We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but too expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Marmotte

La Marmotte
150 W San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435
970-728-6232
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Marmotte is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 64 Restaurants in Telluride
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Mark Reggiannini is a former sous chef for Jean Georges Vonrichten, and has a philosophy regarding food - simplicity. His rustic bistro cooking focuses on the use of local fine ingredients, prepared using French techniques. Private dining room and buyout options available. La Marmotte menu changes nightly depending on what is in season and fresh.
Telluride
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, but too expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I agree with the other reviewer that said that the food was good (but not great), but way too expensive. We sat on the patio (which is very nice), had a glass of wine ($12) and ordered from the the bar menu. My husband's bowl of soup was TINY, but the least expensive item on the menu. My entree was better, but cost $18. Just too pricey for what we received.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    74
    36
    14
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durango, CO
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“I wouldn't go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This isn't going to be a scathing review, but I won't be back. A couple of good things:
Dark and romantic atmosphere.
The food is pretty good.
What I didn't like:
Bottle of wine $40-$850
Glass of wine $12-$22

We enjoyed our meals with 2 glasses of wine each, then paid the bill- $190...

Just took all the fun out of it for me. The food was good, but come on, really?

Tom and Sheryl
Durango, CO

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My family has enjoyed La Marmotte numerous times over the years and this visit was no exception. The price fix menu was very reasonable for the food selection and the food was delicious as ever, from the beef, chicken and seafood. The service was excellent, as the wait staff were warm and attentive. A Telluride must if you want an excellent relaxing meal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband took me here for my birthday and the food and service was very good. We left very full. Loved the atmosphere as well.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Went with my wife for an anniversary dinner, it was excellent! They had a pre fixe three course menu for $39. In addition, they also had oysters on the half shell for $1 each, great deal!!! We shared a half dozen, they were fresh and delicious. My wife then had the quail first course, followed by duck. She loved both. I had a goat cheese tart followed by hangar steak. Tart was tasty, and steak was all I could've asked for, cooked perfect. Great evening overall! Oh and the wine list isn't huge, but they have good pairs for everything they serve.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Marmotte also viewed

 

Been to La Marmotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Marmotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.