We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, fast service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poachers Pub

Poachers Pub
113 Lost Creek Ln, Telluride, CO 81435-9500
970-728-9647
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 63 restaurants in Telluride
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, fast service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This place was quaint and friendly! It seemed like there were locals there, which was a good sign. And it has a good location and speedy service. Don't expect anything fancy though, the menu is after all a bar menu and it's items reflect that. I had mac and cheese and my friend had a wrap that we were both happy with.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    12
    16
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Poachers a local hangout”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Poachers was the only restaurant serving food and drinks when we arrived to Telluride. Starving and having been worn out and worked over by a 17 hour day of travel.... I welcomed this place into my world... I was hungry and thirsty. Once I realized we weren't getting to any of my first choice restaurants as they were already closed, I embraced this restaurant Poacher Style. If you want yummy hot hot hot wings, this is the place! Nacho plate to die for and local people watching. Play a game of pool or just watch the townies play. Either way, enjoy it for what it is and order those buffalo wings!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the woodlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“local flavor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

good beer, great location in mountain village.

Stop in for a pint after skiing a catch up with some characters.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I want to write this review in response to the previous reviewer who mentioned the usual greasy bar food. Yes, you can get that here, and to be honest, just about everyone was eating the sweet potato fries, chili, mac and cheese, etc.. But that was their choice.

I, on the other hand, had an absolutely delicious Very Veggie wrap sandwich for only about $8--an excellent value, I thought. It was filled with spinach, roasted red peppers, other veggies that I can't remember, and feta cheese with a balsamic vinaigrette dressing and was huge. I'm an average eater, and half was even more than I wanted. My husband had some type of turkey sandwich, which he liked very much. They serve Polestar pilsner, a local brew, which was also great. Service was a little laid back but not lax, and food preparation was quite prompt.

The restaurant is small with a bar and only a few tables at the top of the Chondola #1 lift in Sunset Plaza, so get there early.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
~~~
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A decent dive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012 via mobile

I always grab a bite to eat here every year when I come to Telluride. The bartender is always very friendly and the atmosphere is cozy. The food is ok- greasy pub food - but it does the job on a cold night. The prices are very good for a ski town, and the après crowd is fun.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poachers Pub also viewed

 

Been to Poachers Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poachers Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.