We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Telluride

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Telluride to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hotel Telluride
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   199 North Cornet Street, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Savings Up To 35%
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Telluride
GreenLeadersSilver level
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Noisy Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We recently spent three nights at The Hotel Telluride and have some complaints. First, our room was directly over the garage door which was installed so that it transmitted excessive noise into our room. The desk clerk even admitted this was a problem that other guests had brought to his attention in the past.

Secondly our room was quite small for the money and the bathroom was designed so that the door blocked the toilet area. This meant that when entering the bathroom at night in the dark it was frustrating trying to get to the toilet with the door in the way.

Third, the breakfast cold buffet was lacking in variety and in fact was not as good as a less expensive brand like Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    65
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
82
152
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were very disappointed. Had stayed in Mountain Village last year and loved our hotel and the area. So we decided to stay in town this time. Booked 'the Hotel' on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews. First impressions are good - the lobby is impressive and welcoming as are the staff. Nice touches such as free hot and cold drinks and cookies. However the rooms don't match up. As soon as you leave the lobby the corridors have the feel of a low rent community centre. The rooms are tired, small and dark. The bathrooms have a lot of wood panelling and it all looks like bad DIY. Badly in need of noise insulation - you don't expect to hear the bathroom upstairs in a hotel that markets itself at this level. Needs a refurb or lower prices basically. Could be great with a bit of TLC.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and had constant pipe and footstep noise from above. Going on the top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Telluride - is a precious mountain village in southwest Colorado. The name conjures images of awesome skiing, celebs, film festivals, the Telluride Blues and Brews Festival, charming Victorian homes and an influx of huge money from those who discovered it years ago. Telluride is a great place to live if you crave a right on laidback lifestyle, but if you dont have Ralph Lauren's bank account, this is the perfect mountain vacation destination to visit. The people of Telluride respect it so much the main street even retains character and apperance true to its old mining roots. There is no Starbucks, no Target, in fact no chain anything of any kind.

In keeping with Telluride's preservation of its past, The Hotel Telluride is a tasteful and beautifully modern hotel that blends so well with the neighborhood, you might miss it on your first driveby, Gas lanterns adorn the entrances, and a perfectly manicured exterior lends the appearance of a grand, stately old home. The only giveaway that you have arrived at The Hotel Telluride is its name displayed in tasteful script.

Upon arrival, I was greeted like an old friend by the front desk staff. The bellman was quick to unload my luggage and assist in making me comfortable in my well appointed suite. The spirit of welcome extended throught my entire stay. Every request was quickly accommodated in a friendly and respectful manner. I have never been so delighted with a hotel staff in all of my travels.

My suite was delightful. Vaulted ceiling, a leather headboard, gorgeous tasteful furniture, pretty dark wood blinds, large flat screen television, a wet bar, Aveda shampoos, soaps and lotions, and a balcony to enjoy. I had lots to do in Telluride, but returning each evening to my fabulous accommodations was such a lovely way to end the day. In addition, the hotel offers a fitness room with modern exercise equipment, bicycles and locks to borrow, hot tubs, warm chocolate chip cookies, an inviting lobby with fireplace and plush chenille sofas, and 'The Nook', a nice in-house restaurant and bar.

The hotel offers underground parking for $20 a day, or parking can possibly be found on the street. I was fortunate enough to find a space on the adjoining street, and left my car there the entire stay.

The Hotel Telluride is absolutely perfect - period. FYI: if you just cant get enough of it, you can buy a room or suite all your own. An on-site realtor can make your dream come true.

Room Tip: Top floor for a vaulted ceiling, Mountain view to take your breath away from your personal balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We loved this hotel right at the end of the main street of Telluride. The front desk people served as great concierges and set up fly fishing and jeep tours for our family of four. They also were a big help with restaurant reservations. Our two rooms were cozy and the housekeepers were so nice. It was a great spot to see the town in summertime.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor seem to be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Quiet location close to town, restaurants and shopping. The rooms are generous size, well designed and clean. Very nice lobby area with plenty of seating and fireplace. Small but full service restaurant on site. Staff is friendly and helpful and make you feel welcome.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel was terrific. From the fresh iced tea, homemade cookies and fireplace in the lobby to the pillow menus in the rooms! The staff was attentive and helpful in every respect. The small restaurant off the lobby has good drinks and a delicious four cheese mac and cheese. The kitchenette and deck with views was plus! Stay here. You won't be disappointed. We are planning to return next year.

Room Tip: Corner rooms tend to be larger. Our bath was enormous too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

2 nights here (I wanted to write this now before I forgot) in Room 316 which is a junior suite. Great. Comfortable bed/suede headboard across from living room like area with sofa and chairs and tv, plus nice deck overlooking the mountain in back, kitcheonette, and good bath. Tremendous service - when I just asked (at 7:30 pm) if the yummy chocolate chip cookies were still out (placed out at 4 pm), the staff immediately brought us some. It's that kind of place. It's not in the middle of town - maybe 1/2 mile from center/gondola - but they have a huge SUV to take you there. For $200/night it's a good bargain. So glad I didn't rent a condo in town as originally planned.

Room Tip: Go for the junior suite. I think they have 2 in our type. Maybe 600 feet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Telluride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Telluride

Address: 199 North Cornet Street, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Telluride 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Hotel Telluride reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Telluride, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.