We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 221 South Oak

221 South Oak
221 South Oak Street, Telluride, CO 81435
970 728 9507
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
221 South Oak is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 67 Restaurants in Telluride
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Pacific St
Description: 221 is set in a tastefully refurbished historic home nestled in the trees on South Oak Street, just steps from the Gondola. For years, 221 South Oak has been renowned for its intimate atmosphere, incredible food, extensive wine list, friendly service and uncompromising quality. Chef/Owner Eliza serves cuisine classified as Modern Bistro with an eclectic blend of flavors and styles. A mélange of seafood, game and beef, with accompaniments that range from Deep South to Calypso to Classical French to Californian Cuisine to Creole—we call it Eliza’s cooking.221 Offers Off-site Catering You're accustomed to great food at the restaurant, now experience it in your home. Whether it's a dinner party, quiet luncheon or drinks and nibbles, we're here for you. If you're lacking space for a large party, you may rent out 221. A great space for rehearsal dinners, family reunions, and holiday parties.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner on Saturday night. Made reservations thru open table to make sure to have a confirmed reservation. Service, drinks and food were all excellent. Our server explained the specials for the night and went over the menu at length. The atmosphere was crisp and staff very professional. Sometimes hard to find in Telluride. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    47
    16
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“A must for foodies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The food is really creative with lots of Colorado dishes such as Elk and Bisson. The soup special is actually 2 soups split in a bowl. Fresh purees. Salads such as baby kale and watercress great healthy choices to start as well or the mixed homemade sausage perfect for sharing.Nice cosy house located right off the main street and the gondola so easy to get to from mountain village.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic restaurant masquerading as a House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The there with my wife for her birthday and it lived up to our expectations! Service was top notch and the food was excellent. The cozy house really had a warm feeling about it - very welcoming.
I had the steak and it was good, but not mind-blowing. My wife had the trout and it was amazing. I have to say though, I am a steak junkie and still feel that I make the best steaks, so take that into consideration! We will be back every time we come to visit. Staff was great and they even had my Lagavulin 16 on the shelf!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Solid food with no fuss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Excellend food and desserts. I had the scallops and duck which was fabulous and my husband had the tenderloin which was delicious. I really like the almond cake and chocolate molten cake.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jindabyne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lots going on”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The food is good, but there is always lots of flavors going on on the plate, very rich. The service has always been great, exceptional even and the atmosphere is lovely.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 221 South Oak also viewed

 

Been to 221 South Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 221 South Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.