We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deep dish pizza!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown Dog Pizza

Brown Dog Pizza
110 E Colorado Ave, Telluride, CO 81435
970-728-8046
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 71 Restaurants in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night
Vista, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best deep dish pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I am not a fan of the deep dish because it tends to be to greasy. But this pizza lived up to the awards displayed on the walls and then some. Plus they also have a make your own pizza for the kiddos. Definitely would eat here again. I only wish they had once back in my home town.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    184
    43
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having read the reviews of Brown Dog Pizza we were prepared for a long wait and a little attitude. We got neither. The staff was incredibly friendly and we got right in with no wait. I suspect, like most places that when it gets busy, people get grumpy. The food was great. I loved the square pizza. My wife and I thought the large would be too large when the waitress steered us in that direction but she was right, it's not the large a pizza. Maybe right for two and a half people. The sauce was great. The toppings were great. Service was a little slow but it is a mountain town and we tend to be fast paced. There are plenty of TVs if you are a sports nut and there seemed to be a lot of beers if that is your thing. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zachary LA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“It's Excellent Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was a fun place to eat pizza. Get a table upstairs and look down on the crazy scene unfolding below while you await your meal. The pizza options are creative and quite good. We had a "thin, thin" AND a "deep-dish" pizza. Both pies were excellent taste-wise and as far as the crust went (i.e., not too chewy, not too crispy). You can go meaty or meatless, we did one of each.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Pizza delish. Excellent waitress, long black hair. Came in after Imogene Run and even though we had to wait for table, it was well worth it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerton, Arkansas
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is a great little bar/restaurant that serves excellent pizza! We had the Detroit style- very yummy

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Dog Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Brown Dog Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown Dog Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.