We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at New Sheridan” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Sheridan Hotel

New Sheridan Hotel
231 West Colorado Avenue, Telluride, CO CO 81435
970 728 4351
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 18 Attractions in Telluride
Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In 1896, presidential candidate William Jennings Bryan condemned the gold standard, famously forecasting that it would “crucify mankind upon a cross of gold.” He delivered that speech at the New Sheridan Hotel.
Pasadena, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lunch at New Sheridan”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The vegetarian choices at lunch were very limited so I ended up having the fish tacos which were fine, but not particularly special. The restaurant itself is very nice, but the menu was less than satisfying.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    22
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A fun and historical bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had walked through the New Sheridan hotel as part of a walk around tour we had taken. Was really intrigued by the history of the hotel and the bar. Decided to come back after the tour and have a drink at the bar and wasn't disappointed at all! A lot of locals like to hang out here...very low key atmosphere and active at the same if that makes sense. It's fun to imagine all of the folks that have come through this place over all of those years. Even if you're not stopping for any food...make a quick stop in for a drink and you'll see what I mean! Have fun!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant in Telluride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed in Telluride for one month this summer and did not have the pleasure of staying at this property however I ate most meals there and I must say they have the finest service, food, location and flair.

It still amazes me that Ray, the GM always remembers your name and they treat their clients with such respect and are so lovely. The team really made my stay very special and I look forward to visiting again soon.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fun, clean, friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We visited the Sheridan to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary. We are fortunate that the weekend fell right before the opening of the Gondola for the summer festival season but well after the weather gets nice in town. The building is a beautiful old place, with a great staircase and rooftop hot tub. Check-in and out took longer than expected, as we arrived the first night the place was back open for the summer and the staff had a few minor details to attend to. Service was friendly throughout, the room was immaculate, and the toiletries were of good quality. I loved the white noise machine in the room to block out steet noise! Very effective. While I wouldn't typically pay the Sheridan's high-season rates anywhere, they have a great deal for the window between opening and the summer festivals, making it a great value. Also, if you want to be in the middle of Telluride, you can't beat the location or view!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Hot chocolate stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Coffee and hot cocoa are served memorably in this quaint, historical, remodeled hotel. The price is a little more than street vendors, but the setting is oh-so-nice. It's vacation...splurge.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Sheridan Hotel also viewed

 

Been to New Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Sheridan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.