We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exhausting workout, but well worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jed Wiebe Trail

Jed Wiebe Trail
Telluride, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 25 Attractions in Telluride
Type: Trails
Attraction Details
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“An exhausting workout, but well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

First of all, I think it's Jud not Jed.
This trail starts in town, and almost makes a complete loop (it ends along Tomboy Road, and it's easy to find your way back to town from there). I hiked it near the end of the leaf-peeping season, and there were still some great areas of aspen leaves still on the trees. Other areas were bare, which was still okay. At the top, you get a fantastic view of the valley and Telluride. I ended up finishing the trail after sunset, but before it was completely dark. The sunset through the skeleton trees was incredible!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Tough but worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

If you don't live at altitude, you'll huff and puff doing the climbing part, but it is SO worth it. Breathtaking views of Telluride canyon and surrounding snow covered peaks.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice views of Telluride but stick to the trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I entered from Aspen Road. It's a nice easy hike up the cliff. Great views of the city. There is a spot where you can stop and sit and take a break. But when you start again, be careful to find the main trail. I found a smaller one and ended up down in a canyon. It was a fun challenge to get back out but I did.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Challenging hike/Great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I liked the close proximity to town and the challenging ascent through picturesque aspens and amazing views of town below. What I didn't care for was the last mile, which was on a dirt road, but that's just me.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hike that starts right in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hike gives you a beautiful view of the town, ski resort and the box canyon at the end of town. It helps us understand the lay of the land.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jed Wiebe Trail also viewed

 

Been to Jed Wiebe Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jed Wiebe Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.