We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheridan New Chop House

Sheridan New Chop House
233 W Colorado Ave, Telluride, CO 81435
970-728-9100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sheridan New Chop House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 71 Restaurants in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Oak Street
Transit: From Gondola Station: Walk straight up Oak Street through Elks park and we are straight ahead, right next to the clock tower. Galloping Goose Bus Station: We are 20 feet from the Courthouse Galloping Goose bus stop. Galloping Goose Bus Station: We are 20 feet from the Courthouse Galloping Goose bus stop.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Only had breakfast at the Chop House because it's part of the hotel. Good food and wait staff. No complaints, everything was prepared to my and wife's expectations. Slight discount because I was staying at the hotel.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at Sheridan New Chop House, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we do offer guests of the New Sheridan hotel a 20% discount at the Chop House. I am pleased you and your wife enjoyed your meal.

Kind regards,
Ray, GM New Sheridan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    79
    21
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Meyreuil, France
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Probably the Best of Telluride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The Sheridan New Chop House is a very professional restaurant. Enter through the hotel itself and you enter a handsome room, romantically lit, a full bar on the left with small booths of tables for two, white linen cloths and clear glasses on the tables lit with candles. There is outdoor seating on Colorado Street too. Friendly reception, quick service, and an excellent menu. I ordered their Caesar Salad, which was a properly made one of cold and crisp Romaine lettuce in long leaves, with fresh anchovies and Parmesan cheese, followed by a 14 oz. "Dry Aged Bone-In Bison Ribeye." Accompanying the rib-eye was a slow roasted garlic onion, cut so that each of the cloves could be easily removed with the knife tip or a fork prong. Delicious! Dining alone, I had a perfect vodka martini to start, and a glass of a 2011 Napa Cabernet. Highly recommended, but in season be sure to reserve your table ahead of time. Breakfast and brunch is also served. The chef Erich Owen deserves credit for top class food. See the website for more photos and the menu. I didn't eat in many restaurants in Telluride, but I can't imagine another one better than the Chop House in the New Sheridan.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at Sheridan New Chop House, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and warm review of our Telluride restaurant. Chef Erich Owens' cuisine is new American with a French technique that creates a truly unique experience in elegant fine dining. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Chop House on your next visit to Telluride.

Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service, classic telluride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

The most professional feel and in my opinion best ambiance and service in telluride. The appetizers were excellent. We loved the shrimp. Wine list was fantastic we found great pairings for everyone. Special mention for the buffalo ribeye and the Colorado rack of lamb which are both memorable. A must try for fine dining in telluride.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at Sheridan New Chop House, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
We are so pleased you took the time to review your dining experience at the Chop House restaurant in Telluride. We deeply pride ourselves on our service and cuisine and are elated that you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

With kind regards,
Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We visited with friends on vacation. The appetizers and the entrees came to the table at the same time. The appetizers were cold and two of the entrees were undercooked. The food was high priced but average quality. The kitchen was not concerned. It's a lovely place and we hope they take corrective action.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at Sheridan New Chop House, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience at our restaurant. We pride ourselves on our exceptional service and cuisine but it is clear we fell short of these goals during your visit. Please accept my personal apology. Please contact me at ray@newsheridan.com if you would like to discuss further details.

Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Succulent salmon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The salmon was fabulous. Had a delicious glass of Cabernet, service was great. Sat outside and the view of the San Juan mountains was breathtaking.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at Sheridan New Chop House, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Chop House restaurant. We are pleased you enjoyed your meal at our Telluride restaurant.

Kind regards,
Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheridan New Chop House also viewed

 

Been to Sheridan New Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheridan New Chop House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.