spa and indoor swimming are beautiful, the rooms and views great, and the lounges and lobby are real nice... The ride on the telepherique from the peaks to the town was enjoyable for everyone (2 cable car rides per direction - a telepherique change)...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    89
    38
    13
    19
See reviews for
88
95
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palisade, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was our 5th stay at the Peaks. We have always had good experiences in the past. We had a great room, good views and were watching a spectacular sunset and decided to order room service. Called and left a message for room service and no one called back. After about 20 minutes called again and no luck. Called the front desk and they said they would have them call us. Now going on a hour, called the front desk again and was informed that they would personally find out what was going on. Now going on 1 1/2 hrs called the front desk again and asked for the manager on duty. He was very helpful and provided a free breakfast the next day.
The next night about 12:30 was awoken by loud music playing 2 floors above us. I'm talking very loud. Again went through the front desk merry-go round. Finally about 1:30 after several calls the music stopped. I like the Peaks, I love the views, But I think if you are going to spend $500 for 2 nights stay they need to get the staff trained better.
Bigsidv

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The Peaks was the perfect Ski in Ski out location in Mountain Village. We arrived the last week of the "season" so things were slow, but the the service was still top notch. Our ample room had a gorgeous view of Wilson Peak and the adjacent slopes. Our generously-sized room with 2 King-sized-beds made for a great value for a family of 4. Plus, the beds and pillows were wonderfully comfortable (coming from someone who usually travels with her own pillow.) The spa, pool and workout rooms were beautifully appointed. Staff was superb. Paul- a gem- at the Palmyra bar went above and beyond. Valet staff also excellent.
Our only disappointment was with the "game room" where air hockey puck and ping-pong balls had vanished. But, the pool slide was great for the 7 and 8 year olds!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dciani, General Manager at Peaks Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear ColoradoLover65,
Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay. I am thrilled to hear that you found the staff to be "top notch" and that your children loved our exciting indoor water slide. We hope to welcome you back soon and often, thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Many years ago I stayed at the Peaks and it was a 5 star resort. Over the past 5-7 years it had gone downhill and I believe ownership changed hands a few times. Now, it is almost back to where it was years ago!! The room was great!! Totally redone and very comfortable. The bed was not the best, but was adequate. The pool area is great for families. The ski valet is also fantastic. They need to step up their breakfast buffet at Legends, but you really cannot beat the convenience. The property is very clean and is extremely family friendly. It is by far the best location on the mountain as far as the ski in ski out goes.

Room Tip: Corner suite is perfect size for family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dciani, General Manager at Peaks Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear rmr23,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I am glad to hear the you enjoyed your visit and recognize the improvements that have been made since the local ownership took over the hotel and has been under the management of Grand Heritage. We will continue to re-invest in the property and focus on providing a clean, family friendly, welcoming, and convenient experience for our guests. We hope to see you back again next winter, thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Our family of four recently spent a week at the Peaks for some Spring Break skiing. The overall quaility of the facility was very good, and the service was excellent. Having ski in/ski out access plus a ski valet was excellent! Those features are why we would return to the Peaks. From the hotel, it's a short 3-5 minute walk to the shops, restaurants, and gondola in Mountain Village. You can get into Telluride proper via the free gondola. There's really no need to rent a car. There's an indoor/outdoor pool with a water slide that the kids really loved. There are hot tubs both inside and outside. The reservations staff was very helpful in setting up our stay, changing it at the last minute, and answering questions about Telluride. Our biggest complaint would be the limited breakfast offerings. There's a breakfast buffet that's decent, but the menu never changed during our weeklong visit. It would have been nice to have the option of a full-service breakfast restaurant where you could order off a menu. Since that wasn't an option, the kitchen could have mixed up the hot breakfast offerings (rotate between pancakes, waffles, french toast) rather than offering the same french toast rolls every day. There's also a coffee shop that offers limited breakfast items, and the food there was good. However, there was just one person staffing it, and she had to handle the cash register, make smoothies and espressos, grab juices and muffins, and keep the coffee pots filled. Paying extra for a west-facing view was worth it. The views of the mountains from that side of the hotel are stunning - both sunrise and sunset. Overall, a very good experience.

Room Tip: Rooms with a western view are more expensive, but the views of the mountains and sunsets are worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dciani, General Manager at Peaks Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear TN_Traveller_12,

Thank you for your informative review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the excellent service. A ski vacation at the Peaks is hard to beat with friendly staff, ski-in/ski-out access, incredible views, and a word class spa. We hope to see you back again this winter and encourage you to come out and experience all the incredible activities we offer during the summer time too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. The staff are welcoming and friendly. The rooms are stunning and come with lots of complimentary bottles of water (very important). Breakfast is excellent value for $16 for continental buffet or $24 for full breakfast. They have live music playing most evenings with some great musicians. Ski in/Ski out - Loved this place!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dciani, General Manager at Peaks Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Caroline016,
Thank you for sharing your great experience with us! I am glad to know that you loved your visit and found the staff welcoming and friendly. Thank you for your patronage, we hope to see you back again soon and often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Not a skier but a lover of the beautiful fall colors. We've stayed here for several years on our anniversary (end of September) when we lived on the Western Slope. All of Telluride is gorgeous during the fall. The Peaks is a beautiful hotel. The lobby has a great fireplace and awesome bar. The restaurant is delicious and offers gourmet food. We didn't have a reservation, and didn't feel like it would be a problem, since there were exactly two other couple there but the hostess made it a big deal. Her exact words were, "Hmmm, let me see if I can find you a table." This is why they only get three stars for service. While I love the atmosphere, this hotel is pretty snooty. Since the fall is considered the "off season" the rates are very reasonable. The spa is an absolute must. The gemstone massage is the best massage I've ever had. They use gemstone infused massage oils, it's very spiritual and relaxing. If you love the gorgeous aspen leaves in the fall then this a great resort for an autumn getaway.

Room Tip: Suites are so worth it! And in the off season they aren't much more than the regular rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dciani, General Manager at Peaks Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear MaryColorado,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Fall in the San Juan Mountains can be truly magical with the Aspen leaves changing, typical cool, sunny days and starry nights. With Colorado's largest spa we are blessed to have incredible therapists and I am happy you had the opportunity to experience the best massage of your life! We are also pleased to learn that you had the opportunity to experience our gourmet regional cuisine from Chef Patrick Funk. Thanks again for a great review and we hope to welcome you back again this fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peaks Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peaks Resort & Spa

Address: 136 Country Club Dr., PO Box 2702, Telluride, CO 81435
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Telluride
#5 Spa Hotel in Telluride
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#7 Luxury Hotel in Telluride
#9 Family Hotel in Telluride
#11 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peaks Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offers a children's day spa as well as an indoor pool with water slide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Peaks Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peaks Resort And Spa
Peaks Hotel Telluride
The Peaks Hotel Golden Door
The Peaks Resort Golden Door
Telluride Peaks Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peaks Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.