We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the way to ski!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge to your Saves list
Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   567 Mountain Village Blvd., Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Roseville, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This is the way to ski!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This accommodation is directly in the square at the bottom of the main chair lift in the mountain village of Telluride. You come off the slopes and hand your skis/board to the ski vallet who store them away for you. Walk across the square into the accommodation and leave the rest of your gear (boots, helmets, goggles etc) in the heated lockers provided. Have a drink or hot chocolate by the fire or escape to your room for spa bath for those weary muscles. The location is steep and challenging and lots of powder. If you love groomed runs, go to Aspen. There are some but its the steep and deep that's good here. The rooms are excellent and so are the staff. The one thing missing is an on-site restaurant but there are plenty close by to choose from so not really a big issue. The steam rooms in the apartments are also an excellent addition (to the well appointed bathrooms and spa baths). i loved staying here.
!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    18
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
61
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The property is greatly located and we were very comfortable in the 2-bed/ 2-bath unit. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and they lent us some fancy bicycles for our bike ride. The gym was pretty complete as well. However, it was pretty warm in the room and the hotel doesn't have a/c. Also, it would have been nice for there to be a real restaurant so that it would feel just somewhat more like a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan O, General Manager at Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are happy to hear that you were able to explore the area on our BMW bicycles. We understand that it can be frustrating to not have A/C and there are very few times throughout the year that Colorado gets to be that warm but we do provide fans and have several other tips to help keep your residence cool. The benefit of having full kitchens and dining rooms in each residence is to allow our guests to stay in and cook as well as dine at Telluride’s fine selection of restaurants. If you visit us again our concierge team would be happy to help you book reservations and arrange for grocery delivery! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
238 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

From the first-rate kitchen full of stainless steel and appliances nicer than what I have at home to the leather furniture and spacious bedrooms, the Klammer does it all right. Many of the rooms have beautiful views of the mountains and you feel like you are in a magic winter wonderland. The bathrooms are nicely appointed with roomy stall showers and large bathtubs. There are nice bath products and lots of closet space.

There is a toasty gas fireplace and a big nice TV in the family room. You need a PhD to operate the remote control though! The beds are really comfortable and the bedding is fluffy and 100% cotton, high-thread.

The common areas are also really nice with free hot chocolate and coffee and an assortment of delicious teas all day long. There's a fully equipped game closet for the kids and great ski lockers for all your equipment. also, the indoor/outdoor pool is very special. My kids can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the third floor as you'll have easy access to the lovely common ar...
See more room tips
Green Features: I didn't notice anything particularly green about the Klammer.
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just returned from a week in Telli and The Franz Klammer. Our unit was AMAZING!! Two large bedrooms, two HUGE bathrooms, each with double sinks. Enormous jacuzzi tubs with separate showers!! Great living space , fireplace, large dining table and fully loaded kitchen. The grill on the porch was a great touch, used it 3 times : ). Washer and dryer with laundry detergent !! Sooooo convenient if you like to pack light!! The California King beds were super comfortable!!!
The common area has a huge beautiful fireplace, multiple couches and a great view of the base of Lift 4!! We utilized the Hot-Tub on the 4rth floor and had it all to ourselves, with a view of the mountains!!
The staff was the best !! From house-keeping to the ski-valet guys. Everyone was so friendly, always making us feel like we were valued guests.
The Ski Package that The Franz Klammer can not be beat!!! Nor is there a better location if you want true ski-in/ski-out.
Worth every penny.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I won't repeat all the positives of the Fairmont that others have already summarized. In summary, it's all here and they make the ski vacation extremely easy. We would definitely stay here again. Criticisms include a property that could use a little bit of a facelift/rebranding. It is nice, but the decor is beginning to show its age... This is a four star property, in a good way. Just don't expect a trendy boutique experience. Also, the website does a poor job of explaining all of the property's features and services. It takes the concierge call to really sort through it all and even then you don't get the full picture... They offer a lot for the money. We found the service to be very good and not just a bunch of kids who are there to ski first and work second. I would say the concierge team was the weakest link at this property, but they were ok overall. Really, nothing bad to say. We enjoyed it a lot.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Franz Klammer for a week and loved the coziness and location. The service provided by the drivers/bell staff were excellent. But the concierge coukd do a slightly better job. Overall it was a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan O, General Manager at Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for the review. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us - during a time with great snow too! We are sorry to hear that part of our team fell short of your expectations. Our concierge generally specializes in creating memorable experiences for our guests so we apologize that we did not get the opportunity with you. The next time you are visiting the Telluride area we would love another chance to personalize a great vacation for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

So my second time to Telluride Colorado and I think we found the perfect place to stay. A condo set up with three bedrooms is easy to find. But one with the following, not so much....

Ski in and out
Free Gondola to town
Free bottled water
Exercise facility
Hot tub on every floor with view
Bar in hotel
Shuttle to the Montrose airport included (1 hour each way)
Spa with market rates and a few deals for guests
A comfortable pick up and drop off at the supermarket included,
or shopping done for you with a nominal up charge
Ski valet
Near shopping and great restaurants to choose from
A well-attended hotel happy hour Monday nights
Basic cleaning service daily
Lift ticket package included

Absolutely prime hospitality and helpfulness! A Telluride specialty!!

And this is without even getting to the hidden gem of a mountain yet where we have had 50 inches of snow in the last 5 days!!

I will be back!

Room Tip: Gym is on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telluride hotels
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#2 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride, A Noble House Resort
0.2 mi away
Lumiere Hotel
Lumiere Hotel
#1 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#4 of 18 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madeline Hotel and Residences
1.8 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge

Address: 567 Mountain Village Blvd., Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Telluride
#5 Green Hotel in Telluride
#6 Luxury Hotel in Telluride
#7 Family Hotel in Telluride
#10 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge is located in the heart of Mountain Village above Telluride. Just steps from the base of the Telluride Ski Resort the lodge offers complimentary airport transportation, ski valet, heated indoor and outdoor swimming pool, full service spa, steam room, hot tubs and 24-hour concierge. The property features 63 luxurious two and three-bedroom residences that range in size between 1,400 and 1,800 square feet. They feature high-end kitchens, balconies with slope-side views and gas fireplace. Enjoy your home away from home with the personalized service of Fairmont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Splendia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heritage Place Franz Klammer Hotel Telluride
Fairmont Telluride
Telluride Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.