We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anywhere but "There"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of There

There
627 W Pacific, Telluride, CO 81435
(970) 728-1213
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 71 Restaurants in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Anywhere but "There"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

HUGE disappointment for our last night in Telluride, which has been a string of great meals at reasonable prices with excellent service!

Our female server was indifferent and could barely be bothered to acknowledge us.  She rushed through her answers to simple questions, clearly more interested in spending time smiling, laughing, and talking to a younger couple at the bar who were friends and/or regulars.  There was one other party in the restaurant when we arrived who received reasonable treatment.  A couple similar in age to us also seemed to get the cold shoulder, but when an elderly couple arrived who appeared to be among the town's wealthier visitors and residents, they received a big smile and a recommendation on seating (she steered them away from the hot, fly-ridden window where we had settled without warning).  A male server arrived later who was friendlier and more attentive, and maybe if we'd been served by him instead, we would have been less sour on the experience.

As for the food, the complimentary popcorn with Bragg's liquid aminos and nutritional yeast was delicious, but the water container taken from the windowsill was unpleasantly  warm.  The spicy tuna sashimi tostado, crispy duck breast steamed bun, and elk lettuce wrap were all very delicious, but for $4 apiece a bit small.  My husband enjoyed the oysters and beer for $10, but we were both pretty shocked by the $30 price of the good-but-not-that-good Kobe beef shared plate.

If judged on food alone, this would be a four-star review, but considering price, atmosphere, and service, it's a one.  Unless you're a 20-something local and/or wealthy and it's cold outside and superior establishments like Floradora Saloon, Brown Dog Pizza, and the taco truck are all closed, SKIP IT!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    21
    7
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This place is insane-o!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

You know how we all love "mix-ologoists"? But you know how they're typically über-pretentious? This is a bar/restaurant that makes epic drinks and had an amazing menu. The place's vibe has an old-timey, speakeasy, but hip atmosphere. The bar-tenders were amazingly friendly and answered our 100+ questions about their multiple menus with smiles on their face. 5 nights in Telluride and I'm positive I'll be back almost every night.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Started with one of the best Manhattans ever. Jerry the bartender comes from Rhode Island with a degree in mathematics that carries over to unforgettable creations. Just sayn. Then on to the small plates. Elk lettuce wraps, and buns: softshell crab, crispy duck, and lamb; and Kobe beef tender loin to be shared". Finished with raspberry panna cotta and an oreo mllkshake. Not a weak spot and just two bartender who doubled as servers. Did not follow up on the chef but would have liked to have met. Small, kid friendly. Vibe is unique and legit with odes to Burroughs and Kerouac.This place will not disappoint.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“There was the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The unique tapa's and local artisan foods were outstanding...a very unique dining spot that we feel in love with. The drinks were different and refreshing. Taylor was the perfect host. The last review that gave it a low rating because it wasn't for kids was WAY off base....go somewhere else. Its a high end restaurant with a bar...its NOT designed for kids...wtf?

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“not what we were expecting.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My husband and I chose to go here based on the great reviews, but it wasn't what we were anticipating. It's NOT for kids. The flavor profiles are asian, and we thought they would be american. If it weren't for the popcorn, my kids would have gone hungry because the food was too unusual for them. I thought the food tasted great, but my husband and I don't drink. I think if you drink and want a little food do go with your alcohol it'd be a lot more appropriate.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed There also viewed

 

Been to There? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage There, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.