We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cimarron Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cimarron Lodge to your Saves list
Cimarron Lodge
300 South Mahoney, Telluride, CO 81435 (Formerly ResortQuest Cimarron Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Orange County, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012 via mobile

Stay was great. Walls are thin so you can here your neighbors. Location was unbelievable. Would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara F, Manager at Cimarron Lodge, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for your review of Cimarron Lodge. We agree that the location is great!

Unfortunately, as with many condominium complexes, you can often hear your neighbors and people passing outside. Our travel tip is to always run a fan at night. The "white noise" will drown out other noises that might disturb your sleep.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, TN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

These things were once hotel rooms or the developer really wanted the setup to look like the howard johnson road side inn from the outside. They have been redone on the inside and many of them are nice but the structure was never redone or revamped. The walls are still paper thin and you can hear everyone in every direction. We particularly enjoyed the people next door that liked to smoke herb all day. I guess some sort of the ventilation was connected because the smell pumped through our unit the duration of the week. We did not particularly enjoy the squeaking of the bed in the unit above ours in the we hours of the morning. Even below us you could hear a exercise facility blaring music at 6am.

The place was nice, not super nice. Looks like a large hotel room, with a little western flare. Bed was uncomfortable and poor quality. The heat was messed up and it often got real hot or real cold, there was no in between.

The price and the location are great but your not going to sleep well. You may hear all sorts of things at random times, and for me a vacation without sleep is not very relaxing or enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara F, Manager at Cimarron Lodge, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for your review of Cimarron Lodge. We are sorry to hear that you had trouble sleeping during your stay. Since this is a condominium complex made up of vacation rental properties, private residences, and long-term renters, you do get a wide variety of neighbors.

There have also been some changes since your stay. The fitness center has closed, so no more early morning music, and this homeowner has replaced their sleeper sofa, so it is much more comfortable and they have upgraded their kitchen appliances. We hope you have a chance to come for another visit and see the upgrades!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

First trip to Telluride mid-March 2011. Cimarron lodge is CLOSE to lift, ticket office, and rentals. Ski-in, ski-out...PERFECT. Nice, clean, but not fancy. If you are looking for mahogany and marble this is not for you. Hot tub was nice.

The only drawback to our unit (#28) was that is was right above a noisy bar, with loud music, singing, and partying. If you want quiet in the evenings, DON"T stay in #28.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara F, Manager at Cimarron Lodge, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you of your review of condo 28 at Cimarron Lodge. We agree with you on all points, please be aware the Cimarron Lodge 28 is no longer doing vacation rentals, so the condos available are not directly above the Ski Patrol lounge, which can get a little rowdy from time to time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

What a great vacation rental we stayed in. Close to everything in town. We didn't need to use our car once why we were in Telluride because we could walk to everything within a few minutes. Also the building must have just been remodeled beacuse the exterior looked brand new. From our unit we could see the mountains from the living room and we could hear the San Miguel river going by from the 2nd bedroom. Would be a great place to come for skiing as well because the lift was right outside our front door. Our unit was 2 bedrooms and 2 full baths so we had plenty of room. We rented from a private owner and they were very responsive to our needs as well before we arrived. I think our unit was 17.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

We stayed in Unit 19. The pricing of this property was high compared with others we looked at but the amenities did not reflect the additional cost. It was ski-in/ski-out, but other than that, I would not recommend it. The condo is oldish, tired looking and in need of an overhaul. Some fresh paint had recently been applied, but there was blue masking tape left all over the place. The condo was not properly advertised -- it said "two bedrooms plus loft" when in fact the upstairs "bedroom" (in reality a loft) was open to the main floor (and thus to the noise associated with early risers and late bed-goers) and the "loft" was wholly contained within the downstairs bedroom. There was no clock in the upstairs bedroom. The complex as a whole is in terrible shape although it is evident that some refurbishment is taking place. The hot tub/spa is old and dirty-looking so we did not use it (and this was one of the amenities we wanted). I wish we'd paid less and stayed somewhere else!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara F, Manager at Cimarron Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your review of Cimarron Lodge 19. There have been a lot of changes at Cimarron Lodge since your stay! The exterior of the building has been completely updated. The complex now has two brand new hot tubs that are located outside. As for condo 19, we are no longer renting that particular condo for vacation rentals. When booking, please ask for the condo rating. The higher the rating the nicer the interior of the condo will be..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Cimarron Lodge while visiting Telluride on a ski trip. We booked our trip through Expedia and according to their description of the room (one bedroom condo) we would have a slopeside view, full kitchen, and possibly a fireplace. Well when we arrived the room was not what we had expected. We had a kitchenette. No stove, and only a small refridgerator, an old microwave, but at least we had one. We had picked this condo because it promised a kitchen. (We try to save money cooking in) I did manage to find a hot plate and an electric skillet in the cupboard. We managed to get by all week with these items, however, it was extremely difficult. The heating in the room was poor as well. If we were watching tv in the sitting room we were warm, but as we went down the hall towards the bath or bedroom, it was frigid. I would not stay at this resort again. We have stayed in many condos while traveling out West and they have just been more like home. We did not have a slopeside view, matter of fact, we didn't really have a view at all. And the closest thing to a fireplace, was a radiator type heater that was portable.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara F, Manager at Cimarron Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
We are sorry to hear there was a mix up in your booking. It sounds like you were in condo 52, which is a one bedroom with a kitchenette. For this complex, that is the exception, not the rule. Other than #52 and two hotel-style rooms, each condo has a full kitchen and a few have gas fireplaces. We hope you will give us another try and so we can find a place that better suits your needs. One other positivie is that the complex has recently had a complete face lift and installed two new outdoor hot tubs. We think you will be pleasantly surprised by the changes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

We stayed at Cimarron Lodge the week of the Brews and Blues Festival in Telluride, Colorado. We rented a two bedroom condo which overlooked one of the ski trails and shared this lovely place with another couple from our hometown.

The Lodge is on the outskirts of town and has a gorgeous view of the mountains. The Goose bus comes right in front of the Lodge every 15 minutes giving you a ride into town and the park area where the Blues Festival took place. Such a nice convenience!

Our unit was perfect for two couples! The master bedroom and bath were upstairs and the downstairs had the spare bedroom, bath, kitchen, living room, and a large dining room table. We prepared our breakfasts every morning (saving money) and enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the evenings prior to going out for dinner.

Cimarron Lodge is the perfect place to stay while visiting Telluride. Clark's Grocery is nearby where you can mail letters, get groceries, fresh homeade coffee, newspapers, etc. We hope to return here again and rent from this same owner.

Thanks to the owners of this unit at Cimarron Lodge for sharing their "piece of heaven" with us for a week. We WILL be back!!!

Marietta, GA

  • Liked — Location and condo layout plan
  • Disliked — There was nothing that we disliked about this location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cimarron Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cimarron Lodge

Address: 300 South Mahoney, Telluride, CO 81435 (Formerly ResortQuest Cimarron Lodge)
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of lift 7, Cimarron Lodge offers one of the best locations for your Telluride vacation. This large complex includes underground parking, two common outdoor hot tubs, and several on-site businesses, such as ski rental, coffee window, and hair salon. Accommodations range from simple hotel rooms to a luxury four-bedroom condo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Cimarron Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resortquest Cimarron Hotel Telluride

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cimarron Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.