We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Telluride

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Telluride to your Saves list
The Hotel Telluride
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   199 North Cornet Street, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Feels like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

From the moment we were welcomed at The Hotel Telluride, we felt at home. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable with a lovely large patio to enjoy the scenery. A small card at bedside offers a delightful selection of pillows to suit your preference. We tried one of each. The lobby has a fireplace to gather around and an assortment of games and even a guitar to pick up and strum. There is always a selection of coffee, hot and cold tea and freshly baked cookies at tea time. The Nook, just off the lobby, serves a hot or cold breakfast and food and drink throughout the day. We extended our stay by a night and were overwhelmed by the beauty of the mountains surrounding the village of Telluride. There is a free gondola a short walk away that takes you up to the ski area and the mountain village. The ride is spectacular. It was our first time in the charming town and hotel but we'll be back. I felt like I should have written a note to my host - which is just what this is. Thanks for a lovely stay THT!

Room Tip: We had a balcony which we really enjoyed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    79
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
98
187
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Hotel Telluride in June and loved Telluride in the summer. The hotel was very nice with a beautiful lobby and nice rooms. The staff was very friendly. It was about a 10 min walk to the downtown area but they have a free shuttle. Free cookies and ice tea in the lobby every afternoon was a nice treat.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Hotel Telluride many times now, in ski season and in the fall. Our visit this time (late September) coincided with some of the most gorgeous mountain foliage viewing you could imagine. Our second floor suite was spacious and beautifully furnished, with comfortable seating and good lighting. The bed was comfy, and the pillow menu is a nice touch for picky slumberers.

Like many other reviewers mentioned, the location of the hotel is primo. If you're up for a lovely stroll, you'll enjoy the 10-minute walk into Telluride's fun and cosmopolitan main shopping and dining center, just up the street. But if you're tired or the weather isn't great, the hotel's free shuttle will drop you anywhere in town and fetch you later. We had the front desk on speed-dial, but we ended up walking around most of the time. The front desk staff, drivers and cleaning people are all friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

I agree with another reviewer that the breakfast selections could be improved, especially the cold items. More cereal choices, perhaps. Angel makes a terrific omelet to order, though, and the bacon and roasted potatoes were delicious.

All in all, the Hotel Telluride is a boutique hotel with lots of charm, friendly staff and comfortable rooms. It's our go-to home away from home when in Telluride.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The room was very nice with a small small balconey, which over looked...the alley. Seeing that it was off season and very slow, shame they didnt take this opportunity to hook us into another visit. Other than that, location was fine at the end of town, was good to walk up the road to shop and eat. Parking on the road was readily available.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We recently spent three nights at The Hotel Telluride and have some complaints. First, our room was directly over the garage door which was installed so that it transmitted excessive noise into our room. The desk clerk even admitted this was a problem that other guests had brought to his attention in the past.

Secondly our room was quite small for the money and the bathroom was designed so that the door blocked the toilet area. This meant that when entering the bathroom at night in the dark it was frustrating trying to get to the toilet with the door in the way.

Third, the breakfast cold buffet was lacking in variety and in fact was not as good as a less expensive brand like Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were very disappointed. Had stayed in Mountain Village last year and loved our hotel and the area. So we decided to stay in town this time. Booked 'the Hotel' on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews. First impressions are good - the lobby is impressive and welcoming as are the staff. Nice touches such as free hot and cold drinks and cookies. However the rooms don't match up. As soon as you leave the lobby the corridors have the feel of a low rent community centre. The rooms are tired, small and dark. The bathrooms have a lot of wood panelling and it all looks like bad DIY. Badly in need of noise insulation - you don't expect to hear the bathroom upstairs in a hotel that markets itself at this level. Needs a refurb or lower prices basically. Could be great with a bit of TLC.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and had constant pipe and footstep noise from above. Going on the top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Telluride - is a precious mountain village in southwest Colorado. The name conjures images of awesome skiing, celebs, film festivals, the Telluride Blues and Brews Festival, charming Victorian homes and an influx of huge money from those who discovered it years ago. Telluride is a great place to live if you crave a right on laidback lifestyle, but if you dont have Ralph Lauren's bank account, this is the perfect mountain vacation destination to visit. The people of Telluride respect it so much the main street even retains character and apperance true to its old mining roots. There is no Starbucks, no Target, in fact no chain anything of any kind.

In keeping with Telluride's preservation of its past, The Hotel Telluride is a tasteful and beautifully modern hotel that blends so well with the neighborhood, you might miss it on your first driveby, Gas lanterns adorn the entrances, and a perfectly manicured exterior lends the appearance of a grand, stately old home. The only giveaway that you have arrived at The Hotel Telluride is its name displayed in tasteful script.

Upon arrival, I was greeted like an old friend by the front desk staff. The bellman was quick to unload my luggage and assist in making me comfortable in my well appointed suite. The spirit of welcome extended throught my entire stay. Every request was quickly accommodated in a friendly and respectful manner. I have never been so delighted with a hotel staff in all of my travels.

My suite was delightful. Vaulted ceiling, a leather headboard, gorgeous tasteful furniture, pretty dark wood blinds, large flat screen television, a wet bar, Aveda shampoos, soaps and lotions, and a balcony to enjoy. I had lots to do in Telluride, but returning each evening to my fabulous accommodations was such a lovely way to end the day. In addition, the hotel offers a fitness room with modern exercise equipment, bicycles and locks to borrow, hot tubs, warm chocolate chip cookies, an inviting lobby with fireplace and plush chenille sofas, and 'The Nook', a nice in-house restaurant and bar.

The hotel offers underground parking for $20 a day, or parking can possibly be found on the street. I was fortunate enough to find a space on the adjoining street, and left my car there the entire stay.

The Hotel Telluride is absolutely perfect - period. FYI: if you just cant get enough of it, you can buy a room or suite all your own. An on-site realtor can make your dream come true.

Room Tip: Top floor for a vaulted ceiling, Mountain view to take your breath away from your personal balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Telluride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Telluride

Address: 199 North Cornet Street, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Telluride 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Telluride reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Telluride, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.