We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ski vacation ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Telluride

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Telluride to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Hotel Telluride
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   199 North Cornet Street, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 40%
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Telluride
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best ski vacation ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just got back from Telluride and one of the best family ski vacations ever! Hotel Telluride was like something out of a dream! Upon arriving we were quick to notice that every inch of the lobby is decorated to welcome us. Hot apple cider is served all day along with freshly baked chocolate chip cookies! A huge fireplace is flanked with beautifully decorated seating areas. My 14 and 12 year old girls went straight for a chess set nicely situated by the fire. All weekend we took advantage of the luxurious transportation provided by the hotel. They arrived within minutes of the ski slopes and restaurants we ventured to. Extremely friendly hotel staff made sure our every need was taken care of in a timely and helpful manner. Our room was appointed with slippers and fluffy bathrobes which came in handy when getting in and out of the hot tub after a long day of skiing. Our only disappointment was the beds. They were too small and uncomfortable. That being said, even if they never change the beds I would stay at Hotel Telluride again seeing as the overall experience with this hotel was excellent!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    62
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
76
146
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We always stay here when we come to Telluride because of the great location and usually they have some sort of deal on the rates. Of course you always have to take their quote and add the compulsory 20% room tax! But the rooms are clean and good-sized and the breakfast buffet is excellent. (Except when one chef calls in sick!). My only recommendation is they should upgrade their mattresses. Their beds are fairly hard.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was our first trip to Telluride and we Had a great time and enjoyed the hotel! Really enjoyed the fact that the hotel and Telluride are pet friendly. We even took the dogs on the gondola. The hotel staff treated our four legged children like all of the other children and really went out of their way to make us feel at home. Can't wait to go back for the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

For over two decades Telluride has been almost an annual summer vacation. When I first visited, the overwhelming friendliness of the locals matched the magnificence of the mountains. Telluride has developed for better or worse. The Hotel Telluride's service and staff are reminiscent of the town's amiability. They take pride in their hotel, the splendor of the natural surroundings and are willing to include the guest in the experience; if only for a day or a longer stay.

The hotel's charm can off set some of the wear and tear of it's 15 + years. There's a need for updating some of the rooms but it's understandable with such an active clientele for both summer and winter activities how easily rooms can get run down. Although they always seem to be immediately on top of any maintenance request. The little restaurant has a wonderful and simple menu. When my family and I are too tired to go out at night after a day of hiking the restaurant is just perfect. The breakfasts are excellent. There is a shuttle to run guests basically up the street to the shops and restaurant and pick them up.

The hotel is welcoming to dogs. Amazingly the dogs all well behaved guests. Usually like their owners they are exhausted after a day of hiking too.

I have stayed at other Telluride hotels and rentals but even if trying some other accommodation I will book some of the time at The Hotel Telluride which never fails my expectations.

Room Tip: If you don't travel with a dog, request the floor that is without dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride123, Director of Sales at The Hotel Telluride, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your review Karin! We are so happy to consistently be your option when visiting the lovely town of Telluride. Our repeat guests are very important to us!
We are also excited to be freshening up the guest rooms & corridors this April with new carpet and a whole new bedding package, so on your next visit, The Hotel Telluride will have a whole new look to impress you with! I'm glad to hear that you are enjoying The Nook during your stay, we are really striving to perfect our service and food to meet our guests' expectations.
And don't forget, we would love photos and a small line on your pet to post on our Furry Friends Blog. You can email to me at : aacosta@destinationhotels.com

We look forward to having you back with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have stayed here twice, both times for hiking and the summer Blues festival. The rooms and lobby are very nice. The staff is great and the free shuttle is nice. The hotel definitely increases my enjoyment of Telluride. Posting my review a few months after my stay because I am trying to get there for some skiing and will definitely stay at The Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have been fortunate enough to over 75 ski resorts around the world. The Hotel Telluride is without question, my “ favorite ski hotel in the USA “, hands down!
All the staff were excellent ! But some especially stood out. “ Christa” and " Merry Mac ",at the registration desk, were phenomenal! Their genuine care and concern for every guest was abundantly evident ! Then " Jim ",one of the drivers, was also truly kind, considerate and ALWAYS upbeat ! My suggestion to the hotel ? Hold on to employees ! ( like these three)
For the final day of my stay, the hotel staff had a scheduling conflict. Since I was skiing on the mountain, Sandy Smith and Victor , moved all of my items, in my room to another room. When I came to the new room, to my surprise, they had taken the time, to put EVERY SINGLE ITEM, from the old room, in the EXACT SAME LOCATION, in the new room. I was shocked at the precision and care that they showed ! This is WHERE YOU SHOULD STAY!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The service is outstanding and starts the moment you make your reservation.The entire staff is outstanding.The ambiance is fantastic and the location is great. We found the food in the Nook to be very underrated. They don't have a large menu but what they have is very well done .
There is just a very friendly vibe going on. After a couple of days, you feel as if you've known the staff and even a lot of the patrons all your life. I would highly recommend The Hotel Telluride to anyone regardless of the time of year their visit was scheduled.

Room Tip: I personally don't think there is a bad room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Telluride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Telluride

Address: 199 North Cornet Street, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Telluride 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Otel, Venere, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Hotel Telluride reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Telluride, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.