We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Telluride

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Telluride to your Saves list
The Hotel Telluride
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   199 North Cornet Street, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This place was just wonderful. From the outside appearance and location, to the smooth check in, to the beautifully appointed, comfortable, large room. The hotel website photos are exactly as is reality. I truly enjoyed my stay here. Room 320 was perfect. The lobby is large, but charming and very comfortable and well appointed. Actually, the hotel itself, the lobby, the hallways and the room were all exactly what I would expect from a high end hotel in a high end resort town. It is almost across the street from the market (good for putting things in the room fridge) and within walking distance to the center of town. Although I was here during off season, I would honestly expect to pay more. If I'm back in Telluride I would most definitely stay here and would recommend it.

Room Tip: There is a school directly next door so if you don't like the sounds of kids playing (probably n...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are concerned and apply green standards.water conservation, lighting, etc.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    79
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
97
186
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great-looking hotel. The lodge is big and in-keeping with the ski lodge mentality with wood beams, large fireplace, several comfortable seats. The room was exceptionally large with a small balcony as well as a microwave and refrigerator. The bed was very comfortable. Everything very clean.
As this was off-season, the restaurants in the area were lacking, but the town is small enough to walk to most places. Had an overall great experience.
Cons:
1. There is no hotel parking, so have to work with the street hours or find a lot.
2. As food was lacking, there is a new market that just opened tangential to the hotel which is very good.

Room Tip: Off -season was great for no crowds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 2 nights on a self-drive tour and could not have wished for more.

We had a balcony room with mountain view which added to our enjoyment.

As non-skiers we thought the rate was high but in line with the area, standard and dates.

If you are visiting Telluride you won't do much better!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My stay at the Hotel Telluride was over the last weekend of the ski season. The front desk was very friendly when I checked in, the room was clean and very comfortable and I appreciated having basic kitchen items in my room - microwave, fridge, dishes, glasses, etc. I was also impressed that the hotel provides a humidifier in each room. It makes a big difference to my sleep quality when I am in Telluride!

The fact that my stay coincided with the very end of the season did have an impact on my overall experience. For example, while the shuttle into town is supposed to run until 10:00 PM, I was told by my driver that he'd really only be available until about 7:30. It isn't that it is far to walk, just cold in the evenings. I ended up driving myself after the first night.

Also, on my last night at the hotel, I wandered down to the hotel bar/restaurant looking to order a drink, but the restaurant was not in operation. Again, this had something to do with being the end of the season (I was certainly there during their normal advertised hours). They had made a point of telling me about their restaurant at check-in and I would have appreciated knowing it wasn't going to be available throughout my entire stay.

All in all, I don't fault the staff for being worn out after the busiest time of year, and I don't fault the hotel for shutting down services that don't make sense when the clientelle simply isn't there (it was pretty quiet by the time I left). I'm more than happy to find other things to keep myself entertained, but I simply would have liked to know what was truly available to me so I could have planned better. I will give the hotel another try in the future, because I think during the height of the season, it would be just about perfect. And let's face it ... Telluride itself is what makes the trip worth while.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, CT USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent a week at the Hotel Telluride for some spring skiing.

The rooms are great; very comfortable.
The staff was very cool and accommodating.
There was a free shuttle to the ski lifts and to the main street, but it was walking distance (walked to the lifts, in ski boots, more than once - but also wimped out and took the shuttle once or twice)..

Telluride is a great mountain, the town is a nice old west place to spend time, and this hotel was a good choice.

Only negative - the hot tubs are probably ready for replacement - jets weren't very strong and one wasn't particularly warm. But still, clean outdoor hot tubs after a day on the slopes are great.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All I can say is WOW! Every nook and cranny of this hotel is dripping with detail and class, from the overall presence of the gathering spaces to our room and the hallways, it truly delivered the aesthetic I wanted for our first experience to Telluride. The staff, however, were the best part of the experience to be honest - so helpful before our arrival, getting me connected with a company that met us at the hotel to fit my family for the ski rentals, shuttle service that was always willing and ready to take us where we needed to go. My daughter was very sick when we first arrived, and once we got her issues handled, all of the main restaurants were closed, The staff went out of their way to get pizzas ordered AND picked up and delivered to our room - more helpful than I can describe as a single parent traveling with two kids. We will DEFINITELY be back, and cannot thank Hotel Telluride for creating what became the best Spring Break the kids have ever had!

Room Tip: It pays to get the room upgrade - has a gorgeous view of the slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

We Visited telluride for spring break. We stayed in hotel telluride for 3 nights and two days. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, staff is friendlly. Request for room with a view. They have free shuttle service to the gondola. Free coffee and hot cocoa at lobby all the time. Breakfast is ok as there are few choices and also expensive. We ended up buying cereal for breakfast as rooms have fridge and microwave and has bowels, plates and cutlery . Market place is at walking distance. Not happy with restaurant menu. But if you are in Telluride there are lots of good places to eat closeby. Kids and pet friendly

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Telluride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Telluride

Address: 199 North Cornet Street, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Telluride 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Telluride reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Telluride, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.