We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walls made out of Graham Crackers!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peaks Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Peaks Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Peaks Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   136 Country Club Dr., PO Box 2702, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Walls made out of Graham Crackers!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great looking hotel (and views) with good rooms, but you'll find that the walls are so thin, you can hear EVERYTHING next door. I've stayed in thousands of hotels in my life and can't remember one where I can hear ever word of a conversation next door. Another person in our party said there room was the same as the couple next door 'had a good time' most of the night then played the tv loud and could hear everything. Very odd, considering it's a nice looking place, you would think it rooms wouldn't be so loud. If you stay, pray you have no neighbors, otherwise, move on to another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    106
    43
    14
    21
See reviews for
102
104
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Be aware that there is a resort fee charged per day - this is non-negotiable and depending on how you book you may not be informed until check in. There is also no parking except valet, which will dramatically increase your per-day cost. The hotel itself is nice although it appears to be less well-kept than I would expect of a 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here the last weekend in September as we were keen to snap some great fall foliage pics. The location is divine. I didn't realize it wasn't in Telluride proper, but it's very close, and there's a gondola that takes you to the top of the mountain, from where you can take another one down the opposite side and into the town.
I think if I hadn't stayed in the Viceroy at Snow Mass the week prior, I would have been slightly more generous on my review. But these two places were very similar in price and style yet Peaks fell short in the room department. Toiletries were basic, bed was a queen size and no frills. Our room had an old school coffee pot with two packets of coffee - one regular and one decaf. After my Nespress dream, gas fireplace and George Neil toiletries, I was mildly bummed. We also had no balcony on our room, which is not what you want when you've got views to die for. It was quiet and clean and fit the bill. And it does have a clock with a docking station for an iPhone.
I would certainly return, but I'd also check out other options first.
Staff were all very pleasant and the lobby is great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here from sept 39-oct 1, 2012 and was quite pleased. I come to Telluride often and stay in Mountain Village, but this was the first time at The Peaks. I got a 2 California king bed room on the 6th floor. Beds were super comfortable and the room was large with a full size bath with separate shower and tub. The resort itself is very nice. The resturant has an outside seating area with the most picturesque view of Mt Wilson one could ask for. I spent quite a bit of time out there. The food was good and priced at the level one would expect at an upscale resort. Try the bacon Mac and cheese and the truffle fries. Tasty!!

I had my two daughters with me (7 and 9) and picked the Peaks specifically for this stay because the indoor/outdoor pool. There is a two story waterside that is super fun for both adults and kids. The only downfall is the pool closes at 8pm. This would be a big downside during ski season as there would really not be a lot of time to hit the pool/hot tubs once you finish with après ski and then dinner.

The service and staff were top notch and the valet very quick. You are within walking distance to the gondola station in Mountain Village as well as many other reaturants and shops. Didn't try the spa during this stay, but I do plan to come back during the winter and try it then.

All around, The Peaks is worth a stay. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I spent two days at the Peaks Resort and Spa. It was fall color season in Telluride and the trip was WONDERFUL! The staff at the resort was very friendly and professional. The room was larger and more comfortable that I thought it might be. And we got (what I thought was) a good price for our stay. The rate included the (normally overpriced) resort fee and valet parking. Many, many hotels have changed their strategy to stick you with these stupid, almost-hidden resort fees as a way to gaff you as you check out. I was very delighted that the Peaks Resort offered us the Package Price that included everything. If you have never been to Telluride to see the fall colors, you are truely missing something INCREDIBLE! And I would not hesitate to book our next color-show adventure at the Peaks Resort and Spa.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Was just at the peaks this past week...nice hotel but due to the 'off season' but still open, many amenities closed or scaled back. Minimum staff. Pro: you have a VERY quiet hotel virtually to yourself. Cons: min staffed, only one restaurant open with some food and drink. Was told three times they don't order, so I will make the leap that your food is frozen. Also the place is a ghost town. But the town/hotel on this week has beautiful views of the fall colors and lucky for me snow capped mountains. If u want a getaway that's quiet, nows time to go.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at The Peaks for 2 nights mid-Sept. No doubt the grounds & views are magnificent. The hotel itself was just beautiful. Our room was spacious & we enjoyed the large deck, We were drawn to Telluride by a great deal on Hotwire UNTIL we got the daily $50+ add-ons, not plain on Hotwire's site; you book first.-very, very deceiving. As a side note, room had several maintenance issues & housekeeping had to be called late in the afternoon to make up room.Telluride is wonderful, but be prepared to pay high prices. Explore the town first.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peaks Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peaks Resort & Spa

Address: 136 Country Club Dr., PO Box 2702, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Telluride
#5 Spa Hotel in Telluride
#7 Luxury Hotel in Telluride
#10 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#10 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peaks Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offers a children's day spa as well as an indoor pool with water slide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Peaks Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peaks Resort And Spa
Peaks Hotel Telluride
The Peaks Hotel Golden Door
The Peaks Resort Golden Door
Telluride Peaks Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peaks Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.