We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to stay especially on the west side of the hotel with a balcony is a must.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peaks Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Peaks Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Peaks Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   136 Country Club Dr., PO Box 2702, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Longmont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful place to stay especially on the west side of the hotel with a balcony is a must.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We loved staying at the Peaks Resort & Spa. The staff is very friendly. We used the spa area which was very nice. We did not have the time to use the staff in the spa. The pool outside was very nice. The hotel is a bit noisy as far as the hallways to the rooms. But most of the guests were a little bit more quieter the later it got into the evening. But you definitely could hear doors slamming to the rooms. The beds were Awesome! The bell Staff were awesome and totally took care of your luggage to your room and parking your car.

Room Tip: Definitely book a room on the west side facing the golf course with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dciani, General Manager at Peaks Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear PAMELA K,
Thank you for your review! I'm pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly, beds and valets awesome, and enjoyed the spa and pool facilities. You're right that the Sunset view cannot be beat and we always recommend to our guests to be sure to confirm our premium west facing views when booking their accommodations. It is certainly worth it! We'll look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    106
    43
    14
    21
See reviews for
102
104
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at the Peaks with a wedding party and had a great time! The rooms are nice, although no air conditioning which made it slightly uncomfortable if hot out. The property is clean and nice, parking is valet only. Easy access to Mountain Village and gondola to go to Telluride. Spa is nice too. Onsite restaurants were good as well, yummy cocktails!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dciani, General Manager at Peaks Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear LushnLife,
Thank you for your review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit and the wedding. The Peaks is the best venue for summer destinations weddings in the Rockies as the town and village offer hassle free transportation and great food and nightlife. I am glad to hear you enjoyed some yummy cocktails on our deck and we hope you'll be back to visit again soon. Thanks again for your great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We purchased a Groupon deal for this hotel and it was a real bargain. The hotel is excellent and the pro shop for the Telluride golf course is on its bottom level. The service was excellent as were the accommodations. The golf course was a treat as it is spread over most of the side of the mountain. Not only was it challenging, the views from the course are incredible.

The hotel is one of several in Mountain Village and is situated several thousand feet above the town of Telluride. There is a free gondola which provides transportation between the various areas on the mountain and goes down the mountain to Telluride. Once at the hotel, there is no need for your car unless you want to drive to outlying areas, such as the Mesa Verde ruins.

In the Winter, I understand you can ski directly from the hotel to Telluride. One of the ski runs goes down what is the driving range for the golf course. There is a ski lift to take you back up the mountain that would drop you off a short distance from the hotel, as would the gondola.

The only complaint we had with the hotel was the music played in the restaurant and coffee bar. Chuck Berry and James Brown may be appropriate at cocktails, but not during breakfast. Thankfully, the waitress readily turned down the volume of the sound system at my request.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dciani, General Manager at Peaks Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear dale t,
Thank you for your review. I am thrilled to hear that you found the service and accommodations excellent and enjoyed our Tee-in/Tee-out golf access. As one of the only properties in the country that offer both golf and ski-in/ski-out access we hope you'll be returning to experience the fantastic skiing and access that the Peaks has to offer. I also appreciate your comments on the music selection and will be discussing with the staff about other alternative. Thanks again for your great review and we hope to see you back soon and often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I use Groupon and other discounted travel/hotel sites to find great places at a deal, saving our budget and still getting to "indulge" a little. The Groupon I booked with The Peaks hotel was a fantastic deal with parking and resort fees included, saving us a great deal. However, at the expense of saving so much money, it is very obvious that we received the "discounted rate room." Situated next to the housekeeping unit and on the closest floor to the open lobby, we were woken up every morning bright and early by the loud bangs and clangs against our wall of the housekeeping space. Even our first night was disturbed at 3am to someone tending to the housekeeping unit. The hotel lobby can get very loud during an event (a wedding reception crowd was one instance) and comes right through the door. We weren't upset at this situation but it was very noticeable that we got what we paid for. I think as a full paying customer we would have asked to be moved and gotten our money's worth but instead we just took the role as the red-headed stepchild. Overall the hotel and staff is great but few updates would be nice like the translucent balcony walls that aren't very translucent anymore and quite unattractive from inside and outside the hotel. Either clean them or replace them.

Room Tip: Every room has a nice mountain view but ask for something NOT off the open lobby and NOT next to a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dciani, General Manager at Peaks Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Singingirlc,
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you found the hotel and staff to be great but very sorry that you felt you received a discounted room. The special Groupon promotion we launched this spring is a great bargain for our standard east facing rooms. Certainly when we choose rooms for our guests is it never based on the price you are paying but rather the type of accommodation you confirmed. Please always let us know if we can do anything to make your stay more enjoyable and we would have happily offered a room move. We also offer special pricing for upgrades to all of our guests so hopefully you can return on your next visit and take advantage of the special offers to guarantee a premium view and location. Should you wish to discuss your visit in more detail please contact me directly at 970-728-2509. Thanks again for taking the time to provide your feedback and I hope to speak with you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchitoches, Louisiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Returned to the Peaks and once again was so impressed by the quality of the facilities, attentiveness of the staff, and superb mountaint setting location. If you are looking for a great place to stay and enjoy Telluride and the San Juan Mountains, the Peaks is definitely the place to be. I really appreciated the warm welcome and attention from the valets each day who were always helpful with suggestions about daytrips to make and always welcomed one back with a smile. If you can, make sure to check out the many hiking trails close to the hotel and/or gondola station. Also, Phil in the Palmyra restaurant made having a drink or appetizer on the beautiful patio or in the bar such a great experience......his management and friendly demeanor really a difference. I am already looking forward to coming back to the Peaks next summer or sooner!

Room Tip: I recommend taking advantage of a sunset view room and ask for a balcony. The changing views of Mt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dciani, General Manager at Peaks Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Jonakin,
Thank you for your review! It's great to hear that you had another fantastic visit to the Peaks and found the property and staff to your satisfaction once again. We are lucky to have such a caring and welcoming staff and really great food! Its nice that you shared your experience with Phil, he certainly is a great asset to the food and beverage program. We can't wait to welcome you back so be sure to return soon, thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

If your staying here be sure to request a room at the back of the hotel and on the 8 th floor then perhaps you would get a decent nights rest. Our room was on the 5th floor over the entrance. This was not a problem the first night with guest coming and going. However Saturday there was a wedding off the main patio. All the noise drifted throughout the hotel and at 11:30 the whole wedding moved to the front of the hotel and began yelling and screaming. The front desk said simply "It's and wedding what can we do ". I am not a wedding party pooper but this was crazy. We went to the spa to relax after getting no sleep the night before. Paint was peeling on the showers which were lukewarm, lotion bottle was broken and the swimsuit machine was leaking. Overall a pretty place ,but I will take my chances trying another place with a more responsible staff and a good nights rest on my next trip.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dciani, General Manager at Peaks Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Mylove68,
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry for the noise disturbance you encountered with wedding party. It sounds like they were a rowdy bunch and our staff should have been more responsive to your complaint. I recognize that this distracted for your experience and hope that you will contact me directly so I can discuss your stay in more detail and find a way to have you as our guest again for a much quieter and restful visit. Please contact me directly at 970-728-2509. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin,
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We went to the Peaks for a stay in the summer. We had a wonderful stay...friendly front desk, valets, spa personnel and coffee girl. We had a two king room and it slept the four of us perfectly. The room was updated and done well. I loved the decor throughout the hotel. The pools/hot tubs/steam room etc. were great! I don't think their website does it justice! We spent a lot of time there after hiking around Telluride. I saw that someone said the halls were beat up, but they must have been redone because everything looked new and fresh. I thought it was a great value for the price because the pools/fitness area were wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dciani, General Manager at Peaks Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Lisa S,
Thank you for your review! I am thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay! The Spa, including our indoor/outdoor pool and hot tubs, is certainly one of our guests' most coveted amenities. It's great to hear that you found all of the staff to be friendly and accommodating as well. I know they'll be pleased to read your review! Hiking in Telluride is unbeatable and I would encourage you to return for some gorgeous hiking during our "Gold Season" when the Aspens change in late September. We'll look forward to seeing you back soon, thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peaks Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peaks Resort & Spa

Address: 136 Country Club Dr., PO Box 2702, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Telluride
#5 Spa Hotel in Telluride
#7 Luxury Hotel in Telluride
#10 Family Hotel in Telluride
#10 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peaks Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offers a children's day spa as well as an indoor pool with water slide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Peaks Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peaks Resort And Spa
Peaks Hotel Telluride
The Peaks Hotel Golden Door
The Peaks Resort Golden Door
Telluride Peaks Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peaks Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.