We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, great service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Piazza

La Piazza
117 Lost Creek Lane, Mountain Village, Telluride, CO 81435
970-728-8283
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 63 restaurants in Telluride
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average food, great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The service was wonderful, it was a great atmosphere, but the food was not outstanding. Everything was "okay", no complaints, but we would not visit again as there are so many other places that leave you wanting more!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    19
    14
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“expensive but so worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

often, italian restaurants miss the mark on the subtlties of italian cuisine. this place absolutely gets it right. go for the gnocchi -- most places make a gooey mess of it -- these were the way they should be made -- light, delicate, perfectly flavored. the mousse was excellent, in spite of a steep price at $9 for a coffee-cup sized serving.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Good food and friendly people. Sit by the fireplace in the lower level for warmth and ambiance. Conveniently located alongside the gondola in the Telluride Village although it can be a little tricky to get to. Use the walkway out from the village center heading westerly and then under the ski bridge to access this restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Telluride Village is not exactly known for fine dining, but La Piazza changed my mind. Luigi made us feel right at home with his hearty Italian welcome. I found some great wines for my guests, and we enjoyed the Caesar Salad to start. The pasta mains were wonderful-we all tried something different, but the standout was the ravioli with porcini and truffle oil. Luigi did not disappoint with his service, he was right there when we needed him, and very entertaining. Our visit to La Piazza was "spur of the moment" , though we did call in advance for availability. What a treat.
Casual, but special...a perfect end to a great ski day. I will be returning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Make sure to ask for Luigi as your server. All the food was great but the crab Agnulotti was especially amazing.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Piazza also viewed

 
Telluride, CO

Been to La Piazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Piazza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.