We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have a Chai Latte” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coffee Cowboy

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Coffee Cowboy
131 East Colorado Ave, Telluride, CO 81435
(970) 369-4946
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 68 Restaurants in Telluride
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Wilmette, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Have a Chai Latte”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

OK, so this isn't a restaurant - it's a coffee cart. Picture something more akin to a really small Airstream with a hole cut in the side to make and serve coffee. Anyway, it's just off of Main Street on the sunny side of the street.

I had two chai lattes there (on two separate days) which were really very good. Very spicy, much more so than Starbucks. Perhaps more nutmeg? However they did it, they are really delicious and I highly recommend.

Four stars because it really is just a tea and coffee cart, albeit a good one.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great concept, good coffee and true Telluride ambiance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A great idea- park a trailer near Main Street, offer great local flavor and add a heaping dollop of small town ambiance and you get Cowboy Coffee. The variety of add ins is tremendous for the size of the venue: rice milk? No problem! Gluten free syrup? Sure, what flavor? But a heavy hand on the pour leads to limp lattes with far too much foam leads to a wet cappuccino all masking the excellent taste of the beans. I will say it of course all depends on your barista- one bright afternoon I did enjoy a perfectly drawn latte, wonderfully balanced and sweet from a short pull that had me asking for a second in short order. However the next day brought me back to reality with a disinterested cup of watery black blah probably the result of a harried lass behind the airstream counter. I did manage to enjoy a decent balance of good and bad, and obviously came back to keep testing the waters. Keep trying cowboy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Worth the walk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We walked the 8 blocks each morning to Coffee Cowboy - it was worth it. (I consider myself a coffee snob.). This coffee ranks up there with the finest I've ever had. It's also very affordable and has discounted refills. There is no indoor seating since the place is just a small trailer. However, you can sit down outside and people watch and enjoy the spectacular mountain scenery.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Coffee and Cider”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A walk - up coffe shop located on Main Street. They have just what you need to warm up. Only problem is there is no indoor seating so not a good place to get away from the mountain chill.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best coffee in T-ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

It may be surprising that the best coffee (and there are many places for great coffee in town) is served out of a trailer. Friendly baristas, teas, smoothies, iced chai (my favorite), its all very good.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffee Cowboy also viewed

 
Telluride, CO
 

Been to Coffee Cowboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coffee Cowboy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.