We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge to your Saves list
Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   567 Mountain Village Blvd., Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spa
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Will return!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just returned from a ski trip with 5 friends and we all loved the Franz Klammer. Try to stay on the 5th floor, as the roofs are higher. The beds are AMAZING!!! Could have stayed there the entire holiday! There are several hot tubs spread out through the hotel. The spa is a bit inconvenient because the steam room and sauna are in the 1st floor and the treatment rooms are in the 5th, but the massages we had are seriously some of the best we have had! And we are all spa junkies. Kat and Erin were absolutely wonderful (as were Beth and the rest of the staff whose names I unfortunately dont remember). The concierge and everyone else was super friendly and helpful. The gondola is within 2 minute walking distance from the hotel main entrance. Excellent location for skiing!! Not so cool if you want to be near the restaurants. It is about a 15 minute ride in the gondola to get there. But I would say it is definitely worth staying there. The hotels in the town are smaller. I will definitely be returning next year. Thanks to everyone for making us feel at home.

Room Tip: Try the fifth floor. Loved room 513, with high celiengs and blacony for bbqs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick H, General Manager at Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Our new Stearns & Foster mattresses have been a hit and we're glad to hear you were comfortable during your stay. Thank you for the comment on our therapists, they really do an amazing job. Our spa's focus is on treatments that are authentically local, are customized to the individual and utilize organic products.

Next time you visit make sure to dine at Rev, which serves farm-to-table fare with a focus on using fresh Colorado products. La Piazza del Villaggio Ristorante is across the plaza and has an extensive wine list and authentic Italian cuisine. We look forward to seeing you again!

Rick Houston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    10
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
43
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed here last February with another family. From the moment you get to the lodge you feel like you are on vacation. We stayed in a 3rd level 3 bedroom lodge and it had all the expected amenities for upscale lodging. Unfortunately, when I got there I had some oxygen deprivation issues however they had and oxygen bar just for these type issues. They were very gracious and got me right up to the bat and ended up providing this free of charge. I never had another issue while I was there. The location was perfect with shopping and a great pizza place 200yds away. Of course the skiing was great. If it says anything, we are going back for New Years 2014.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We've been going to the Klammer for 10 years and it is always perfect. You can't single out one department because they are all wonderful (housekeeping, spa, concierge, transportation, engineering, etc.). We have two sons and it is very child-friendly (kids night out is fun for kids and parents); DVDs/puzzles and games at the concierge desk, car seats from transportation, goggles and water toys in the spa, etc. The location is great summer or winter -- your skis are right at the chairlift in winter and in the summer you are 2 minutes from the gondola into town. Spa treatments are a mush.
A great combination of the comforts of home and the luxury of a world-class resort town and lodge! The Klammer and Telluride are a slice of heaven....

Room Tip: Upper floors and rooms facing the plaza or down valley are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Beautiful location. Great spa. Newsletters under the door. Bit is like a hotel but having a house with kitchen fireplace dining room etc. and the rooms. A two bedroom has great master baths in each bedroom. Located right by gondola. Highly recommend. You never need to get in a ca

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We just spent a week at the Fairmont Heritage Place and had a great time. The Lodge was wonderful and very accommodating. They were able to lend us a high chair and crib for our 1 y/o and got a roll-a-way bed for our 3 year old to make things easier. The location of the lodge cannot be beat! It is only a short 2-3 minute walk from the FREE gondola system of Telluride where you can go to the grocery store or take another one up to the top of the mountain and then down into Telluride. If we had any problems/run out of propane for the grill they were quick to send someone up to help. The Lodge staff even signed a birthday card and slid it under the door for my kids as we were celebrating their birthdays w/ my family during our stay. Telluride and the surrounding area is absolutely beautiful, especially in the fall when leaves are turning. One thing to make note of though is when reading the 'brochures' about hikes and Jeep roads, their view of easy is different that I would say (granted my husband and I ended up having to carrying the kids the majority of the way which does make it more difficult). : ) Also, the grocery store in Mountain Village also had better prices than the one located down in the town. The park in town is GREAT for little ones. LOVED the trip and WILL go back!!

Room Tip: Parking is limited as they typically only allow 1 car/room in the garage, but if you check w/ vallet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stay was great. All our needs were taken care.
Telluride is a great place to visit.
You will find a very relaxed atmosphere.
If you have any special needs they will do all they can to make you comfortable.
Gluten free food is becoming a regular service. A reminder if needed does help

Room Tip: If a view is important make sure you let it be known prior to arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Franz Klammer Lodge is an excellent place to stay, but the real beauty is of the Mountain Village and surrounding mountain views. Breathtaking! The staff is well trained and helpful, to the point of being patronizing sometimes. There are not a lot of view rooms, but if you are lucky enough to get one, it will be the trip of a lifetime for you!
Mountain Village is unique in that you don't need a car. You take the tram to the grocery store or to Telluride on the other side of the mountain. Really fun!
I hope you play golf, because the views from the golf course are the most spectacular! The homes tucked on the hillsides are amazing.
The rooms are beautifully decorated and very spacious. They do charge a $350 cleaning fee for a three-bedroom unit, however, they don't clean anything while you are there - it's after you leave! And $350 is pretty steep - where can I get a job for that kind of pay?!
Nightlife is quiet in the summer. Be sure to have a hamburger in the bar at the top of the mountain - half-way to Telluride. The views are outstanding! It will be the trip of a lifetime!

Room Tip: High floor with a view will be the best room. However, good luck in getting it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge

Address: 567 Mountain Village Blvd., Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Telluride
#4 Green Hotel in Telluride
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#5 Luxury Hotel in Telluride
#8 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge is located in the heart of Mountain Village above Telluride. Just steps from the base of the Telluride Ski Resort the lodge offers complimentary airport transportation, ski valet, heated indoor and outdoor swimming pool, full service spa, steam room, hot tubs and 24-hour concierge. The property features 63 luxurious two and three-bedroom residences that range in size between 1,400 and 1,800 square feet. They feature high-end kitchens, balconies with slope-side views and gas fireplace. Enjoy your home away from home with the personalized service of Fairmont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heritage Place Franz Klammer Hotel Telluride
Fairmont Telluride
Telluride Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.