We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exhausting workout, but well worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jud Wiebe Trail

Jud Wiebe Trail
Telluride, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 46 things to do in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“An exhausting workout, but well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

First of all, I think it's Jud not Jed.
This trail starts in town, and almost makes a complete loop (it ends along Tomboy Road, and it's easy to find your way back to town from there). I hiked it near the end of the leaf-peeping season, and there were still some great areas of aspen leaves still on the trees. Other areas were bare, which was still okay. At the top, you get a fantastic view of the valley and Telluride. I ended up finishing the trail after sunset, but before it was completely dark. The sunset through the skeleton trees was incredible!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank edisoncarter23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Chicago
Level Contributor
148 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Tough but worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

If you don't live at altitude, you'll huff and puff doing the climbing part, but it is SO worth it. Breathtaking views of Telluride canyon and surrounding snow covered peaks.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice views of Telluride but stick to the trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I entered from Aspen Road. It's a nice easy hike up the cliff. Great views of the city. There is a spot where you can stop and sit and take a break. But when you start again, be careful to find the main trail. I found a smaller one and ended up down in a canyon. It was a fun challenge to get back out but I did.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank FECTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Challenging hike/Great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I liked the close proximity to town and the challenging ascent through picturesque aspens and amazing views of town below. What I didn't care for was the last mile, which was on a dirt road, but that's just me.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RTRBEETLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hike that starts right in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hike gives you a beautiful view of the town, ski resort and the box canyon at the end of town. It helps us understand the lay of the land.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexi92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jud Wiebe Trail also viewed

 

Been to Jud Wiebe Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing