We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cocina de Luz

La Cocina de Luz
123 E Colorado Ave, Telluride, CO 81435
970-728-9355
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 67 Restaurants in Telluride
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Frisco, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is one of our favorite places in town to eat. Being a vegetarian I love the bountiful choices. Hubby loves the enchiladas with red sauce. Look forward to eating here every year!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    66
    18
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great spot for casual dinner in the New Mexican style cuisine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Visited with my sweetheart & loved the experience from start to finish. It's a different set up in that you order from the bar as you enter then help yourself to the chips & many varieties of homemade salsa & pico-de-gallo. As the food is prepared they bring it to your table & we were very pleased with the portions & the quality of the meals. The sauces, both red & green were unique & flavorful & just the right kind of spicy. It's a little noisy in the eating area but fits nicely with the atmosphere & decor. Nothing really fancy here but really great food & a fun time out!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good, but there are better places in this town.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I'm fine with paying above average prices in towns like this, but to make me clean my own table and shoo flies away all dinner was too much.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanger, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Yummy and Reasonable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Had a wonderful lunch of Tostadas and the place is a gem in the heart of Telluride. Reasonably priced, freshly made, authentic Mexican food...what more could you ask for? How about a little area off the crazy streets of Telluride to sit and enjoy your lunch!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cold, Overpriced, Meh...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and kids ate here while I had a kebab from their Mediterranean place next door. We placed our order at the counter and waited over a half hour to get it - 2 kids bean burritos and a regilar birrito. Husband said his was cold. Kids didn't even eat half of theirs. I don't know why they bothered with the 3 strands of cheese. Nothing impressive about the place at all!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina de Luz also viewed

 
Telluride, CO
 

Been to La Cocina de Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cocina de Luz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.