We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views to die for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peaks Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Peaks Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Peaks Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   136 Country Club Dr., PO Box 2702, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Europe
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Views to die for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here the last weekend in September as we were keen to snap some great fall foliage pics. The location is divine. I didn't realize it wasn't in Telluride proper, but it's very close, and there's a gondola that takes you to the top of the mountain, from where you can take another one down the opposite side and into the town.
I think if I hadn't stayed in the Viceroy at Snow Mass the week prior, I would have been slightly more generous on my review. But these two places were very similar in price and style yet Peaks fell short in the room department. Toiletries were basic, bed was a queen size and no frills. Our room had an old school coffee pot with two packets of coffee - one regular and one decaf. After my Nespress dream, gas fireplace and George Neil toiletries, I was mildly bummed. We also had no balcony on our room, which is not what you want when you've got views to die for. It was quiet and clean and fit the bill. And it does have a clock with a docking station for an iPhone.
I would certainly return, but I'd also check out other options first.
Staff were all very pleasant and the lobby is great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    89
    38
    13
    19
See reviews for
88
95
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here from sept 39-oct 1, 2012 and was quite pleased. I come to Telluride often and stay in Mountain Village, but this was the first time at The Peaks. I got a 2 California king bed room on the 6th floor. Beds were super comfortable and the room was large with a full size bath with separate shower and tub. The resort itself is very nice. The resturant has an outside seating area with the most picturesque view of Mt Wilson one could ask for. I spent quite a bit of time out there. The food was good and priced at the level one would expect at an upscale resort. Try the bacon Mac and cheese and the truffle fries. Tasty!!

I had my two daughters with me (7 and 9) and picked the Peaks specifically for this stay because the indoor/outdoor pool. There is a two story waterside that is super fun for both adults and kids. The only downfall is the pool closes at 8pm. This would be a big downside during ski season as there would really not be a lot of time to hit the pool/hot tubs once you finish with après ski and then dinner.

The service and staff were top notch and the valet very quick. You are within walking distance to the gondola station in Mountain Village as well as many other reaturants and shops. Didn't try the spa during this stay, but I do plan to come back during the winter and try it then.

All around, The Peaks is worth a stay. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I spent two days at the Peaks Resort and Spa. It was fall color season in Telluride and the trip was WONDERFUL! The staff at the resort was very friendly and professional. The room was larger and more comfortable that I thought it might be. And we got (what I thought was) a good price for our stay. The rate included the (normally overpriced) resort fee and valet parking. Many, many hotels have changed their strategy to stick you with these stupid, almost-hidden resort fees as a way to gaff you as you check out. I was very delighted that the Peaks Resort offered us the Package Price that included everything. If you have never been to Telluride to see the fall colors, you are truely missing something INCREDIBLE! And I would not hesitate to book our next color-show adventure at the Peaks Resort and Spa.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Was just at the peaks this past week...nice hotel but due to the 'off season' but still open, many amenities closed or scaled back. Minimum staff. Pro: you have a VERY quiet hotel virtually to yourself. Cons: min staffed, only one restaurant open with some food and drink. Was told three times they don't order, so I will make the leap that your food is frozen. Also the place is a ghost town. But the town/hotel on this week has beautiful views of the fall colors and lucky for me snow capped mountains. If u want a getaway that's quiet, nows time to go.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at The Peaks for 2 nights mid-Sept. No doubt the grounds & views are magnificent. The hotel itself was just beautiful. Our room was spacious & we enjoyed the large deck, We were drawn to Telluride by a great deal on Hotwire UNTIL we got the daily $50+ add-ons, not plain on Hotwire's site; you book first.-very, very deceiving. As a side note, room had several maintenance issues & housekeeping had to be called late in the afternoon to make up room.Telluride is wonderful, but be prepared to pay high prices. Explore the town first.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I just spent four days at the Peaks Hotel and Spa in Telluride. What a beautiful location! Everyday we watched the valley below, the planes landing at the airport, the large golf course as we ate our breakfast with floor to ceiling windows. The manager was attentive, positive and helpful. The staff were enthuastic. I will go back there in the ski season for sure. Eileen Sanford

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the valley. Higher room would get better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed at hotel for 4 nights to attend my niece's wedding. Had two adjoining rooms with the kids. AMAZING STAFF, great amenities, Spa and pool were fantastic! Food, (especially the room service burgers) was delicious. Everyone was very friendly and staff went out of their way to accomodate us in every way possible. The town was great, gondolas were fun and the scenery was amazing! Would love to come back in the winter months to enjoy the winter season. The ONLY DRAWBACK was that the rooms don't have air conditioning!!!! And they don't tell you that when you check in, nor do they state it on their website. Naturally you would just expect it from a resort. And of course, it was soooo hot when we were there. I did not sleep well due to the altittude but also the room was so hot at night that it made it worse.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peaks Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peaks Resort & Spa

Address: 136 Country Club Dr., PO Box 2702, Telluride, CO 81435
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Telluride
#5 Spa Hotel in Telluride
#7 Luxury Hotel in Telluride
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#9 Family Hotel in Telluride
#11 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peaks Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offers a children's day spa as well as an indoor pool with water slide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peaks Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peaks Resort And Spa
Peaks Hotel Telluride
The Peaks Hotel Golden Door
The Peaks Resort Golden Door
Telluride Peaks Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peaks Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.