We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cimarron Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cimarron Lodge to your Saves list
Cimarron Lodge
300 South Mahoney, Telluride, CO 81435 (Formerly ResortQuest Cimarron Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Cimarron Lodge while visiting Telluride on a ski trip. We booked our trip through Expedia and according to their description of the room (one bedroom condo) we would have a slopeside view, full kitchen, and possibly a fireplace. Well when we arrived the room was not what we had expected. We had a kitchenette. No stove, and only a small refridgerator, an old microwave, but at least we had one. We had picked this condo because it promised a kitchen. (We try to save money cooking in) I did manage to find a hot plate and an electric skillet in the cupboard. We managed to get by all week with these items, however, it was extremely difficult. The heating in the room was poor as well. If we were watching tv in the sitting room we were warm, but as we went down the hall towards the bath or bedroom, it was frigid. I would not stay at this resort again. We have stayed in many condos while traveling out West and they have just been more like home. We did not have a slopeside view, matter of fact, we didn't really have a view at all. And the closest thing to a fireplace, was a radiator type heater that was portable.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara F, Manager at Cimarron Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
We are sorry to hear there was a mix up in your booking. It sounds like you were in condo 52, which is a one bedroom with a kitchenette. For this complex, that is the exception, not the rule. Other than #52 and two hotel-style rooms, each condo has a full kitchen and a few have gas fireplaces. We hope you will give us another try and so we can find a place that better suits your needs. One other positivie is that the complex has recently had a complete face lift and installed two new outdoor hot tubs. We think you will be pleasantly surprised by the changes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marietta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

We stayed at Cimarron Lodge the week of the Brews and Blues Festival in Telluride, Colorado. We rented a two bedroom condo which overlooked one of the ski trails and shared this lovely place with another couple from our hometown.

The Lodge is on the outskirts of town and has a gorgeous view of the mountains. The Goose bus comes right in front of the Lodge every 15 minutes giving you a ride into town and the park area where the Blues Festival took place. Such a nice convenience!

Our unit was perfect for two couples! The master bedroom and bath were upstairs and the downstairs had the spare bedroom, bath, kitchen, living room, and a large dining room table. We prepared our breakfasts every morning (saving money) and enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the evenings prior to going out for dinner.

Cimarron Lodge is the perfect place to stay while visiting Telluride. Clark's Grocery is nearby where you can mail letters, get groceries, fresh homeade coffee, newspapers, etc. We hope to return here again and rent from this same owner.

Thanks to the owners of this unit at Cimarron Lodge for sharing their "piece of heaven" with us for a week. We WILL be back!!!

Marietta, GA

  • Liked — Location and condo layout plan
  • Disliked — There was nothing that we disliked about this location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

Just got back from Telluride for the Fall Foliage. Stayed in Cimarron Lodge and found it perfect. Could literally watch the fall colors from our private balcony overlooking the ski resort!

The condo itself was clean, roomy, and decorated perfectly to compliment the mountain setting. Just right for a mountain town such as Telluride.

The best part of all we never had to use our car for anything. Everything in Telluride was close enough that we could walk to it and even if we were a bit tired we could just catch the Galloping Goose shuttle right outside. We only took that once but it was convenient and free.

We wil definitely try this place again this winter. It is right at the base of the ski runs and has to be the perfect location for a ski trip.

  • Liked — Roomy, Comfortable, Location
  • Disliked — That we could not stay longer.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2007

We had a great trip to Telluride last March and stayed in an absolutely wonderful condo right at the base of lift 7. The condo we stayed in was Cimarron Lodge unit #17.

It was clean, comfortable and inviting and has to be one of the very closest condos to a lift anywhere in Telluride. The beds were incrediblyt comfortable. And the deck off the master bedroom looked right out over the runs! WOW!!!

It really was a great location because we could walk anywhere in town in 5 -10 minutes. We literally never pulled our car out of the garage the entire week.

Cimarron Lodge also had a ski shop with rentals right down stairs from Cimarron #17, a Fitness Center, and a coffee breakfast window with GREAT breakfast burritos. They also had a Telluride ticket office right in the Lodge as well.

We will definitely be back to Telluride and Cimarron Lodge #17 again. We had a great vacation!

  • Liked — LOCATION! True Blue Ski-in Ski-out
  • Disliked — We had a great trip! Hard to say anything bad.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2007

STAY AWAY! This place is a true dive! and as slummy as it gets in this nice town. The owner of the property did nothing to listen to our complaints of how dirty and truely disgusting this property was and how terrible represented it was on their rental site! After 5 minutes of pure disgust we left to find decent lodging and contacted the owners to be put off for 3 days- of which was our actual stay so that did nothing to help us! After emailing this owner we only got a promise of a "credit" at another of his properties..as if we would ever in this lifetime trust one of those- it was really that bad. So stay away...

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara F, Manager at Cimarron Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
We are very sorry to hear that you had a bad stay Cimarron Lodge! Cimarron is a condo complex and each condo is individually owned and serveral different companies manage condos in the complex. It sounds like you were working directly with an individual homeowner. We would love to have you come back to Cimarron and experience a stay in a condo representated by a professional management company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2005

We stayed in Unit #50 at the Cimarron Inn March 9-15 and there are a lot of positives to staying there - location - short walk to Lift #7; the spa was just 50' or so across the courtyard and there was never anyone else using it which was large and hot; the free shuttle stop, Galloping Goose, is maybe 100 yards from the door.
Drawbacks:
Cleaning policy was not followed (every other day). Our room was cleaned just once during our stay and I had to call the desk several times to get fresh towels after 3 days. The temperature of the room could not be set - if turned back, was way to cold and if turned all the way up it took several hours for the room to reach 65 degrees.
King size bed was actually two twin beds masquerading as a king size with a hard edge down the middle.
Water sounds - when the neighbors flushed their toilet or showered we had to turn the tv way up to hear.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cimarron Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cimarron Lodge

Address: 300 South Mahoney, Telluride, CO 81435 (Formerly ResortQuest Cimarron Lodge)
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of lift 7, Cimarron Lodge offers one of the best locations for your Telluride vacation. This large complex includes underground parking, two common outdoor hot tubs, and several on-site businesses, such as ski rental, coffee window, and hair salon. Accommodations range from simple hotel rooms to a luxury four-bedroom condo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Cimarron Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resortquest Cimarron Hotel Telluride

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cimarron Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.