We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough but worth it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jed Wiebe Trail

Jed Wiebe Trail
Telluride, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 25 Attractions in Telluride
Type: Trails
Attraction Details
Chicago
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Tough but worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

If you don't live at altitude, you'll huff and puff doing the climbing part, but it is SO worth it. Breathtaking views of Telluride canyon and surrounding snow covered peaks.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice views of Telluride but stick to the trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I entered from Aspen Road. It's a nice easy hike up the cliff. Great views of the city. There is a spot where you can stop and sit and take a break. But when you start again, be careful to find the main trail. I found a smaller one and ended up down in a canyon. It was a fun challenge to get back out but I did.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Challenging hike/Great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I liked the close proximity to town and the challenging ascent through picturesque aspens and amazing views of town below. What I didn't care for was the last mile, which was on a dirt road, but that's just me.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hike that starts right in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hike gives you a beautiful view of the town, ski resort and the box canyon at the end of town. It helps us understand the lay of the land.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous vistas, tall aspen stands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

There is some misinformation on the Web regarding Cornet Falls. At the end of Aspen Street, there is a trail head. If you turn left and cross the bridge, you are on the Jud Wiebe trail. If you go straight (do not cross the bridge), you are on the trail to Cornet Falls. They are NOT the same trail, though you could do them both in the same day.

The Jud Wiebe trail is a loop. My family went left first and looped back around to the right. This allowed us to do the most beautiful part of the trail last. In this direction, the first part of the trail was O.K. but not tremendously beautiful. A number of people had not picked up after their dogs, so the smell was strong in places. Once we got higher, the views were stunning. We really enjoyed the tall aspen forest.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jed Wiebe Trail also viewed

 

Been to Jed Wiebe Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jed Wiebe Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.