We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall Break at a discount price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge to your Saves list
Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   567 Mountain Village Blvd., Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fall Break at a discount price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent a few days of Fall Break at this hotel. The accommodations were very nice for the off-season price. The fall colors were still beautiful and it snowed most of our trip.

The beds, however, were some of the most uncomfortable that we have ever slept in. In fact, we opted to leave a day early, just so we did not have to sleep in the beds again (and our reservation was non-refundable). Not bad at off-season prices, but I would have definitely been upset if we were paying full price. The room was worn in places, but all in all, very spacious for a family of four. They also provided plenty of laundry detergent and dryer sheets--which is not always the case with in-room laundry. The staff was nice and friendly. They had a lot of recommendations, however, most of the restaurants were closed for the season. I also had an exceptional massage on the property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan O, General Manager at Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are happy to hear that you were able to visit us in the Fall season and even got to experience some early season snow! We apologize that you found our beds to be uncomfortable. We recently purchased new Stearns & Foster mattresses, which have for the most part been met with very positive reviews from our guests. We are also starting a multi-million lodge-wide refresh project to update our residences and common areas. On your next visit to Telluride, please stop by to see the updates around the lodge or to visit the Himmel Spa – we would love to have you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    11
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
47
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keller, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a great place. The accommodations were wonderful, the staff was very helpful and always going above and beyond. The facility was impeccably clean. The hot tub on the 4th and 5th floors were great to sit out under the stars. The Franz Klammer is about 100 yards from the Gondola that takes you over to Telluride.

Room Tip: Anything 4th or 5th floor
See more room tips
Green Features: They made it really easy to recycle with recycle bins in the kitchen. They use energy efficient light bulbs and tinted windows. The windows are energy efficient as well. The appliances are all nice and energy efficient. Towel reuse program. Efficient use of landscape and watering
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan O, General Manager at Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! You'll have to come visit us again for the winter ski season - in fact, it's snowing now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We just visited the Franz Klammer Lodge during the first weekend in October. We really got a lot of "bang for the buck" at this time of year. The 2 & 3 bedroom condos were priced at low season rates, but the "Fall Colors" were at their height--just breathtaking! Customer service is superb at the Franz Klammer and the condos are lovely and well stocked.
We brought 11 family members aged 2 to 62--and there was something to please everyone. The younger kids & teens loved the pool, game room, and the resort's "climbing rock." We adults loved the hiking and the natural beauty of the area. We all loved taking the free ski gondolas from Mountain Village over the mountain to Telluride and back.
Telluride is in a gorgeous setting and has a very pretty river walk and beaucoup cute shops and fun restaurants. Lots of bike trails and 4 wheel trails in the area. Our favorite 4 wheel trips are Last Dollar Road and Imogene Pass.
This was our 2nd time at the Franz Klammer--but it won't be our last!!

Room Tip: Room 409 had a great view - Room 411 had a spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We have spent the last four days, three nights at the Franz Klammer Lodge. We are President's Club members and were interested to see how a fractional ownership property would measure up to our other Fairmont Experiences. The start was a little rocky. Arriving into Mountain Village we had a difficult time finding the reception area, which is underground. When we arrived there was no-one at the desk, just a framed note saying to call concierge. A maintenance worker saw us and called for us. 10 minutes later we were still waiting so I called the number in the picture frame. Finally we were greeted by Wyeth and Scott. My husband explained how to drive and park our corvette. When my husband explained the particulars of the car, Wyeth made a comment that it was weird. I asked him if he knew anything about corvettes, especially parking a manual, he said he didn't. Enough said. Scott, our bellman was very personable and took us to our room, explaining everything in it as well as other hotel amenities.We had a lovely two bedroom/two bathroom suite. One of the bathrooms had a steam shower. Large Living/Dining area, high end kitchen with subzero refrigerator, viking stove, bosch dishwasher. Beautiful mountain view. Concierge was amazing. Liz and Heather made up for the less than lackluster reception. We set up an adventure to Imogene Pass. Liz was exceptional, going out of her way to help me find sweets after a dinner in Ouray. Great Experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed for one week at the Fairmont in Mountain Village above Telluride and could not be more pleased. The units are individually owned condo's with very nice furnishings. The condo layout was perfect. We had a spacious 2/2 with a large kitchen, nice outdoor patio, and lovely view of the mountains (Room 403). The staff was very helpful, with a Concierge Desk that was always willing to accommodate our needs, especially Chantry, the Guest Services Manager. There was no A/C in the unit, but the evenings were cool, with a nice breeze and two fans and a humidifier were provided so sleeping was very comfortable. Both baths had a large soaking tub and one bath had a steam shower. The hotel had a complementary small, but nice spa area with lounge chairs, a hot tub, indoor/outdoor pool, sauna and steam room. Very nice! The Fairmont also had a nice lounge area to mingle and relax with nice outdoor seating overlooking the main Core of Mountain Village. It was a one minute walk to the Gondola that gave a free ride into Telluride or another free Gondola that took you over to the Mountain Village market. Convenient, relaxing, gorgeous place to stay. We highly recommend The Fairmont Heritage Place, Telluride for your next vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We have been staying at this hotel every summer since 2009. It is the best value / price / luxury combination in the area. We typically stay in a three-bedroom apartment but this year we had friends who stayed in a two-bedroom, which was equally nice and felt even more spacious because of the floor plan layout. One issue we had over the years are that some room are darker than others and lighting is very poor. I would avoid rooms overlooking the pool and instead request either rooms on the upper floors overlooking the plaza or rooms overlooking the golf course.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at the Franz Klammer Lodge over Fourth of July. The location of the lodge in great. It is located right in the square on the mountain, only a short walk to the gondola. The lodge had many beautiful amenities, such as the beautiful indoor/ outdoor pool, however the rooms needed updating. The outside of the lodge is beautiful, however the interior was dated. Overall, the Franz Klammer lodge has good potential, but needs updating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge

Address: 567 Mountain Village Blvd., Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Telluride
#5 Green Hotel in Telluride
#6 Luxury Hotel in Telluride
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#8 Family Hotel in Telluride
#10 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge is located in the heart of Mountain Village above Telluride. Just steps from the base of the Telluride Ski Resort the lodge offers complimentary airport transportation, ski valet, heated indoor and outdoor swimming pool, full service spa, steam room, hot tubs and 24-hour concierge. The property features 63 luxurious two and three-bedroom residences that range in size between 1,400 and 1,800 square feet. They feature high-end kitchens, balconies with slope-side views and gas fireplace. Enjoy your home away from home with the personalized service of Fairmont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heritage Place Franz Klammer Hotel Telluride
Fairmont Telluride
Telluride Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.